We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old reliable b&b” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canario Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canario Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old reliable b&b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We’ve been coming to the El Canario b&b on Ashford for many years. There’s something about its simplicity, the style of the building with its outdoor courtyard and sun-strewn indoor public space, its convenient location among a variety of restaurants, but especially the friendly helpfulness of the staff. There’s a growing group of visitors who come back year after year. We can’t imagine spending our Puerto Rican vacation anywhere but at El Canario.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    51
    50
    32
    46
See reviews for
25
75
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Make no mistake about, this is not a 5-star hotel. It is a modest, nice little hotel, with comfortable enough rooms and a most basic breakfast.

That said, pound for pound, you cannot do better than this place, especially in expensive San Juan.

One, the location is amazing. You are in Condado, steps from the beach, a short bus ride or taxi drive (and a nice walk) to Old San Juan, and in the midst of a fairly robust night life. Except on weekends, I found the hotel surprising quiet.

Two, the hotel was incredibly accommodating. I got a great rate from Priceline for two nights, not sure if I would want to stay at the hotel (or in San Juan) for a whole week. Because they weren't overly crowded, they told me that I could extend my stay day by day at the price line rate! They also booked my trips for me, all of which were enjoyable.

If you are expecting a Marriott, or even a basic 3.5 star chain, you may be disappointed. But this is a very cute, comfortable and friendly hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have NEVER written a review before but I really felt the need to do so now. This hotel is a GEM!! Let me start with the STAFF-Ms. Sigrid Pinero-Director of Guest Services-she is the epitomy of professionalism, beauty, both in and out, courteous, knowledgeable, friendly, just a great person. I wish she would train EVERY other hotel employee on the island. Her staff is really warm, helpful and no matter what you need, they are there for you. The kitchen is big, clean and always fully stocked. The rooms are clean, nice flat screens and comfortable. The location of the hotel is PRIME!!! Right in the heart of Condado, you are right in the middle of 2 major casino hotels, restaurants and stores everywhere, the beach is just down the street, and yet, I was never disrupted by the noise. I recommend this hotel to ANYONE who really wants to be surrounded by the beauty and fun that is Puerto Rico!!

Room Tip: I was in a room-107 which had a water feature right outside the room. It was so peaceful between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

It was a last min place. I booked. the place looks ok, but as soon you go into the rooms...this is terrible!!! smell, I had to change myself, yes myself the bed sheets because it was hair on my bed all over. I think somebody slept before me and they just used the same sheets. The receptionist man likes to go outside when he is working , so I had to wait untill he came back. We went to the laundry room and it was a mess.. HORRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I think the El Canario Inn is a great value in San Juan. It is in a great location, walk to the beach and lots of stuff to do in Condado. The staff is consistenly friendly and they include a continental breakfast for free. The rooms are basic but clean and the overall appeal of the hotel is quaint and nice. After a horrific experience at another Condado hotel, we moved to Canario and were extremely happy and pleased. It's not five star, but it's darn good!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view, but you might be able to request a room that overlooks the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinconLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#36 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 km away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#29 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#32 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canario Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canario Boutique Hotel

Property: Canario Boutique Hotel
Address: 1317 Cond Ashford Plz, San Juan 00911-1102, Puerto Rico (Formerly Canario Inn)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,223 - ₹ 12,904
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canario Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Canario Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario Hotel San Juan
El Canario Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing