We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

If you are looking for a stay in beautiful surroundings, with an informal relaxing atmosphere, excellent cuisine, and professional warm-hearted staff; Hotel Mocking Bird Hill is the place for you! My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here this July, and had a wonderful time. Shireen and Barbara have created a truly special and inspiring concept on several levels; First, they have made a warm and homey atmosphere, which gives you the sensation of being welcome into something more than a hotel. Second, they have a strong eco-friendly profile, and strive to use local merchants and goods. Third, Shireen and Barabara, and their staff, are highly service-minded and truly wish that you have a great stay, and are more than willing to help you out with organizing trips and tours - even drive and pick you up at the beach for free! I would highly recommend a stay here both for families and couples!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    50
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
37
200
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I've visited Port Antonio before, but this was my first stay at Mocking Bird Hill. I'd wanted a relaxing mini break and couldn't have picked anywhere more ideal.

The 2hr taxi ride from Kingston was straightforward with breathtaking scenery en route. I liked the hotel as soon as I saw it - it's fresh, airy and open, with verandas and terraces and an enormous garden.

I was immediately made to feel welcome and was surprised by the very generous size of my room. The decor was quietly chic and stylish and I had my own balcony overlooking the garden. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean.

I'd intended to eat out but, after having dinner at the hotel on the first evening, I ended up eating there throughout my three night stay. Food was served on the restaurant terrace - which has breathtaking views over the mountains and the sea - and the chef uses fresh, local produce. On my last night I had the best crayfish I've ever tasted.

On my arrival I was given a helpful booklet with information about the hotel, local trips to places such as the Blue Lagoon, taxi prices, best beaches etc. The owners, Barbara and Shireen, and the staff were always helpful if I was unsure about anything.

The hotel organises a free 5 minute taxi ride to the closest beach - Frenchman's Cove - one of the most exquisite spots I've ever seen. Rather than go by taxi, I decided to walk there, which was straightforward and took about 20/25 minutes. It took me through the little hamlet of Drapers San which is really friendly and has a selection of small local shops and bars and a restaurant.

The main town, Port Antonio, is only a 15 minute taxi ride away. It's charmingly unspoilt and laid-back and has an interesting market to look around.

I made good use of the hotel swimming pool, and of the cool, luscious gardens. I enjoyed Barbara's stone sculptures which are very discreetly positioned in the garden, and there is a separate gallery containing her artworks next to the hotel.

I was particularly taken by the owners' genuine commitment to the environment and to the local
community, including supporting a local school. This isn't just superficial - the hotel was designed to be energy-efficient and the garden is a sanctuary for birds and other wildlife. I felt good about staying there and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieL186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

All on a five, would be impossible! No ganja smoking allowed! Perfect place fi hide, nice view, good food, no patois ( i love patois) again very good food not the real jamaican food, worldfood in michellin style

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

From the moment we arrived, inn owners Shireen and Barbara and their warm and very professional staff signaled we were in store for days of pampering and relaxation. The breathtaking views, impeccable tropical forested gardens, top notch service, commitment to green business (and local sourcing), engaging eco-tours, and can't say enough about the sumptuous and wonderfully creative meals offered daily -- all this made for a truly memorable, restful vacation and a venue we highly recommend and look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

It is the second time we go to Mocking Bird Hill and the experience has been, once again, wonderful.

The staff is efficient, makes a special effort to accommodate our requests, but most of all they are very welcoming and make you feel special. The owner takes time to discuss with you what best corresponds to your wishes.

Our stay was punctuated by nice attentions, like offering to serve us coffee at the swimming pool when we were having a swim at 7am, preparing an extra plate of fruits for our 2 year old, leaving a small gift every day in our room, offering to organize various activities, offering a complimentary drink on the beautiful terrace overlooking the hill when you arrive, etc.

The rooms are cute, very clean, spacious and personal. We immediately felt at home on the entire property. Everything is beautifully decorated, with magnificent bouquets of fresh exotic flowers put on your table every day. There are various 'hidden' spots on the property and in the luxuriant garden where you have the feeling to be completely alone.

But what we most liked was the commitment the owners have made to preserve the environment (solar panes are installed on the roof, the food is local and organic, they offer 2 vegetarian course per night, plus the meatless Mondays), to help the local community (products are made by local people, they support a local school, a reforestation projects, etc.)

It is indeed generally pretty expensive, but the economy room is much cheaper (and still very nice) and the meals cost the same as in Kingston, but are of a much much higher quality!

It is a worthwhile touristic and human experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PtitVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.8 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.1 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.9 km away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
205.2 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
16.8 km away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,778 - ₹ 31,491
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing