We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Negril Yoga Noise Box”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Negril Yoga Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Negril Yoga Centre
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Negril Yoga Noise Box”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Noise, noise, noise!
I am quite surprised by the numerous positive reviews that I have seen posted here. I have traveled extensively around the world for many years and this was one of the worst places I've ever stayed. The noise alone makes the place a disaster. Most of the walls of the rooms are paper thin and made of wood. Because of this, the substantial noise coming from the busy road outside can be heard from every room on the grounds at all hours of the day. Additionally, most of the time late in the evening there is super loud music blaring away from nearby establishments, oftentimes until 3:00 AM!
I would strongly advise you to stay away from the Negril yoga center and seek accommodation at one of the many hotels across the street at essentially the same price, right on the beach. That’s what I did after staying at the yoga center for couple of miserable days; I moved to a hotel and really enjoyed my time in Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilYoga, Owner at Negril Yoga Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Greetings Traveler, Negril Yoga Center has been operating for 30+ years in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Negril, Jamaica. Our guests thrive on the “Jamaican Culture” which is a laid back, no worries attitude and music is a very large expression of our cultural for those who live here. Perhaps during your stay there was a cultural festival of some sort that may have escalated the music. Rest assure there are quite times in Negril that are not to be missed. Our property was built to maintain the environment and existing surroundings. We consider ourselves to be eco-friendly and unfortunately we do not have the luxury accommodations other properties have to offer. Negril Yoga Center supports a minimalist retreat where simplicity and comfort abounds. We hope that you enjoyed all Jamaica has to offer and we do hope you visit our beautiful country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    42
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
34
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I loved the atmosphere of this place. Very pretty with lots of nice plants in the compound. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, with a special mention to Sicine who was the receptionist. There was yoga in the morning which for me was an added bonus. It's also close to Negril town, about a 5 minute walk and the beach was just across the street. I picked a room with just a fan, no AC, as I was on a bit of a budget, and was initially a little worried about the possible heat inslde, but it turns out the nights were cool in this month of April and was glad that a thick bed cover was also available apart from the top sheet. The shared bathroom was very clean and well maintained. This accommodation is a really good value for your money in Negril and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joastillero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilYoga, Owner at Negril Yoga Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for the kind words…we are very proud of our “little oasis” and we appreciate you as our guest. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to beautiful Negril.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I go to Jamaica every four months. It is a deeply spiritual place that fills me up deeply every time i return. For the last several trips, i have stayed at the Negril Yoga Centre, and i will never stay at any other hotel again. If i couldn't stay there, then i would probably go visit another island - that's how central the experience at the Yoga Center is to my trips to Jamaica.

If you are looking for a real Negril experience, if staying shut up in a resort doesn't sound much like international travel to you, and if you are visiting Jamaica to experience what makes this island special, then the Yoga Centre is your place.

Every time i've gone, the Yoga Centre becomes my villiage, my neighborhood - no matter the cast of characters who happen to be lodging there at the time. It is a real spiritual, soulful place where you instantly feel at home. The accomodations are not fancy, but they are beautiful, clean, and it feels like you're surrounded by your extended Jamaican family. The staff are amazing, kind and warm and super helpful. They leave you alone to spend your days and nights as you wish with whom you wish, but as soon as you need anything they are right there. I feel very, very safe with the level of security on site and overnight. The food is home-cooked and full of love. The rooms are simple, charming, clean, and perfectly adequate. You didn't come to Jamaica to watch tv, right?

Bring an alarm clock and, if you must, a laptop. They have fast wifi. I have never needed or wanted AC, so i think that's an easy way to save your money.

I use my "Jamaican uncle" Ashton Pitt for all my driving needs including airport transfers and excursions: 1-876-376-2174 (JA cell) artconcepent.tours@yahoo.com He picks me up and drops me off right at the gate of the Yoga Cenre.

This is a blessed place. Feel free to contact me with any questions.
OneLove,
Julia

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JuliaOneLove93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilYoga, Front Office Manager at Negril Yoga Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Julia,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud to have you as our guest and staying with us time after time.

From all of us at The Negril Yoga Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had originally planned to spend just three days in Negril at the Yoga Center and five days in Montego Bay. After spending landing in MoBay and spending one night there, we quickly revised our vacation to stay at the Yoga Center for the majority of our eight day trip. I'm an active yoga practitioner, but you don't need to like yoga at all to love this place. Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms, and excellent service. They only offer one class daily at 9:30 am - a very basic one hour Iyengar class. The studio space is left open the rest of the day so you can easily practice on your own. They have a full menu to order from (breakfast and lunch), and we tried the majority of what was offered. The food was above average, and the prices were exactly what you'd pay almost anywhere in the U.S. (I live in NYC) - suffice it to say, no savings there. The beach is located directly across the street, and the Center will loan you a beach towel. They also have daily maid service, which is a huge treat when staying at a guesthouse. The only downside for us was the complete lack of water pressure in the bathroom. Non-flushing toilets and just a very fine mist of water to shower in. After a day or two, you just get used to it. I recommend the Yoga Center for people traveling alone, friends, families, couples - everyone! Very safe environment (they have a security guard at night) and a community atmosphere.

Room Tip: Casa one and two are closer to the street so they're a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandasNotRobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilYoga, Front Office Manager at Negril Yoga Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Pandas,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are happy to know you had a wonderful time.

From all of us at The Negril Yoga Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor for posting beautiful photos of one of my favorite places on earth, the Negril Yoga Centre. When I can't get to visit Negril, I look at your photos and remember the most pleasant and tranquil times at the Yoga Centre, the yoga, the delicious food, the charm of the rooms, and the most friendly and caring staff. Negril Yoga Centre is truely a paradise on earth, whose essence stays with you long after you ride the plane back home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelDavis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilYoga, Owner at Negril Yoga Centre, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We at Negril Yoga Center appreciate you being our guest and we all look forward to your speedy return to Negril to visit us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 km away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#29 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.9 km away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.6 km away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 85 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#38 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 km away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#53 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.9 km away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Yoga Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Yoga Centre

Property: Negril Yoga Centre
Address: 1 Norman Manley Blvd. Beach Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,780 - ₹ 6,270
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Negril Yoga Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Negril Yoga Centre offers our guests Sunshine & Serenity ~Jamaican Style! CELEBRATING 33 years of Excellence, offering relaxing and comfortable accommodations, in a tropical garden setting, across from the MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH in Jamaica: Negril's FAMOUS 7-Mile Beach. The Negril Yoga Centre, offers a laid-back atmosphere, and a friendly and safe haven to renew your Mind, Body, Heart and Soul. We offer daily Yoga Classes and Spa Services. Guests who are drawn to our "little oasis" are enchanted with the friendliest and most helpful staff on the island! We are like one BIG family at the Negril Yoga Centre, and our guests return year after year to see old friends and make new ones. Our legendary Jamaican Chef provides all natural, farm-to-table cuisine. We use all locally grown fruits and vegetables, create fresh juice and vegetable smoothies, homemade cheeses and so much more! Please consider staying with us on your next vacation or retreat, or simply stop by for an invigorating yoga class, a walk through the gardens, and follow it up with a wonderfully healthy, delicious meal in an outdoor, casual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Negril Yoga Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Yoga Centre Hotel Negril
Yoga Centre Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing