We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon trip!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband & I spent our honeymoon (Thanksgiving week 2011) at Sunset at the Palms. This was our first visit at the resort, and our first trip to Jamaica. We had a great time. The resort was beautiful and we enjoyed the more private tree house style accommodations as opposed to the large hotel resorts we saw along the bay. The staff were very friendly--we especially appreciated the sweet woman cooked our food at the beach grill. The beach was beautiful and we were satisfied with the activities that we were able to coordinate through the resort (though all activities that required transportation outside the resort had an additional cost, it was fairly reasonable). Our room was very clean and we enjoyed the day bed on the porch. It was a very relaxing visit, we never felt invaded by the other guests and had our own privacy--rare at the larger resorts.

There were a few things that were a bit of a let down at first, however we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else given all the positives:

1. THE BEACH
When we first arrived at the resort the sun was going down, so we headed to the beach. It wasn't what I was expecting--the beach is narrow with unkempt vegetation along the edge. The water was also very calm and given the time of day, the color of the water looked kind of like a lake. The next day the warm, crystal clear water redeemed itself, but don't expect flawless, white powder sand beaches or spectacular waves. Another warning about the beach is that we were approached within 30 seconds of setting foot on the beach for the first time by a local resident selling pot. We were worried we would be hassled the whole trip, but they leave you alone after your first day. BIG RELIEF!

2. THE FOOD/BEVERAGES
There were only two restaurants for dinner, excluding the beach grill (one of which required reservations and was only open every other day). I'm a foodie, so I was a little disappointed that we had buffet style meals for the majority of the trip. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. There also wasn't a huge selection of alcohol and the quality wasn't great. Though the beverages were all-inclusive, we didn't drink that much because the taste was poor. The espresso bar was also lacking, I'm not sure if it was the quality of the ingredients or if the staff just didn't know how to properly make the coffee.

3. THE ROOM
We loved the modern style of the room, and as I mentioned we wouldn't have traded the more private tree-house for one of the more "luxury" resorts that are essentially a massive hotel. It was so nice to have our own little oasis (which is truly what we called it--hearing the birds and bugs outside, waking up to the breeze going through the palm trees, etc.). The bed was comfortable (don't expect it to be like a Hilton bed, though) and the bathroom was nice. We did have a cock roach in our room on day two, my husband scared it towards the door but it went into a crack near the baseboard. Normally that would have freaked me out a lot, but given the natural atmosphere of the resort, it happens. Keep your bags closed when you aren't using them! We did have quite a few bug bites by the end of the trip as others have mentioned, but I think it mainly happened when we'd go to dinner at night. One other issue is that the room gets very dark at night & the lighting is terrible. That made it difficult to clean up and get ready for a nice dinner, but the resort is very casual and low key so I stopped worrying about it too much.The restaurants also had very little lighting, so no one could tell if I needed to pluck my eyebrows anyway, ha! The AC in the room was sufficient & we never woke up in the night too hot, but as soon as you shower you kind of feel a little sticky. I joked during the trip that we were "glamping," which was slightly dramatic but not too far of a stretch. As I said, we loved our relaxing, beach trip and wouldn't have traded it for a more uptight, crowded, "luxury" resort.

Thank you Sunset at the Palms for a great honeymoon! Hope to see you again for an anniversary trip sometime!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    554
    132
    61
    23
See reviews for
172
1,884
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just got back from Sunset at the palms and it was great ....... Rooms very nice .... Food was always very good but usually the same , jerk chicken and pork , fish and rice, best soups .... coconut pumpkin soup and red pea soup ...... but tasty ;) ..... Drinks were plenty and variety except no Red Stripe light to be found ..... Quiet resort ..... I brought my tunes so I was ok ..... Servers Shemoy, Kevar, Melissa, Craig and definitely Shannon were there to keep us smiling at all times .... Desmond the security guard was a big teddy bear ..... Go back in a snap..... Rick's Cafe is fifteen minutes away and entertaining with cliff diving .... pool and the sunset was awesome. Beach was white sand and great ..... vendors sort of annoying but Desmond turns into a tiger if you need them to back off .... Ian took care of the pool and us for two weeks and he made our trip perfect ..... Big Thank You to all the staff... Omar keep singing Big Guy ;)

Room Tip: 600s are loud at night because of road and the huge Rui across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fergus ontario canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our first visit to SATP, feb 23-mar 1...last year we went to Breezes Negril..thought nothing could top it..well we have a new love! This experience was exactly what we had chosen. We wanted a new and different experience, no beach front, emmersed in foliage, trees, bamboo, flora...very serene. We arrived at tree house 604..which we had read was terrible! Yes, the road is beside the room, however...after one night it didn't bother us...we had requested a new room for the following day, but chose to stay put due to the privacy this room gave us..no one could see our deck or room!! Yep, romantic privacy :) we brought candles and lite our deck every night....and even slept on the daybed one night. The food was very good, a little too safe for me, I've come to like the flavour of the island :) Staff was helpful and polite, but we always seemed to beat them to the coffee station each morning ;) Beach grill for lunch is a must!!! Carlina is a love and a fab Q'er. The guys at the bar are fast and nice :0 Call out to Tion and Klevan (?) they are becoming masters of the juggling stixs! Randy at the beach is wonderful, always happy to see you and happy to answer any questions......Our BEST discover of the trip was RANDY -owner of John Wayne Tours- he is found outside the gate happily waiting to give to the time of your life!!! Our excursion to YS Falls was the best $$ spent, but 9 hours of wow!!! The falls are worth the 120 minutes to get there.....we stopped a the Peter Tosh birthday bash on our way...about 400 rastafarians and....us! What a hoot! Safe, fun, spectacular....this was my partners best day ever!
The falls are beyond words.....breath taking.....we left the falls and Randy took us for lunch. There on the side of the road and old gas staion like hut, 3 odd chairs, 1 table...and outdoor fire and 6-7 pots of unknown treasures...we all had the curried goat, rice & beans, fried plantains, yam and 2 red strip! $20...and a hell of a feast! The chef proudly showed me his kitchen :) we headed the long way home...tour thru Bamboo ave...thru one hell of a thunderstorm to top it all off!!!!! Oh, I forgot the pepper shrimp ladies on the side of the road...must do!!!!!
We went touring with Randy again 2 nights later, and whaile everyone else was at Ricks Cafe...we were watching the most beautiful sunset from the lighthhouse...yep just the 3 of us... and we could see Ricks from our spot thinking..if they only knew!!! Randy took us, and a another couple we picked up at Ricks, Cheryl & Randy:), and headed to the 3 Dives cafe for dinner...and what a dinner!!!!! 1 1/2 lobster for us and jerk chicken to die for...Randy had goat again, lol!!!
We saw Randy everyday and he MADE our vacation that much better...check him out if you are heading down....wonderful person.......
I'm not a nick-picker so little tings like sandfleas or ants or mosqitoes aren't worth a mention- common sense folks. We "lost" a pair of boots, hoodie,juggling stixs,thermal mug,broke another Ipod.......and recived a PRICELESS vacation......
Next year will be staying at a locally owner resort as Randy showed us some excellent options for a real Jamaican vacation again next year!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignace
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This review is probabably as much about Jamaica as it is the hotel. It was a first ever for all inclusive and I would never do one anywhere again. Although the hotel had some of the nicest grounds and vegetation it lacked severly in other areas. The food servede was pretty much the same day in and day out. There was never once any seafood sevrved. All food was horribly overcooked and or sat in steam tables to long.The selection of fruit was limited and salads left much to be desired. Deserts were about 95% 'boxed'. I was also turned off by the fact that tipping was so common that service was affected by if you tipped or not, so much for tips included in the all inclusive package.Our room was not bad but there were complaints of lack of hot water and some traffic noise by a few people. Hot water however was an issue as a small tank was shared between two cabins which did a very high chance of running out,since they were electric heaters. The rest is probably about Jamaica itself being a very expensive place to go. There is no vaue for your dollar anywhere. The cost to go anywhere except your own hotel came from your pocket. You would think that the hotel would at least run a shuttle or bus a few times a day or even at least a few times aweek to go 12 miles downtown and shop. If you wanted to go any place it cost a private cab ride every time. I would guess if you wanted to sit at your beach chair and sit in your room it may not be to bad but any body with a sense of adventure or curiosity should really investigate what you will get in a place like this. It is such a beautiful looking resort with very helpful and friendly staff but that does make up for the food selection and lack of hotel involed activities that other places have. I must also say that on the last night there at the beach bbq. there was bonfire put on by the hotel and I completely appalled by the fact that they were burning used pallets, nails and all, right on the beach. This was absolutely the last straw for us. It only added to my disgust with how dirty this island is how careless the people seem to be. Also, the big deal about Rick's Cafe is a waste of time and money. It was way overpriced and I have never a sad sunset like this in Ontario. I think that our sunsets here are at least 100 times what I seen there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was our first time in Jamaica and we could not have picked a better resort.
It is 10 out of 10 in every catorgory except the staff, they are 12 out of 10.
The grounds are a credit to Shorty and his crew, absolutely stunning.
Although all the staff were great, my wife and i have a special connection with Kenroy,
Shamoy and Chantea.
It is definately the Jamaican people that make this Island so wonderful.
We will most surely be back soon.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neilm3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
8.2 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,320 reviews
3.9 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
1.1 km away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 81 in Negril
5,530 reviews
1.2 km away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 81 in Negril
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,533 - ₹ 32,798
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing