We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Blue Cave Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Cave Castle
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was the perfect place to begin our vacation in the West End. It gets the irie vibe going right away. Great little setting and property, very quaint and safe. Good food, great views and laid back people. The security staff really cares about your well being and safety. Great value. Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TIMMMAAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Blue Cave Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

our third time at B.C.C.we love it. Petrona is a wonderful person and we also appreciate Susan

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank origianlspanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our first stay in Jamaica not doing Sandals/Beaches all-inclusive. We had done a few tours off property before and thought we might like to try a different type of vacation while on our favorite island in the world. We were not positive though, so we did a split stay with spending five nights at Sandal's Whitehouse and four nights at Blue Cave Castle. Sandal's Whitehouse was absolutely incredible and we were a little nervous about our decision to split our stay since we knew that Blue Cave Castle was not going to be as polished and that we were going to be on our own for getting food, drinks, etc. We spent two nights in the lower tower room (room #5) and two nights in the rooms off of the castle (superior #9) from 02/18/12 through 02/22/12.

Arrival: We got to BCC at about 4:00 or 4:30 p.m. or so. Our room was ready and we were escorted to our room with help with our luggage. We were not rushed to go check-in and even laid down to relax for a while and get settled in before wandering up to the office to find out about the check-in procedure. As a matter of fact, I don't think that we ended up officially checking in until a couple of days into our trip. They just said to get them the information some time before our checkout. LOL After checking out our room, we walked around the small property a bit and enjoyed the pretty manicured grounds and the beautiful cliff-side views.

Lower tower room: This room is the lower section of the tower jutting out over the cliffs right in the front of the main castle. This is a very very basic room and as long as you know that going in, you should be fine. The room is small for two, but we really had no problems. Just expect to be cozy with whoever you are staying with if there is more than one person in this room. There is no air conditioning. There is no TV. There is a fairly comfy bed and the wind whips through the room causing a wonderful breeze throughout the small room. We did not find that we needed any air conditioning here with the breeze off of the ocean as long as we had all of our windows open to allow for the air to flow through. The bathroom is tiny, but serves its purpose. The water pressure was not the greatest, but it worked fine. There was some soap and two sets of towels in the bathroom that were a bit older, but worked just fine. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. We loved the sound of the waves crashing up against the tower, especially at night. I am not sure if this would be as comfortable in the summer, but it was perfectly fine in February and was a really cool different ambience. The staff here even put cute towel and flower art on the bed here both nights with housekeeping services. The views through the wood-slot windows were breathtaking right out into the ocean. There is a pretty big shared balcony off of the room, but we were always the only ones out here. We had a few meals here through Teddy's Hideaway, which is located on property and has absolutely delicious food.

Superior Room #9: This room was in the section of rooms off of the main castle. This room is located closest to the coffee station on the property. It is the room farthest to the right as you face the building looking at the three rooms that face the ocean. The order of the rooms from the left is room #11 (biggest patio on the corner with lots of sun), #10 (right in the middle with great view and a bit smaller patio), and then #9 (little smaller patio with more shade most of the day). There are other rooms, but from what we observed and from what others who are repeat guests have said, these are the best three over here. (We also heard great things about the penthouse suite in the castle [lots of steps, huge, beautiful views] and room #8 at the castle [air conditioned and private patio].) Superior #9 has great air conditioning, a TV, beautiful flooring, lots of pretty hanging rugs and woodwork, a small but cute bathroom, a large wardrobe, and a beautiful ocean and courtyard view. The room was very clean and cheerful.

Courtyard: Quaint, friendly, almost communal type of area. The grounds are manicured beautifully and there are different types of trees and landscaping that are really cool. With this being such a small property, there is no learning curve for finding your way around. You are comfortable with the layout almost immediately. There are plenty of chairs set out for sunning and there was never a problem here like at bigger resorts with chair saving or any of that nonsense. When someone was out using a seat, they were out using a seat; when they were not, the chair was empty -- such a simple concept. LOL. Although I did not see this advertised as an adults-only hotel, I did not see any children and, from the reviews I read, I don't think that children frequent the property. The cliffs just would not be safe for children anyway and I think that kiddos would get bored here. We would not bring our boys here (ages 6 and 11). There is a very calm relaxed vibe to the whole place. People especially gathered in the morning or early afternoon and enjoyed the free Blue Mountain Coffee and nice conversations amongst themselves or with other guests and staff and again at sunset. You could order breakfast or dinner and have it delivered anywhere on property (the restaurant, your room, your patio or balcony, or any of the many tables or seats here) from Teddy's Hideaway. The staff would take your order, bring it to you, collect the money, and return your change. Even more lavish hotels do not usually include seat-side service for meals and drinks like they do here. This was an awesome feature of this hotel (more on that later under food)! I am also trying to get TripAdvisor to add Teddy's Hideaway to the restaurants section and I'm waiting to hear back on this.

From the courtyard to the ocean: You can access the ocean from three spots on property without having to jump in (four from the penthouse, I believe). You can go directly into a cave located at the bottom of the steps from an entrance in the middle of the courtyard. There is a chain in front of the cave, but that does not mean you cannot go down. I saw others complain about it being chained up, but I asked and you just step over and go on down. Very neat!!! Susan, the owner, even turned on an extra light for us to see better one night when we wanted to venture down and check it out. You can also go down some steps built right into the cliff side at two points with one being through a fence in the castle and one being right center stage towards the ocean in the courtyard. The one off of castle has a couple of seats built in so you can sit down there in relative privacy and enjoy the views and/or waves or you can climb down the ladder or jump off and take a swim. We actually sat down here just mesmerized by the waves crashing for hours one day in total peace. The one off of the front of the courtyard has steps down to another ladder. We seen quite a few crabs sunning on the rock here, but they scurry off quickly when they know you are coming. We would just sit quietly and wait for them to come back up and they always seemed to. You can also jump in from a few different levels into this area. There is the area right at the ladder, one up a few feet from that, and then the ledge surrounding BCC.

The ocean: We never actually got brave enough to jump, but there were lots of people jumping as well as lots of people swimming, snorkeling, and anchoring rafts to the ladders and just laying out there on the ocean. The hubby went in at the entrance point through the castle and down the steps, but he said he didn't know if I would be comfortable swimming here. I can swim fairly well, but I am not a distance or endurance swimmer by any means. So, I got kind of nervous to try that day. Unfortunately, when I was willing to try after that, I did not get the chance. The water got choppy, one ladder came up, and I was not attempting my first try in anything but calm waters. Oh well, next time.

Food: The hotel has an onsite restaurant that is second to none. Teddy's Hideaway is a delicious option here for breakfast or dinner and, like I stated above, you can have your food delivered anywhere on property that you want. (You would need to have a butler level room at a Sandals property to have that). Kerry was our waitress every morning and she did a super job running her butt off around the property delivery breakfast, drinks, etc. She was always pleasant and even came up and gave me a hug before we left, which was awesome. Great lady! Breakfast was anywhere from traditional Jamaican to traditional American with eggs any way you want and delicious bacon (had sausage too, but we never had this) to yummy pancakes done Teddy style. I heard that it was kind of expensive, but it only cost us between $15 through $20 for breakfast each morning plus tip and we did not think that was much at all for the whole ambience of it. As the perfect breakfast beverage, you have to buy a bottle of fresh-made orange juice from Millie. This was by far the best OJ I have ever tasted in my life. I was only wishing I could bring some back with me. Millie was usually around the resort in the morning just relaxing and selling her delicious juice along with other fresh fruit. This was the only place we had breakfast just because it was so super convenient and tasty with no effort, beautiful views, great free coffee, service wherever you wanted, and relaxed chill morning. For lunch, we tried a few places in the area that were recommended on the boards and were very good. The one day that we wanted to go check out 7-mile, we stopped at the Canoe Beach Bar and Grill near the end of the West End for a couple of drinks and some lunch (see that review) and this was delicious and reasonably priced. Walking to downtown was doable, but the road was not fun in some spots. Would I walk it again? Yep! Three Dives the other way up the road was also very good for a late lunch early dinner and we had no wait at that time (see that review). We walked to 3 Dives with no problem. Dinner was also excellent at Teddy's Hideaway. They serve lobster, steak, pasta, etc. Everything we had was delicious and was always served wherever we felt like eating. We had dinner one night made by the cook across the street from the BCC (right outside the No Limit Bar) and enjoyed drinks in the bar while we waited (see that review). You can also walk across the street to L&M Grocery to pick up sodas, juice, snacks, or just about anything else you might want. Pewee's next store serves food as do many other places near here. You have plenty of options.

Internet Service: Internet connection was poor in the rooms and parts of the courtyard, but there is a little covered section in the courtyard that had good service. Just go to this section of the courtyard if you need to have a connection.
]
Walking the roads along the cliffs: Yep, it is scary when you first do it. The traffic is very close to you and the buildings are right up to the roads and there are really no sidewalks. It gets a little easier after a bit, but I would not recommend going far after dark. There are lots of neat places nearby to explore if you don't want to go far, but we walked the roads quite a bit during the day while we were here and were fine with it in most spots. Tip: Print out a Negril Cliffs map and take that along with you for exploring the surrounding area. Know some places you want to go and then see where you are on any given day. If you are close to something you thought you might like to check out, do it. If not, don't worry, be happy, and try something else in that area.

Overall, we loved this place and the very friendly vibe from the staff and other guests that were staying here. We would definitely recommend this place to others and would not hesitate to go back ourselves. I preferred the rooms off the castle and my husband really liked the tower room. Just look at their website and see what type of room fits your wants and needs before you get there and you should be good to go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have been going to Negril for 15 years. For 13 of those years I have been staying at Blue Cave Castle. So relaxing waking up to the view of the amazing carribean sea and watching the beautiful sunsets off the cliffs of Negril. The ambience is exceptional. You feel like royalty there. It's a five minute drive to the 7 mile beach. We sometimes walk the distance. The staff is very cordial and help you with anything you may need. The food is exceptional. Petrona does an execellent job as manager. Susan is a very personable director.We keep saying that we will take a break from Negril and venture out to other exotic places, but we cannot tear ourselves away from the Blue Cave Castle and it's wonderful surroundings. Great restrauants, water falls, glass bottom boat trips, sunset boat cruises, hiking and wonderful art work from many local artists.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

One of the most uniquely beautiful and quaint spots in the West End of Negril, the Blue Cave Castle and staff have been hosting me on and off since it was built - for the past 25 years or so. To my amazement, the place just keeps getting better and better - with free amenities like WiFi service, and unlimited delicious Blue Mountain Coffee every morning, the ambiance of the grounds are that of a home away from home for me. Stays are always filled with friendly conversations with world travelers in the lovely yard overlooking the turquoise Sea, or you can certainly keep to yourselves and enjoy the tranquility and privacy of the place. There is excellent swimming and decent snorkeling right from the sea accesses dramatically carved out of the cliffs, exquisitely prepared meals from Teddy (the resident chef) and his friendly staff delivered right to your table in the yard (or to your room), and gorgeous full views of those stunning Jamaican sunsets as they drop into the horizon... With a great website reservation tool showing the availability of each room by the day (and each room has its unique charms!), and Manager Petrona's always prompt and polite responses to any inquiry, this place is a gem of a find. While it's slightly rustic charm might not be everyone's cup of tea, if you like this place, you will LOVE it and almost surely join the ranks of the "BCC Family" of us who come back at every opportunity. And don't let the reasonable prices give you pause - they are only a reflection of (Owner) Susan's lack of greed and her desire to keep the place more full than empty (Bless her heart!!). Believe me, from one who has stayed in a number of places in Negril over the past past 30 years (only when the Castle is filled!!), this place is - as the website says - one of the best kept secrets of the Caribbean! Hope to see you there!!

Room Tip: All rooms have their unique charm, but those with a water view are especially great.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrewPieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.2 km away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#59 of 80 in Negril
141 reviews
2.0 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
0.3 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#32 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
0.2 km away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
347 reviews
0.6 km away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#35 of 80 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: ₹ 3,894 - ₹ 6,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing