We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
248
79
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
79
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old san juan quiet street main cathedral antique furniture rooftop patio yogurt boutique hotel sitting area el morro modern conveniences continental breakfast boiled eggs first floor great boutique stayed here for one night hotel el the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Cruised on the Carnival Victory 9/16-9/23 and decided to stay in Old San Juan for an extra night so we booked this hotel

After disembarking, we took a cab here - it was at most a 10 minute ride, but not knowing the area, the heat/humidity in the triple digits and not wanting to drag three rollaboards up hill on cobblestones, it was worth the $15's ($12 for the both of us plus $1 per bag)

The hotel is a few doors down from El Convento and near the San Juan Cathedral. Not much to look at from the outside, the inside is a different story. A renovated home, the hotel was decorated with antiques and local art.

We had booked room H7, right by the front parlor that doubled as the office. King sized canopy bed, flat screen tv, HUGE shower - it was a very nice and romantic room. The only issue is the lack of natural light - there are no windows but that is due to how the house was built. The door and the bathroom had slatted windows that opened to the courtyard but was closed for obvious reasons. The lack of windows was not an issue for us.

There was a charming fountain in the courtyard leading up to the roof top terrace - two other rooms are up here as well as chairs, lounger, a canopy bed and bathtubs. It was an amazing place to hang out in the evening!

A continental breakfast is included - coffee, juice, cookies, pastries and cereal. Enought to get you started as there are so many amazing places to eat at! We had dinner at Barrachina's - the birthplace of the pina colada.

As I had stated earlier, the hotel is spitting distance to the San Juan Cathedral and in the heart of the shopping district in Calle San Franciso/Calle Fortaleza. At the end of the street is the San Juan Gate and it is a short walk to El Morro.

Check in/out was a breeze and the staff are extremely helpful and courteous

We will defintely be back and this will be our place of choice to stay!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Leap of faith made me book this hotel, which is far from the beaches, and far from many of the many other places in Old Sanjuan. It is located in a cobble stoned winding street that leads to a vista of the sea few steps from the hotel.

The room, or the suite I had was H9 on the second floor, A small living room, a small guest room and a four post bed, bedroom. The living room has a glass ceiling and a long sofa that defines the room.

The second floor, there were also canopied sun beds to relax along with two bath tub which were rather non functional. The bathtubs reminded me of the Cialis commercial :)

However, there was just a small shower in the otherwise lovely suite. Breakfast room is downstairs immediately to the left of the entrance. Breakfast served was rather limited (Coffee,juice, bread, croissant, fruits and yoghurt.) compared to what one sees in the hotels around the caribbean islands.

There was good wifi signal even upstairs which was nice, and so were the cats that prowled the second floor. Over all, definitely worthwhile if you could snare the room upstairs. (see photos)

Room tip: Get room H9
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Me and my girl friend stayed here for two days for Labor day. We love the decor and the feel of the place. I am an antique and "all old" fanatic so obviously since I was the one who chose our place to stay in Old San Juan i fell in love with this place on line. They were very accommodating because we had a late flight and they let us check in around 1 am. We had the King Suite and it has a canopy king bed, the ceiling was very high with a gorgeous antique chandelier, the bathroom was large with french toiletries. They a very interesting receiving room and dining room full of arts from local artists. The place offers privacy for those on romantic trips. The place is also conveniently located near really good restaurants and walking distance to El Morro. They also have a rooftop that you can relax and enjoy the stars at night. We had some difficulty sleeping because of the coqui's sounds at night but after the 2nd night we got used to it. They have very limited choices for breakfast so don't expect a lot for breakfast. I super love this hotel!

Room tip: Choose the rooms upstairs. They provide more privacy and a good view of the city.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wand3rlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My recent stay at Villa Herencia was wonderful. The hotel is charming, decorated with art and antiques, and close to everthing in OSJ, while being on a quiet residential street. Even the linens were fragrant ( Lavendar ?) or maybe it was the fresh flowers .The roof top deck was amazing with fruit trees in bloom. All the staff were top notch, and treated me like family instead of like a reservation. I was amazed when I entered the front door at what a lovely hotel this was , and the price was so reasonable. I highly recommend any traveler staying here, especially for a romantic retreat.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelgal515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

at 1st it was hard to locate the place but once we found it, it was great. We went around mother days weekend and check in was fast the room was ready, loved our lil deck for our room. when we walked in she gave us the key a map of the area of Old san juan. 1st day i open the window saw an army of ants but the lady at the front desk was helpful and took care of the problem right away. the staff is very helpful we pretty much had the top floor all to our self. when i was ready to go to the beach she recommended some beaches out side of the tourist place and called the cab for us...My Boyfriend & I had a great time & great stay at old san juan where the hotel was located at was perfect walking distance to everything. I say the hotel is perfect for couples or a group of friends that want to go out.

Room tip: if you want a big room & no one to really bother you i say take the second floor room.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews