We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pure Garden Resort
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I've been going to Jamaica since 1986. Bungalo has been my "home away from home" for a number of years now. The staff and owner are just great. The room is comfortable, clean and large. It isn't too noisy and across the street from the beach, easily accessed. The property is lovely with a very nice swimming pool at the rear. And, the price is always right. The only problem is that occasionally the visitors aren't aware they are at a nice hotel; they don't realize they don't have free rein to do what they want. Respect. Ann

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    57
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
41
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just stayed here in late January, 2012. For room 15A we had strong hot shower, clean room, screens on all the windows, AC was fine and very friendly staff and management. We felt comfortable leaving our important thing in the room. Pretty setting and fabulous pool area with the ocean just across the street. Mrs Barrett, the manager is working hard to please the guests, did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. Yes she is pretty determined to keep out strangers for the safety of the paying guests, and some of our visiting family found this inconvenient. Perhaps some adjustments needed there. Mrs Barrett found us a refrigerator for the second half of our stay at no extra charge. We would definitely stay there again. Recommend, you go to Kuyaba or Bar-B Barn just across the street (or many others) for meals, no restaurant/ bar operating at this hotel.

Wireless internet access, important to me, which was no extra charge, (unlike Cuba) had limited range, but once you got it the service was fast. I did a check of high end hotels, and found every hotel in the area, even the fancy ones, lacking in good wireless internet coverage. Not a unique problem to Sun Garden.

Side note: In Negril, and perhaps Jamaica, all things take longer, especially anything to do with restaurants. So be prepared to relax, take a deep breath, bring good conversation or a book!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Well we just back from the best honeymoon ever!! I can only find one word to decribe our honeymoon AWSOME!! We went to the Bungalo on the recommendations of some close friends and boy we were not disappointed.
This was our first trip to Jamaica so we really didn't know what to expect [Or for that matter out of Bismark.] We were greeted by a very frindly manager named Onie and was she ever terrific!
Though they were very busy upon check in, she gave us her undivided attention and made us feel right at home. We had heard horror stories on the plane about being ripped off by the locals and we were assured by Onie that they provided very good security and that kind of stuff that happed on the beach did not happed here.
I probaly speak for many when i say that the beach can be very trying, peddlers everywhere and everywhere you turn people are trying to sell you something!!!
It was such a comfort to be able to get off the beach and away from all that hustle and bustle.
The accomadations were nice, nothing real special, however the cleaning staff did a great job making sure that we were comfortable. Though they did not have an operationl kitchen the Sun Beach resturaunt occross the street had faboulus food at very reasonable rates.
While speaking with other tourist we came to appreacate how lucky we were to NOT being in a beach hotel. Though the view the other hotels offer might be great, the seclusion and privacy the Bungalo offerd far out weighted the extra money that they charged on the beach and really who would want to pay to get hassled.
Onie was correct we did not get hassled once, and we found the pool area a grat place to go when you didn't want the hassle of the beach. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy the tropics while not getting all the hassle, very quite and romanic place!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Truly incredible!!! This was our fourth trip to Negril but the first time staying at the bungalo and we will my definetly be staying here again!
The rooms were not new but they were very clean and the house keepers did a fabulous job.
We have traveled to other parts of the island in the past [Ochio, Montego Bay, Runaway bay and i just cant say enough about the Bungalo and there staff.
They really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have been staying here for over twenty years and would never stay anywhere else. The staff are alway's very friendly and helpful.The rooms are not new but are well maintained and well kept. They are very well located and the security that they provide is number 1.
For the many years that i have gone here, this is my first review and after seeing some negitive comments it made me wonder if people that had a bad experience were more likely to write a review than people that have had a very good one?
For the few people that had a bad expereince i'll bet there are hundreds that can say as i have what a wonderful expereince they have had!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 km away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.1 km away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#31 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 km away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#45 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 km away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#51 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Garden Resort

Property: Pure Garden Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Next to the Time Square Mall, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,628 - ₹ 6,534
Hotel Class:2 star — Pure Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room Relax in comfortAuthentic Jamaican-style room complete with all the amenities you need.- Room with Kitchenette For all your cooking needsIncludes all the features of a standard room plus a fully-equipped kitchenette.Main facilities - Cable TV - Ready for your viewing pleasure. WiFi internet access - All rooms are WiFi-ready for browsing the internet. Free parking - All signed-in guests have free access to the resort's parking lot. Safe-deposit box - All guests can request access to the safe-deposit boxes at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pure Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalo Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing