We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off!!!!! They Really stick it to tourists.”
Review of Hotel Iberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Rip off!!!!!! Room was bare bones. No phone no clock no cups. Ice was Coleman cooler with drinking spout on it. Ripped bedspread. Stained sheets. AC would not go lower than 78 degrees. TV had 2 watchable stations. Cannot flush paper down toilet and will be charged $250 if you stop up up toilet. Reserved room thru Booking.com which was a mistake in itself. Booked for 3 nights could barely tolerate staying 1st night. Had prepaid at check in and hotel would only refunded one night even though we were owed refund for 2nd & 3rd night. Their pictures are nothing like what you get. Did not feel safe at all. Thank goodness I was not traveling alone. Kind of felt like I was in a hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hotelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hotel Iberia was in a great location, can walk to bus to go to Old San Juan, walk to main street (Ashford) quite easily w/everything a tourist could ask for available, a super market right next door w/a cheap deli. Now, the hotel was nice, simple and clean for the most part. My only problem was my bed. Horrible, Horrible, Horrible; not clean at all, stains up the wazoo and I could feel the springs all night. I felt as though they got the beds from an asylum for free and just put them in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

first i hate hen i am judge by my age aperiance i look like 16 but i am 23 and du that ibooked for a festival it does not mean i am a person that recks places up also the cleaning is really ugly and a waste of time the first thing you see is a filty so called hotel fulled of spider webs and other unplesent things, i made my booking true booking.com but the hotel manager was a old grump hated the place never in my life will viset this hotel for a 2 star hotel it looks like a one star cheap motel sorry but i have stained an no stars hotel that they really treat me as a 5 star client.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neyva1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Review of Hotel Iberia, San Juan PR, Jan. 13 & 14, 2013.

This place is on Wilson Avenue (Calle Wilson), a couple of blocks off the main drag of Condado, San Juan. It’s an older property that’s obviously seen better days, but it either has new management or an infusion of new money, and is trying to update itself. Someone is working very hard here: there’s lots of new paint, buffed up tile. They are trying to get the restaurant and bar open, and one of the three outside terraces is up and running and is a nice place to have a breakfast or a couple of cold beverages. The staff is very friendly, bilingual, knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. They all seem very earnest about getting the hotel fully operational and up to snuff.

That said, it’s probably not a good choice for everyone. Our room was quite small and pretty Spartan: a double bed, teeny bathroom, TV, small closet. That’s about it. No coffee maker, no refrigerator, not much counter space, not much room to place suitcases. You had to step up to get into the bathroom. It’s about 10 inches higher than the rest of the room, and something of a trip hazard in the middle of the night. Parking is almost non-existent and dicey: our compact car nearly hung out into the street. We felt lucky to get a space – there’s room for about four cars in front of the hotel. There are no services within the hotel, not even coffee. If you want anything, there’s a little 24-hour supermarket right around the corner. Some of this will probably change as they get further along in their rejuvenation of the place. They have plans for the other two outdoor terraces, including putting a bar in one. There is a lot of potential here in the long run. They are very nice folks and we wish them much luck in their efforts to turn this into a much better property.

We paid about $100/night for our room, a bargain in this pretty pricey part of San Juan. For now anyway, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

People are all very very friendly. But showering is terrible. Very very hard to get even warm water. Usually take cold showers. Showering in the morning is better than night. Awesome locations. A 24h supermarket and a gas station locate just next to the hotel. If have no cars, taking buses to old San Juan is also convenient. Buses stops is 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.8 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#40 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
1.2 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
5.6 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.5 km away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Address: 1464 Wilson Street, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 8,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iberia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing