We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

OVERVIEW
My wife and I traveled to Sandals-Negril five years to the day after we got married on the beach at Sandals-Whitehouse. This time we chose the butler service and in hindsight we are glad we did. Our butlers, Myron and Niesha, were really great and made us feel more special than we really are. Our stay this time was seven days. And we would definitely consider the butler service again.

GETTING TO THE RESORT
It was about an hour trip on a roomy, clean, new bus. The ride goes quick and not nearly as hair raising as the trip to Whitehouse.

FIRST IMPRESSION
Pulling into the resort was a bit of disappointment as the entrance to the lobby is literally about thirty feet from the roadway. This is very unlike the private secluded and glamorous long entrance into Sandals Whitehouse. Once we got into the lobby we were immediately met by our butler Myron who brought us right to our room while the non-butler guests huddled in a group filling out forms. Liking it so far.

Our room was in the Sundowner building on the far end of the resort and we were very pleased as we saw it for the first time. Myron gave us a personal cellphone to use in case we needed anything and a quick chat about the resort and shortly afterwards we walked around to see the rest of the resort.

Sandals Negril is not as large or private as Whitehouse but overall we liked what we saw.

THE RESTAURANTS
Only two of the restaurants were actually indoors but mother nature didn't make that into a problem. We enjoyed all of them, especially Dino's the Italian one. We did not try Kimono's the Japanese one and heard mixed reveiws from other guests that ate there.

THE FOOD AND DRINKS
Very good quality and tasty food gave us little to complain about. One note about the Pina Coladas though, they make them with milk which I didn't know about. Being lactose intolerant this caused me problems for about two days until I realized it. I even saw goats milk being used on two occasions. Lesson learned.

THE SERVICE
There aren't many destinations that I've been to that compare with the Jamaican hospitality. ALL of the workers, except for Shannon in the photoshop, are genuinely happy people and will go out of their way to help you. This is especially heart warming since there is a no tipping policy in place.

THE BEACH
The water at the beach is protected from the open ocean so there is never any rough surf. The sand is clean and so is the water for the most part with some occaisonal seaweed. The resort is sandwiched between other resorts so there is constant vendor traffic walking through trying to sell you stuff. The resort cannot prevent them from walking through but they do have the security guards walk behind the vendors keeping tabs on them. We got constant offers from some of the locals offering to sell us hats, jewelery, sea shells, scarfs, bandanas, wave runner rides, parasailing rides, lobsters, cigarettes, nose candy, marijuana, hash, and mushrooms. At first I tried to be as polite as I could but after about the third day saying no to the same people it got annoying. You can walk the beach outside of the resort (the guard will take your name and room# so they'll know where you are) which is pretty freakin long.

THE NUDE BEACH
There isn't any nudity at Sandals Negril but the Hedonism full nudity resort is less than a ten minute walk away. I walked over there while my wife was at the Spa (hey what can I say, I was bored :)) Anyway it was quite an experience. Some people are just not built to be nude in public.

ENTERTAINMENT/NIGHT LIFE
There really aren't many entertainment options at this resort. Your choice is either a C-list piano player at one of the beach bars, or an occaisonal show on the stage. The stage is actually located in the buffet area and some of your view is obscured by columns and pillars. The entertainment isn't great but they try hard. And don't forget that you are on vacation and probably drunk so you really won't need anyone from Hollywood anyway.

WATERSPORTS
There were a few options for watersports including, scuba, snorkeling, paddle boarding, sail boats, and one of those booze cruises (extra fee). I did the snorkeling which was a bit of a disappointment. The boat trip was only about four minutes long and the underwater life wasn't anything to get too excited about. But the boat operators were hilarious and for some reason the boat would always have some sort of mechanical problem in the area of the nude beach and would temporarily slow way down. Hmmm.

THE NOT SO GREAT
I didn't love the fact that the resort was so close to the road. Often and at all times you will hear an "occasional" car or motorcycle wizz by. Also, we chose our building because it seemed to be more secluded being at the end of the resort. Unfortunately it is very close to the neighbors house who happens to have many dogs. They didn't bark constantly but when they did it was a real buzz kill. I can stay home if I want to hear barking dogs. Another negative is the water temperature of the pools which was way too cold in my opinion. I have read other reviews that say the same thing which are true. I think Sandals could easily and affordably raise the temp by about 8 degrees which would make a lot of people very happy. Are you listening Sandals?

REASONS TO RETURN
Overall we were very happy. Our butlers arranged a very nice lobster dinner for two on our last night on our own balcony which was very romantic. And during our stay we routinely came back to our room to find surprises like towels shaped into cute animals, rose petals around the room, tub filled with hot water, candles, notes, etc. Sandals knows how to make us feel special and we are more than happy to book another trip with them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0nest_Review_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,363)
There are newer reviews for Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,259 - 3,263 of 5,364 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went to sandals negril for our honeymoon from March 19-March 26, 2012. Overall we found sandals to be a nice place to go however it was not our speed. We are a young-ish couple (29 and 36) and the median age of the people staying here was around 45-60. They advertise the resort as having a night life. Let me tell you, after 8pm there is absolutly nothing to do at this resort. There is a "piano" bar but we found ourselves sitting with the same 4 other people every night at the bar. They just put on an IPOD with music and the majoirty of the resort goes to bed. If this is something you are looking for then it will be awesome, however we were bored and after the sun goes down you are out of luck. We found 3 other couples who were honeymooning and we all had the same experience. If you are younger and looking to not go to bed at 9pm then do not go here.
The food was ok, not the worst we have ever had but not amazing either. overall this is a good resort if you are looking for a week with nothing to do and over the age of 45

Room Tip: If you are thinking of coming here at all you need to get the Butler category rooms: They are the be...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I were in Sandals Negril for a week; we flipped over from White House where we also spent a week: we were in Jamaica March 3-18, 2012. We were in Negril ten years ago.
Sandals Negril is a very charming property but because it is an older property, it requires some upgrading. A very good source at Negril told us the chairman has approved major upgrading projects beginning in the Fall 2012. So stand by and enjoy the new look.
The road from Negril to Montego Bay is quite remarkable, the hour and a half passes very quickly as there is so much to see.
At Sandals Negril everything is clean, landscaping is well attended and the beach is one of the nicest and longest in Jamaica. White sand and moon lit evenings: what else can you wish for?
The entertainment team under Emonalesia leadership is incomparable; great staff stage productions and talented local performers. You do not want to miss an opera interlude with Rory: incredible tenor voice.
Be sure to look up Oneill and Jeffrey at the Bayside restaurant, their service is very attentive, and they will love to talk with you on any subjects.
Water sports are plentiful.
Don’t forget to go to Rick’s Cafe; only ten minutes from the property, and it is worth to see the cliff divers and the sunset.

Room Tip: Try to get a walkout room on the beach, it is great. But for the view go to the upper floors. No re...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have been to this property before and I have to tell you the improvements are wonderful. The beach and water are much better than in previous visits. You can walk for miles on this beach and it is wider in places than in previous visits. We were upgraded to the Millionaires Suite which we found too quiet so we were moved to the second floor of the River Suites. The rooms are beautiful and the view is much better than the swim out suites and much more privacy. The beach here is wide with soft white sand and lots of umbrellas and chairs. The food was excellent in all of the restaurants but our favorite was the Italian. The butlers were not as good as those at other Sandals resorts but still worth the extra cost. The only complaint we had was the lack of evening entertainment. it was a very quiet resort in the evenings unless you had your own group of friends. This is the first Sandals I have stayed at that they didn't even have a venue for the evening entertainment. The stage was in the middle of the buffet restaurant so you had no were to sit and watch unless you were eating. Very strange. Otherwise this is a beautiful resort. The age group was a bit on the young side but still a fair number of couples over 40. I had a chance to view the Deluxe and Premium rooms and if you are thinking of booking them, don't. They are very very small with no balconies or terraces and extremely small. The window in the rooms looks out onto another building and walk way so you have to keep your curtains closed all the time. Spend a bit more and go with the Luxury rooms or higher.

Room Tip: river suites on the second floor are actually the best rooms on the property. I viewed all room cat...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank dreamakerOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We chose Sandals Negril in Jamaica for our honeymoon destination...and had an AMAZING experience!

From the minute we got off the shuttle, we were catered by the concierge team. Carrie Ann, Nadine, Patrice, Cassandra, and Shemoy helped us get accustomed to our surroundings and were there to help us at any time. Big thank you to management for making us feel welcomed.

Our room was centralized, first floor, beach front walk out, which was perfect! The size of the room was decent, since we spent most of our time outside it wasn't a big deal. It even had a fully stocked mini fridge and bar..sweet! Honestly, we didn't use it too often since everything was all inclusive, and it was easier to order a drink from one of the bars, but it was still nice to have available.

The beach was wonderful! The water was so calm and soothing, and the sunsets were breathtaking. The workers took great care of the beaches each day, and security kept close watch of local vendors.

Each restaurant offered many different selections..in which we found the food to taste excellent! The wait service by far exceeded our expectations, and we were very pleased with every dining experience.

We were able to book one excursion, the lover's reggae catamaran cruise, which was just one highlight of the trip. The crew mates knew how to get the party started and keep it going, and we had so much fun..despite the rain! Stopping at Rick's Cafe to experience cliff jumping was awesome, then visiting Margaritaville to top it off with a big "cheers" was great. We would have loved to travel to Dunn's River Falls, but the locations was too far from Negril. Plus we were having so much fun, we didn't need to leave!

There were many water activities to choose from, such as kayaking, water skiing, mini catamarans, wind surfing etc. We went snorkeling with Smiley and Oganna, then did the glass bottom boat ride with Big Papa, who was hilarious but very informative.

Then to top if all off...the greatest part of the resort was the entertainment. Many shows, dances, Jamaican classes, and games were scheduled throughout the day/night so there was never a dull moment. Christopher, Jovany, Javid, Willie, Sharae, Emonalisea, DJmase and a few others all did a fabulous job with keeping us entertained and involved. They are a very talent group, and we were amazed with their level of performance. Very energetic, warm hearted, and we felt the love. Hands down, we enjoyed every bit of it. We also gained personal connections with some of them which means a lot.

Overall, we highly recommend Sandals Negril. We definitely plan on returning, maybe next year...maybe next week!! Great service, great food, great atmosphere, great friends...what more could you ask for. Yea mon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank StefanieCraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
52.6 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.4 km away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.9 km away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,434 reviews
44.7 km away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
7,010 reviews
133.0 km away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: ₹ 29,892 - ₹ 70,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing