We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
6
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
3
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Stayd for 5 nights! We backpack traveled all around jamaica and port antoino was our last stop! We think its the nicest place of jamaica!
There is a lot to do like reachfalls ( tip! ), boston beach, winnifred beach, long beach, frenchmans cove, blue lagoon, partys, romantic harbour ect.

The house is soo nice! It's like a dream! If i could i would stay here forever! Nice big rooms, clean, good cold showers.. Nice staff that will help you with everything.. I would recomand it to everyone! It's Perfect!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marielouise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and the experience was very average. The rooms are drab for the price though the beds comfortable. The cheaper rooms (around $30-$40) don't have private bathrooms and the shared bathrooms have only cold water. There are even cheaper rooms out the back that are quite off-putting, more like mini-dungeons.

The building was constructed i the 1880's and has a strong Victorian character, though it's quite dilapidated in parts and nothing like the well-kept Victorian buildings in Australia (and I'm sure other places too) that have a certain charm.

I would not recommend staying in Port Antonio at all as there are ongoing roadworks as well as plumbing / electrical upgrades going on throughout the town which will apparently last another 2 years (there's definitely corruption involved because it's a tiny town). This will continue to result in frequent power outages and water shortages for quite some time. It wasn't possible to take a shower in the building for over 24 hours at one point which isn't ideal. Besides these hassles, Port Antonio is an ugly town full of vagrants so if you want to visit this region then give Port Antonio a wide berth and head to one of the guesthouses along the coast between Port Antonio and Boston Bay.

If you do choose to stay in Port Antonio then I would recommend one of the small guesthouses 2 streets back from this place. They charge about $45 a night and are more modern and provide kitchen access (which is great as eating options in Port Antonio are a disgrace). Ultra-low budget travellers could head to Scotia Guesthouse one street back from this place where a single is $15. Avoid guesthouses closer to the centre than this place if staying on the weekend as you'll get a lot of noise from the bars.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This house, built in the late 1800s, is full of Victorian charm. It is located in a peaceful area with little traffic, and is very near to downtown Port Antonio. The owners were wonderful, arranging a last minute raft trip on the Rio Grande and suggesting fun places to eat. The little cafe on the second floor of the "Mall" was lots of fun and served great goat. We were only in Port Antonio for one night, but if we ever get back we'll return to this hotel. The only problem was that the bed we had was very hard as were the pillows.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaCombe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Staying at the DeMonetvin put us right in middle of typical Port Antonio life. Being close to the town centre was great, and the hotel is just the right distance so that you can escape the hustle and bustle. We had a large room with an attached bathroom. No air conditioning, but we prefer this; a modern fan was provided. There were no screens on the windows and our bathroom had only a curtain to separate it from the bedroom. I was a little leery of leaving the windows open, thinking that bugs or lizards would come in, but we didn't notice any issues. If you are a light sleeper, the neighbouring roosters and dogs might wake you through the night. The building is so beautiful that you might want to hang out in the living room, or sit out on the porch for a while. We ran into Cap'n Rebio one morning and since the cook was away that day for jury duty, we asked him for a recommendation for breakfast - he sent us to a local sit down / take out restaurant near the waterfront (no sign to say the name!), and it was fabulous and cheap (~J$4 for two people) and they serve blue mountain coffee. The DeMontevin service was excellent. When the arrangements for a driver we had made with another hotel fell apart at the last minute, George stepped in and tracked down a reliable driver to take us up to the Blue Mountains. Must have been a 3-3.5 hr round trip for the driver and he stopped to show us a waterfall, a Rasta community, and brought us in to Mrs Twymann's coffee operation. Be sure to consider Port Antonio and the DeMontevin if you want to get away from the resort type of vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

There are many good reasons to have a holiday in Jamaica, particularly in Port Antonio, and one of them is the De Montevin Lodge. For a start, it's very beautiful, with charming wrought-iron work, incredibly made in Scotland. But the main thing is the welcoming and friendly owners, George and Karen. They are gradually renovating and decorating the building in keeping with its rather grand past. (As George will tell you, the Queen and Prince Charles once stayed here.) However, they manage to maintain a real family feel too, with their kids popping off to school up the road in the morning, and Karen cooking delicious traditional Jamaican food. For the price, I don't think you'll find anything as lovely as this place anywhere in the world.

DO make sure you ask for Jamaican breakfasts. Chris and I did this, having no idea what to expect, and were served with Karen and George's family favourites each morning. (Served by George in traditional 'silver service' style.) A little pricey (in comparison with the rooms) at about £14-£18 for the two of us each day - but, honestly well worth it. You will eat vegetables, fruit and fish that you've never tried before, and better cooked and served than we had in much more expensive restaurants.

The bedrooms are standard, quite large, a little idiosyncratic - but that's part of the fun. Ours had a fab balcony, with a brilliant view. George isn't allowed to install aircon because of the importance of the building but there are good fans and it's quite comfortable. The public rooms are beautifully furnished and repay quite a lot of studying. The location is fantastic - on a famous peninsula but 100 yds from the centre of town. Port Antonio itself is a calm, friendly place, well away from any trouble spots. You can visit the Blue Mountains from here or go river-rafting. We only stayed a week but were sorry to leave. You could easily stay two weeks and not be bored.

George, whose grandmother used to own the hotel, is a fund of fantastic stories about Jamaican life. He has a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank soosootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews