We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful, secluded resort with great chilled vibes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Shout Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Shout Resort
Ranked #4 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secluded resort with great chilled vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the dolphin cottages overlooking the sea. Wow what a view over the cliffs into the ocean. Hammocks, fridge to chill your beers, space to do your own thing - yep absolutely. The staff were super friendly and Plug and Jahround went the extra mile to help remove sea urchin from my husbands foot.

The sea was quite rough when we stayed so we struggled a bit getting back out up the ladders, def not for the faint hearted or kids in those conditions. But on a calmer day the snorkelling was amazing.

Breakfast was light but did the trick with plenty of great coffee. Lots of places to get lunch and dinner nearby as no food or drinks on site. The rooms are well equipped with the exception of toiletries- (none, not even any soap) - and the bed was massive and comfy though the linen could do with an update. Mosquito nets and fans help you sleep at night and we had everything we needed. All-inclusive has never been for us, don't expect that sort of vibe here.

We loved staying here soaking up the sun, seeing hummingbirds and dolphins and relaxing on the terraces with the few other guests that were staying. Close enough to seven mile beach and central Negril to visit if you want sand and easier access to the sea which we did by route taxi a few days and thoroughly enjoyed. This is a special place with a chilled traveller not a touristy vibe and we would definitely return.

Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HULLJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    28
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
117
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2015

Banana shout is owned by my friend Milo. I've known him for years from traveling and staying on the West End of Negril. Milo is Italian but after living in Jamaica for forever he is a local and staple on the West End. The Italian hospitality over flows, with food, drink and laughter. The resort is a quaint boutique style home away from home. The grounds keeper "Plug" will greet you with warm smiles and be at your service from the time you arrive! "Yardie" style Irie Vybz best describes Banana Shout. A true Jamaican experience, with the safety and sanctuary of gated resort.

Room Tip: All villas have ocean view, Dolphin is the most unobtrusive of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rootsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2015

I and my husband returned, as promised, in early February for the Bob Marley Birthday Bash and had our usual outstanding time; we saw three pods of dolphins from our front porch, watched the hummingbirds and geckos, and had a blast at the BMBB! Laura and Milo are more like family than owners, and we love you guys! We wouldn't stay anywhere else...thanks for having us! Hopefully we'll see you later this year!

Room Tip: Stay in a 'Dolphin' cottage - and you'll see dolphins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniejoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2015

My boyfriend and I visited Banana Shout for three nights in early February 2015, staying in the Tree House cottage - we were rounding off a two-week journey with a short stay at an expensive resort, and were really looking forward to all that Banana Shout would have to offer.

We had a lovely time, and the setting sure is beautiful - we got to see two dolphins swim by as we stood in the cliff gardens watching the sea; I spent some time leisurely swaying in a hammock on our private veranda with my Kindle; much Red Stripe was drunk; and it was great to have a fridge, a small cooker, and a private bathroom at our disposal. We didn't really get to snorkel because the sea was too rough, but we still enjoyed ourselves.

However, there is some room for improvement. Most importantly in my view, the Dolphin Bar - advertised on the website as serving a range of tasty-sounding foods and drinks from morning till night - was only used to serve the complementary breakfast spread (a light but perfectly nice one: toast, butter, jams, fruit); it is closed for business otherwise, which I can't deny was a disappointment on our first night there, especially as most places in the surrounding area are pretty pricey and exclusive. It would be good if the website could be amended to clarify this.

The cottages are very open with netted walls, doors and windows in places, which will make good use of any ocean breezes but simultaneously provides no buffer against traffic noise, which is quite loud in the Tree House as it sits just a few metres from a main road.

The bathroom of our cottage was wall to wall with the laundry room, the wall not going all the way to the ceiling, so it didn't quite feel private; also as with everywhere else we did not have a hot water tap - I guess this is normal in Jamaica! Nothing major but all the same a little less than what I expected for the price of the room.

All in all, however, this is a very cute resort and the owners and employees were all friendly and accommodating - I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The road noise is quite bad in the Tree House cottage; also the bathroom requires you to go outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuaSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2014

Quite simply, Banana Shout is amazing! Milo and Laura ended up being more like old friends than hosts. From heading up the Western end of the island, to beaches with no one within miles, swimming in caves, to making cookies in the outdoor kitchen at night;-)...They're just good people and I can't say enough about them, Jah Rounde, and the overall expeerience we had once we got to Negril. We stayed in the tree house and I'd recommend it. Honestly though, I'd sleep seaside in one of the lawn chairs and be content! Big Thanks to Ryan and Abby for getting us there! We're already planning a trip back...

  • Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
3.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 km away
Rockhouse Hotel
Rockhouse Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.1 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Shout Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Shout Resort

Property: Banana Shout Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril 3004, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,284 - ₹ 18,519
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Shout Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Banana Shout Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing