We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon at Couples Negril”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon at Couples Negril”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We celebrated our honeymoon at Couples Negril and hope to return in the future. The property, beachfront and the water were so beautiful. There were plenty of beach loungers and shade, and the service staff took drink orders right from the beach. The Couples restaurants served excellent food -- our favorites were the Cassava Terrace and Otaheite.

We enjoyed the water activities, including the paddle boats and water skiing. For live musical entertainment, there was a solo singer/guitar player (can't remember his name) and a steel drum band called Silver Birds Steel Ochestra -- both were very talented. We had heard of the Silver Birds before coming to Jamaica, so we were so pleasantly surprised to see them.

We had booked a garden room, and liked the fact the furnishings were simple but colorful. We don't care much for extravagance. We were given a room facing the tennis courts and road, and it was very noisy and not very romantic. For the price we paid, we were very disappointed and asked to be moved to another room. The staff moved us the next day to a room close to the beach. We received a honeymoon package that included bottle of champagne and massage, but we never received the champagne and the staff never acknowledged our honeymoon. This didn't bother us though as the staff were very nice and friendly.

We also booked the second part of our honeymoon at Couples Sans Souci. The Couples Negril staff informed us that the transfer would be direct, with no stops. We were very disappointed when, midway through the ride, the driver received a call from Couples Negril to make a stop at the airport. While on the road to Sans Souci, the driver made another unexpected stop to drop off a package to 2 people waiting on the road side. This was apparently pre-arranged. This was the major downside of our stay with Couples Negril as they should have been more professional and upfront about the transfer -- we would have arranged for our own private transfer if we had known. We still had a great time at Couples Negril and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the tennis courts and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank destinytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,824
    972
    247
    129
    41
See reviews for
49
3,235
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I go on 2 all inclusive trips a year we have stayed at Sandals Negril, Sandals, Whilehouse, Excellence Cancun, Sun Palace Cancun, Secrets Maroma and Sandals Cuba, Couples swept away. We loved CN and would love to go back – I have included some points that I hope are useful to you
Rooms - We always book the entry level room our room was great – partial ocean view, clean and comfy with a bath with shower overhead (much nicer then Sandals Negril but does not compare to the rooms in Mexico) but this is Jamaica…. laid back charm…. We only saw breakfast room service option and this had limited options.
Staff - friendly, welcoming – fantastic!- we did not tip as this is Couples policy and everyone went out of their way to ensure that our expectation were exceeded. Sandals did not come close here , Secrets Maroma compared but here we were tipping
Beach – lovely (situated on Bloody bay, lots of trees, always amble space available even at 98% occupancy levels, could go for long walks in each direction, not private (not an issue for us – we liked hearing local musicians playing, (rem to tip them a few dollars if you like them ) they were never intrusive but always respectful ). Great that each chair comes with a float for the pool or sea. Beach at CSA was nicer as the sand was whiter the beach longer and full of palm trees.
Food – only Buffet breakfast and lunch option 3-4 great al la carte options for dinner ( 1 requires reservations *reserve a.s.a.p. on arrival* men need shirts, trousers, closed shoes) Food at dinner was excellent. Buffets were good (loved the achee) ,you could always find something that you really enjoyed, selection not as good as at Secrets Maroma buffet breakfast as the selection was limited in comparison. Food at Sandals Whitehouse and Couples Swept away was better as more al la carte dining options for all means (I’m not a buffet person and prefer eating quality healthy meals unless the (unhealthy stuff is well worth it ). Note - only 2 dinner restaurants are inside – lovely to eat in tropical surroundings but it was rather hot and humid
Drinks – cocktails , great selection made with puree, fresh fruit options very limited. You need to specify if you want Brand names – grey goose only available in the evening (Martini Bar). Whatever you want just ask for it.
No bottled water
Best wine in the all inclusive package that I have experienced (Merlot was very good)
Mini bar stocked with Pepsi (no coke) , ginger ale, tonic water, club soda (tastes like sparkling mineral water not soda water) OJ, …..other options available including a bottles of house wine, vodka…..
Resort –rustic, charming and compact (centred around a large pool), the feel is laid back and friendly, (you will make friends with the staff and other guests if you with to ), if you want a marble new, grand resort you will not be happy in this respect.
Service – service was great – sometimes a little slow but this is not London you are in Jamaica… not an issue when you do not have anywhere to rush off to and everyone is happy and relaxed.
Room was not cleaned until after 3pm each day but this depends on your room number – a minor issue for us however we did not ask for this to be changed
Turndown service was consistent and met expectations
Flag service for drinks by the beach or pool – great
Service in the restaurants –– we did need to ask for our wine to be topped up a few times other than that - great
Entertainment – we only stayed up a few nights, the beach party, movie on the beach and steel band were great. Karaoke a little lame– thought the night entertainment at Secrets Maroma was better
Enjoyed participating in daily volyball
Cost – we booked as part of the secret rendezvous - worked out to £85pp a night excluding flights we thought this was exceptional value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank bronwynLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just returned from Couples Resort in Negril. The worst part of the trip was the transfer to/from airport. The local drivers are a bit aggressive. The resort was nice. The beach was wonderful... Plenty of chairs and floats. The food was average. I had hoped for more "local" flavor but the American dishes were better than the jamaican dishes. Overall it was a relaxing vacation with NO children.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kylesmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I vacationed at Couples Negril from 6/1-6/6 to attend a wedding. Here are the details...

Arrival: After about a 1.5hr drive to CN we were warmly greeted with chilled towels and champagne. Perfect after a long day of traveling! Check in was a breeze and despite our early check in of 1pm our room was ready.

Room: We opted for a Deluxe Garden. It was clean, comfortable and roomy. You are provided a large amount of shampoo/conditioner, body wash and body lotion(pump dispensers) so no need to bring those if you don't want. A/C was nice, one word of caution though. One day we left it on after turning it down to 18degrees and came back to some condensation on the table and floor below so be careful. Usually it was more than enough to leave the fan on overhead and the room was chilled nicely. Housekeeping was a hit or miss on the times they came by but always thorough in cleaning and restocking towels. We utilized the room safe everyday, electronic and easy to use. The bed was very comfy and in between hard & soft. We were in building 4 which is near the tennis courts and nurse station. It was not far from everything but we'd probably ask to stay in building 7 next time after seeing our friends' room and the location of it to the pool & beach.

Food: Delicious!! Every place we went had great food choices and we never left hungry. Cassava Terrace has a nice breakfast buffet, omelette station and fresh coconut juice & smoothie bar. It seemed every other night they did a dinner buffet or a la carte dining. Beach Grill & Heliconia were delicious as well. Never had a chance to eat at Lychee or Otaheite. Get the snapper sandwich or jerk chicken at the Beach Grill, so yummy!! I can't get over how good the food was at CN, you will love it! And it's not all "vacation food", there are plenty of healthy options too. Drinks that we ordered and loved were the rum punch, BBC, mojitos, bloody mary's and monkey brain shot.

Beach: Wow, absolutely pristine beach. Soft, white sand and crystal clear teal waters. One day I walked north of CN and found the other resorts didn't clean and rake the beach as well as CN does. We never had an issue finding a beach chair and there are plenty of areas with shade. WiFi also on the beach. I loved floating for hours during the day. The water is definitely more calm in the morning/early afternoon hours. A simple "no thank you" was all you needed for vendors. Definitely don't say "maybe later" unless you mean it because they will ask you when. I loved the guitar guy who serenades everyone and the guy selling cigarettes, I miss hearing them both! Red flag service was awesome, never waited longer than 10 minutes for a drink. There's even a beverage hut with fountain sodas and liquor for your convenience.

Activities: There always seems to be something going on but you're never pressured to join in. We did the auction 2 times with funny money, really fun. We snorkeled one time during the day, takes less than 1hr total time which is perfect. Wanted to night snorkel but it was booked for the night we wanted.

Pool: Swim up bar was great. I did notice the slight smell on one side of it but it wasn't overpowering. We usually had a late night dip to cool off and it was quite refreshing.

Gift Shop: Lots of souvenir choices to bring back. We did take a trip to the Hi Lo market and found the rum cream and blue mountain coffee to be cheaper and more of a selection on flavor for rum cream, worth the trip for us. We also had some resort credits too so we bought photo albums, wood carvings, rum cake and some rum in the gift shop.

Service: All of the staff here truly make you feel like a special guest. Every request is answered with "no problem mon." It was so nice to not worry about tipping and we never saw any going on. We did leave little treats for housekeeping with a little note of thanks.

Overall we had such a wonderful time here. Now I know why there are so many repeat guests here. I would highly recommend this resort to friends and family. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jen4637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've been here four times and absolutely love it. Its clean and you instantly feel "on vacation" once you arrive. I usually go in March or November.

I joined the Romance Rewards program which I I found to be so nice, as you get little gifts and upgrades depending on the level.

I could live at the pool bar. We had dirty monkey frozen drinks every morning at 9:30, which is the best way to start your day.

The long beach is perhaps my favorite part of the experience. Its so long and you can walk all the way down and really get a good workout in while looking at the beautiful view.

The ride to the resort is not my favorite, but there is no way around it unless you pay $$ for the puddlejumpers which I dont think is worth it.

I've tried Swept Away, too, but I think Couples Negril is my favorite. The pool is central and you can get a good feel of changing day into night etc. Swept Away is a little quieter.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alock115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
7.7 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.5 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
5,076 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 85 in Negril
2,182 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
134.1 km away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,736 - ₹ 35,691
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing