We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best resorts...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best resorts...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Spa Retreat in Negril and 4 nights at Sandals Royal Caribbean in June, 2012. Our only regret is not staying at the Spa Retreat longer. This was our first trip to Jamaica. We were picked up at the airport by our own personal driver. The drive to the Spa Retreat really shows you how the people of Jamaica live. Seeing the road side shacks really puts life into perspective. We didn’t feel as though we were headed to “paradise” on our drive in but when the van pulled into the Spa Retreat we quickly realized that we didn’t make a mistake in selecting this place to start our trip. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed with open arms and had a drink in our hands within first few minutes.

The attention to detail at this resort is exceptional.

While at the Spa we spent 2 nights in a seaside stone cottage and 1 night in the bridal suite. My wife and I each had ocean side massages to start our stay – a must if you visit this place. The food at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the jerked chicken – best I had on the island during our stay. Everyone was very nice and the service was excellent. We even had our own personal life guard in Rosa the dog. We would go snorkeling in the mornings and Rosa would often join us. We miss you Rosa!
There are not too many negatives. The cottages could use a bit more storage and the bed in the cottage we had was a double even though the frame was a queen. I would bang knees on the frame due to the size difference. The bridal suite had a true King bed/frame and TV with every channel imaginable which was nice in comparison to the cottage but we found the bridal suite a bit noisy. There was some sort of party going on in a nearby bar during the night we stayed in the bridal suite and you could also hear road side traffic. Not sure if the noise from the bar could be heard from the seaside cottages but I know that during our stay in the cottage we didn’t hear anything but waves crashing on the rocks. The view from the bridal suite was amazing and made up for some of the draw backs.

All in all we will probably stay in the seaside cottage when we go back.

Room Tip: Seaside cottages are the way to go! Stayed in #3 which was perfect. #1 is closest to the bar so it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffFromTO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you both enjoyed your time at The SPA Retreat and I thank you for your feedback. Please note your Seaside cottage did in fact have a Queen Serta mattress although the handmade wood frames may be a bit oversized and we are now looking to remedy this. Looking forward to your return (as I’m sure Rosa is)! One Love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
363
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Clean, peaceful place ... professional staff and great management team

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackyann_touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review. Our team is thrilled you enjoyed your visit to The SPA Retreat! It’s wonderful to receive reviews from local Jamaican’s and we look forward to seeing you again and again. One Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I recently traveled to Negril with a friend for a few days of R&R at one of the beach resorts. We passed The Spa Retreat on our way to another resort and decided to check it out online. We scheduled a spa treatment for each of us and The Spa Retreat did not disappoint. We each enjoyed a service overlooking the cliffs and the ocean........AMAZING! Our esthetician Daneisha was incredible. After our treatments we enjoyed lunch at their restaurant the Blue Mahoe and laid out on the cliffs for the rest of the afternoon. The cliffs is a wonderful change of pace from the beach. It's much more serene. When I return to Negril, The Spa Retreat will be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to visit us from another local Negril hotel. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your seaside SPA treatments & dining experience at our Blue Mahoe Restaurant. Looking forward to having you as a future guest of The SPA Retreat! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 5 night stay at the SPA Retreat. Our experience was so great that it's hard to convey.
Every single staff member was amazing. They were so professional and helpful, and we received that absolute best treatment from each one of them. Everyone is approachable, including the owner. We had a minor issue with a vendor outside of the resort (which had nothing to do with the SPA Retreat), and when the office caught wind of it they took it upon themselves to completely solve the misunderstanding. That was absolutely above and beyond, especially considering we never mentioned anything to the front office about it.
If there is anything you need, you can always just ask. If they can make it happen, they certainly will.
The rooms are just phenomenal! We spent our first few nights in a seaside room, which was amazing. When we thought it couldn't get any better, they upgraded us to the bridal suite!
I was particularly fond of the resident dog, Rosa. She is very playful and well-mannered, and she loves to go swimming with you! Any time that we were eating, staff members quickly took her away (although I wasn't bothered).
The spa services were fantastic. I had a massage every day I was there, and they were very relaxing. It was an awesome experience to have a massage in a cabana while listening to the waves crashing behind you. I highly recommend! Also, my husband got sunburned pretty badly one of the first days there. The massage therapist caught a glimpse of him and came and rubbed fresh aloe on his back several times.
We ventured out of the resort one day to see what the outside was like and get a few souvenirs, and we quickly gained even more appreciation for the resort. It certainly wasn't bad, but we were SO spoiled that we couldn't wait to get back!
We truly had the best vacation we've ever taken at the SPA Retreat. If you are looking for a place to relax and take in the beauty, you will not regret coming here. EVERYTHING was top notch: the staff, the Blue Mahoe, the rooms, the service, the location, and just the atmosphere itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NathanandTrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words of our staff and your exceptional experience - our aim is to continually exceed our guests expectations each and everyday. We are humbled to have provided you with “the best vacation you’ve ever taken” and look forward to your next visit to The SPA Retreat! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilonia, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I just returned from our 7-night stay at The Spa Retreat, celebrating our honeymoon. Neither of us had ever been to Jamaica, however Trip Advisor made the search so easy. When looking into a place to stay in Jamaica, The Spa Retreat was hands-down the best place to vacation based on guest comments and ratings. And for all those comments we read, and all those great ratings, what we experienced was far beyond my expectations. This was a very special stay for my wife and I as we were looking for something a bit secluded, a place where we could get some rest, a place where we can spend a lot of one-on-one time together. And from Christine the owner, to the entire staff, they made is so special as we have never been more pampered in our life. The entire hotel facility is brand new, beautifully decorated, exquisite flowers & trees at every turn, and they cater to every need you have. You don’t need to leave the resort as they have everything and more, from 5-star dining at the Blue Mahoe to beautiful rooms, snorkeling, and the most beautiful ocean view when you wake up every morning. We stayed in a Seaside cottage for the first 3 days which are much like small cabana’s, but when Christine found out we had just gotten married, they upgraded us for free to the bridal suite which blew us away (well, my wife was IN on this surprise). Waking up to the ocean view every morning was priceless. The Blue Mahoe restaurant was excellent, so much so that we ate EVERY meal for 8 days at that restaurant. The menu is phenomenal for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and if they don’t have it, they will make it for you. And the most wonderful part of the restaurant is eating right on the ocean, literally you are ocean-side and the views are mesmerizing. My wife also had a massage in a cabana overlooking the ocean and she has commented several times that the massages were wonderful as well as the facial she received.

This is an amazing resort that has ensured a future visit from us because of their personal service to your every need. We can’t wait to visit again and see the entire staff. Thanks for a great honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkandCindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for joining us on your honeymoon! We are so glad you enjoyed the privacy, seclusion and restful ambiance that The SPA Retreat provides. Perhaps we’ll see you again for Anniversary #1 or sooner…One Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
206.0 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 15 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.9 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
4.1 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
3.3 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
7.2 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,644 - ₹ 26,972
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing