We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely disagree with you Solo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whistling Bird Resort
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
jmcm13
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Completely disagree with you Solo!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Solo, you can't be more wrong, and I find it disappointing that you travel to a third world country and expect to be treated like Paris Hilton. Jamaica is not like the U.S. and the culture is completely different. I would suggest reading up on the culture of Jamaicans, as many things can be interpreted incorrectly. I too, stayed at the Whistling Bird for a whole 3 months as a single female.
The employees of the Resort can be very protective of their guests, especially if you let them know you are uncomfortable. The staff treat repeat customers and the like just as though you are part of a big family. But they also give space to those who are looking for relaxation or romantic time. I wouldn't misinterpret their lack of involvement- as many people come there to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. This is the only resort on the 7 mile beach that stays true to it's Jamaican roots. All the vegetables served in the restaurant are grown in their garden. This resort is one of the original resorts of the 7 mile beach, so they know exactly where to get the best quality food, who to trust for taxi services, snorkeling, boat rides, and transportation to the waterfalls. If you go anywhere else, you may pay less, but I guarantee you will take a chance being given an incorrect amount of change for your US dollar and recommendations for taxi services can be dangerous. That happened to me several times whenever I explored other restaurants and resorts. I even went by an "American" resort and was shocked that their showers were made of white, broken concrete. The rooms were tiny. The Whistling Bird is truly unique in design and decor. The bugs you speak of are minor. This is a tropical island. You are lucky you didn't travel elsewhere with tarantulas, snakes, and scorpions. Sugar ants, small lizards and bug mites (on the beach at dawn/dusk) are the only little creatures you will come across. I suggest wearing pants in the early mornings and washing your feet at night after walking on the beach.

The bathrooms are gorgeous at the Whistling Bird and have wooden shutters. Some back home would not be comfortable with that, but at this resort, it is completely isolated and protected by trees. There would be no one to look through them and that behavior wouldn't be tolerated anyway. The staff are respectable people who feel honored to work for the Bird. I thought it made for a very romantic and exotic atmosphere.

The sheets that are left out to dry is simply for efficiency. They do use dryers, however, the electricity in Jamaica performs at such a low frequency, it takes a very long time to get things dry. Same goes with the water pressure. It is a little less powerful than what you find in the states, but I never noticed it to be a problem. I've had more issues with Motel 8's than I did at the Bird. If you would like A/C, ask for it. They have units with A/C. As for the food, you can almost order anything you like because they shop specifically for what you need. That said, a lot of items are pretty impossible to find in the city, due to the low electricity frequency and therefore refrigeration issues. Cheese, beef and chocolate are a few examples; lobster is sold according to whether a fisherman has caught any that day. Like I said, its not the U.S. where you can go buy anything you want. You will find more variety in the fall and winter seasons at the peak of tourist season. I was always impressed with the red snapper, which is decadent! They always have snapper, fresh exotic fruits, gourmet coffee and homegrown vegetables.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jmcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    30
    7
    8
    13
See reviews for
19
52
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

First trip to Negril. The staff at the WB are somewhat nice. But, they are busy with work and when their not busy with work they were not trying to serve you. The bar was the reception desk. So, if your sitting at the bar staff should ask you if you need anything like lunch or a drink. I saw the owners on grounds during my entire stay. Why didn't they ask me if I was enjoying my stay at the WB or if I needed anything? Thats what I would do if I wanted to run a successful business! I really don't think they care.
The shower room is beautiful and spacious. However, water pressure was low, hot water was sporadic and sometimes the water stop coming out completely. Also, people could see me nude in the shower because there was not a curtain covering the window. I had night time guests (Newts, Red Ants, Black Ants and Mosquitos). If the owners are living on grounds who do you think has the best room. I bet they have a vanity curtain, AC and TV. The safe box didn't work.
I stayed five nights at the WB so all drinks and food were put on a weekly grid or tab system that the WB made up. So, I had know idea what they charged me for drinks or what I was spending during my stay. I received one bill at the end of my stay. I like to keep copious notes of my daily spending. Food was good. However, the menu was limited and meals were redundant.
The WB is not a resort or luxurious. My critique is based solely on the WB and not on Negril beach or the Jamaicans. I would not recommend the WB to couples or families. Only, to those who are on a tight budget. The grounds is like a botanical garden---nice! But, they dried linens on clothes lines on the grounds---ghetto! The location on the beach is fantastic. But, if I were you I would give the WB a pass. Try the Charela($$$), Rockhouse($$$), Kuyaba($$$) or Rondel Village($$).

Skip it!

Room Tip: Book your stay directly through the owner and not a third party(i.e expedia).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rct1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlain, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I did not stay at this hotel, but did check it out. The rooms are roomy. It location on the beach is right about the middle of the seven mile beach. It is set back from beach a bit and is serounded by trees and gardens. The resturant is closer to the water ,and under the trees.We ate there at lease four days durning our stay in Negril. One egg, one toast, and one cup of coffee for $4.00. We had scramble eggs each day, they were very fluffy and homemade toast. Great breakfast for the value. I will eat there on my next visit too. Maybe check in there to stay too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamaicaSueNy_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My boyfriend and I would escape our gross hotel to dine in the beautiful ambiance of this one. We ate at the whistling bird restaurant four or five times during our week long stay in Negril and wished we had also booked a room here. The garden is amazing and they dont have a public washroom for restaurant guests so allowed us to venture in to a vacant cabin. It was gorgeous! And a mile higher than the place we stayed at (see my other reviews please). We each had chicken dishes during our restaurant visits. My ultimate favourite was the coconut chicken, your mouth will explode in happiness. The chef even came out to accept our thanks and blushed non stop from the praise. The best part was the beautiful ladies who were serving us. They were always smiling, always kind and made us feel right at home with their loving natures.

If we ever return to Negril, I hope we stay here and I hope those ladies are still there!!! Great place, even if you just want to relax and have a beer while sitting amongst a beautiful sanctuary of greenery. It definitely helps you escape the crowds of the beaches and feel more at peace. Kudos to the owner for running such a great operation and for keeping such wonderful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

On the evening of 1/16/12 , my girlfriend and I had dinner at the Whistling Bird. We both ordered the coconut shrimp which was the special that day. I aso ordered the pumpkin soup and a Red Stripe. My girlfriend had a non-alcohol Pina Colada. Everything was very good, but I was surprised to be billed $84.15. The website menu [ referenced later] lists the coconut shrimp at $21.00, which I would consider reasonable.

I felt that I was taken advantage of.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleetrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 km away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
642 reviews
0.2 km away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
0.5 km away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 81 in Negril
280 reviews
1.0 km away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.5 km away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#25 of 81 in Negril
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Bird Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Bird Resort

Property: Whistling Bird Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#30 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,631 - ₹ 20,150
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Bird Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach cottages in a unique enclave. Totally immersed in nature, intensively landscaped. The cottages can be large or small, simple or deluxe. Whistling Bird offers amenities, several are unique. It's a small family business - an "UN" hotel,more like staying with a Jamaican family than a hotel in Jamaica! Ane we have and excellent Staff and a pretty full slate of services to offer. We can do food and drink, a simple breakfast or dinner for example. We offer a Genuine Jamaica lifestyle and serve Jamaican food and beverages in our private, open air bar and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whistling Bird Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Bird Hotel Negril
Whistling Bird Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing