We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private pampering in mento style”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

It was my 7th visit of Jamaica and Port Antonio. My first was in 1991. I visited different hotels at Port Antonio and this hotel was a revelation. A perfect combination of Jamaican hospitality, reggae feelings, good food and tastful cocktails. We stayed at the rum and bass suite wich gives a beautiful view of the ocean, has an incredible beatiful terrace with jaccuzi and very good king size bed. À surprise for me, was that Geejam is located at the other side of the road. We were travelling with rental car, as doing a tour Kingston, Port Antonio, Ocho Rios, Negril, with 3 outpost Island hotels which where incredible good. We had to ask for the hotel because there are no signs on the road. They want to keep this hotel private because famous persons stay here often. You have to go right and drive in to san san estate to find it, while I was looking to the left, ocean side.
There is an Exclusive beach where Gopaul gives you a private service. Often you are all alone on this beach. You get à coolbox from the bushbar and if you don't want to do the steps to the beach, à driver brings you.
Breakfast and even dinner is perfect on the terrace of your cabin of suites. Also at the restaurant is it very quiet and private.
We were lucky to see a performance of the Jolly boys and their mento style of reggae. Afterwards we had a recording at the studio, you should visit, where à song of us was recorded on the song of the passenger from the Jolly boys.
What you certainly must do is take the boattrip with the private boat from the hotel to blue lagoon and the rafting arranged by the hotel. Always you get a coolbox with you.
On my next visit I go back to this hotel and all other Outpost Island hotels in Jamaica. It is the best you can get on the Island and worth for his money.

Room Tip: Drum and bass is has the best terrace and view. Ska is the most private. Our daughter was with us on...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Geejam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I planned are honeymoon in Montego Bay, Jamaica at an all Inclusive Resort. What we realized after two days was that being at an all inclusive resort was no way to see Jamaica. So we rented a car and drove from Montego Bay to Port Antonio. What an amazing way to see Jamaica. We had researched places to stay and I came across the Geejam when I originally researched places to stay but never heard of staying in Port Antonio. Then my husband came across the Geejam in his research when we were at the all inclusive stuffy americanized resort. We immediately called to check for availability. We were delighted to hear that they had a night available and we packed a bag for 2 days, rented a car and took a 4-1/2 hr AWESOME drive to Port Antonio to the Geejam Resort.
We arrived close to the evening so we didnt get to see what the entire property looked liked until the morning, but from what we saw when we did arrive we were amazed.
The staff was beyond 5 stars, the owner was incredible to get to know. Brin Brin was a sweetheart and made our private dining experience, one of a kind. The chef was wonderful and the food was DELICIOUS!
The best dinner we had in all of Jamaica.
We were completely impressed by what we treated with during our evening experience that we never thought it could get better and it did.
When we woke up in the morning, my husband treated the staff and the chef and demonstrated and cooked breakfast... what can I say. He loves to cook!
We finished breakfast, we wanted to enjoy the property and HAD NO CLUE THAT WE WERE ABOUT TO BE EVEN MORE AMAZED.
The private beach is absolutely breathtaking. I never thought that a place like this could exist.
By the way, every moment of everywhere we were, there was a staff member, ready to assist you with whatever you need and if they werent there, you just use the Cell Phone they provide you. INCREDIBLE!!!

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed thgere for a week with my wife and 5 year old and it could not have been better. Simply a wonderful boutique hotel in Port Antonio (JA's best kept secret) where one's every need is catered for .I will be back.

Room Tip: of you're a few then go for the suite with pool if not all the rooms are good...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Geejam in mid-February. We were very excited about our trip, but didn't exactly know what to expect as we had heard mixed reviews of Jamaica. Our worries were very quickly washed away. Geejam is an absolute gem. The resort is beautiful with well appointed and comfortable rooms in a lush jungle setting just steps away from the beach. We stayed in Sanwood for several nights (we absolutely loved Banksy's art in the villa) and Mento for one night, which provided for two wonderful and unique experiences. The service was attentive, friendly and simply outstanding - it's all about service at Geejam. The food at the Bushbar was absolutely incredible (I highly recommend the Curry Shrimp and Mento Stew!). We were fortunate enough to see the Jolly Boys perform live at the Bushbar...the old guys are awesome!... and meet one of the owners of the resort, Steve Beaver. Talk about a cool character...Steve chatted with all of the guests and personally made sure that everyone's needs were met.

Geejam beach is very private with white sand and 7 different shades of blue waters. We also enjoyed Frenchman's Cove, the Blue Lagoon and Winnifred Beach, all of which are beautiful and very close to Geejam. Geejam also organized a rafting trip down the Rio Grande, which may have been the highlight of the trip.

To sum it up, we had an amazing time, we will be returning in the not-too-distant future and we highly recommend that others check out Geejam.

Nick

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We where at Geejam in februari, and we had a great time. The rooms are really tremendous. the restaurant serves great food, the staff is top of the bill, and the beach is wonderfull. The only dissapointment is the island outpost/geejam reservation office. They forgot to told us that a taxi from Kinston to Geejam is complimentary whit a 5 night stay. So we rented a car, cost $ 340,00! We also had a discussion about the bill, it was 5 am when we checked out, and the staff could not decide, they promissed us the office would contact us afterwards. I send several mails to remind them, but they never respond. At the end we stay whit a wretched felling about our stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner at Geejam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Here's a copy of our responses that have been emailed to Edwin:

Hello Edwin,

Firstly, let me thank you for all the positive feedback on your stay with us.

As we want all of our guests to leave Geejam feeling they've experienced something unique, I share your sense of frustration that Island Outpost's Central reservations dept. failed to inform you about our current complimentary transfer policy for guests staying 5 nights or more. Equally frustrating is the fact that we never received any of those 'reminder' emails that you mentioned.

I understand that you had arrived a day later than planned, and had requested a refund for that day, which, in spite of our refund policy, we would have been more than happy to have given you, had we not had such a small window of less than 24hrs to resell the room – this is one of the issues of being a 'private hotel' with only 7 rooms to begin with.

I think it only fair to mention that the discrepancy with the bill was, in fact, an error in your favour, to the tune of $352. However, instead of us pursuing this amount, and along with offering you our sincerest apologies, we've decided to consume it, because of the issues above. We were also amenable to you staying in Ska at the Rocksteady rate, as it had been initially quoted to you in error by Central Reservations. This represented an additional saving of $1020.

I'm happy to note that you were able to dispose of the hire car, and we were able to run you back to Kingston, on a complimentary basis.

Mistakes do happen – as we've seen here, and when things go wrong, we always try to tackle them in a positive way.

Should you have both enjoyed your stay with us sufficiently to warrant a return, we will ensure that there are no further mix-ups, and would welcome you back as part of our fast growing contingent of returning guests.

1love
Steve
Co-owner


And IO's letter of apology:

23rd March 2012


Dear Mr. Soetens,


Thank you for choosing Island Outpost and Geejam for your recent vacation destination in February 2012. We sincerely appreciate your business, as we know there were many choices that were available to you when selecting where to spend your travel dollars.


We write this letter to acknowledge that your stay with us was not without incident. Our reservations agent did neglect to inform you of the promotion entitling you to a complimentary airport transfer for your 5-night stay at Gee Jam. There was also an error on your bill upon checkout, which though fortunately erred significantly in your favor, was nonetheless regrettable. Island Outpost would like to apologize profusely for the inconvenience caused by these failings on our part.

With regard to your missed flight which resulted in you checking-in a day late, Island Outpost maintains a strict cancellation policy due the intimate scale of our collection of properties, and therefore could not refund you for a cancellation on such short notice.
We would however like to offer you a resort credit of $150 towards your next stay at any Island Outpost property of your choosing. This offer will remain valid until October 31st, 2013 and can be redeemed upon reservations made directly with our office.

Again, we regret any inconvenience caused by the abovementioned events. Should we have the opportunity to host you once again in the future, we shall certainly do our utmost to ensure that your experience is memorable, enjoyable and incident-free.


One Love,
Tammy Kong
Reservations Manager
Island Outpost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
207.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
75.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,302 reviews
206.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.3 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
2.1 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
233 reviews
160.3 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 32,399 - ₹ 1,19,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing