We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may be the most perfect place we've ever stayed!”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We love Xtabi! We stayed in cottage #8 - which I would pick again in a heartbeat. It has a fantastic partial view from a veranda that we spent a lot of time on. I couldn't believe how quiet it was here- except for the background reggae music coming from the bar, which we enjoyed. It really is worth the extra money over a garden room. Basically, you have arrived at your destination. It is gorgeous. This place is rustic and feels like Jamiaca. We loved the outdoor shower. It was very spacious and clean. The tall ceilings make it feel even roomier. The huge ceiling fan keeps the tempurature very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and super friendly. We would walk down the stairs and jump off the cliffs or enter the beautiful warm sea through one of the caves. We snorkelled (watch out for jelly fish!) and swam and watched beautiful sunsets. Once or twice a day a tour bus would stop through. They don't stay too long - and other than those times, we hardly even saw anybody. There is no TV and no telephone and we feel like we truly escaped to paradise. Next time we come to Negril, we will spend more time at Xtabi and less time at the beach - never thought I would say that.

Room Tip: upgrade to a seaside cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

I eneded up finding a very last minute super deal on a flight, which left me only one day to find a room! As I travel to Negril several times a year I sent out emails and researched any rooms available last minute. I recieved a quick response from Donna at Xtabi and worked out a deal quickly easily. Room: spaciuos wood finished room was more than expected, with one of the most comfortable matresses i have experianced in Jamaica, the shower had lots of presure and there was always hot water! Cold AC, a really powerful ceiling fan and cable tv, what more could you want. There is a pool onsight and one of the best sea access on the westend for swimming and snorklling. I had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant a few time and the food was good and the servive was excellent. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return. The only thing i can find negative, is the drink prices,they are a on the high side, but i guess that has to do with the view that comes with them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poolguywindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Thank you once again to the staff and management of Xtabi Resort. We once again chose Xtabi for the second time as a stop over place on our way through Negril. We stayed in Cottage #8 - the second floor of #7. The cottage is quaint and we love the outdoor shower. Always clean, well cared for, no phone, no TV and the perfect place for some rest and relaxation.
We once again enjoyed exploring the caves. The view is wonderful and the sunsets rival other popular locations.
We will be back on our next time in Negril. A wonderful place! It really is a 'place of the Gods'.

Room Tip: We like staying on the cliff side - have always had Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Fabulous view, but the food is not even mediocre...

I took a friend here as a "thank you" treat and was embarrassed by how bad both the service and the food were. The night we were there, the youngish staff was much more consumed with chatting amongst themselves than waiting on the customers.

Comments to the waiter that the food was less than expected were met with a shoulder shrug. I wouldn't return and would not recommend the restaurant to anyone else... unless you just stop in for a drink and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Clearingcustoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Xtabi exploits Jamaican-style charm with it's rustic cottages which enables you to feel the atmosphere and vibe of the island. If you prefer to stay in 5-star resorts when you travel, then this place is not for you. But if you like to submerge yourself in the culture of the places you travel, then this resort should be on the top of your list for Negril.

We stayed in cottage #1, which was the most prodigious of all the cottages. The views from the cottage were unobstructed and spectacular. I don't think I've ever seen such beautiful sunsets (well, besides Cafe Del Mar in Ibiza). You also hear the ocean at night when you sleep, it was quite tranquil.

Across the street is 'Just Natural' and they have delectable organic Jamaican cuisine at very cheap prices.

All-in-all, I'll definitely be returning to Negril at some point and opt to stay at Xtabi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 81 in Negril
1,398 reviews
1.1 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
4.7 km away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#35 of 81 in Negril
241 reviews
3.1 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: ₹ 3,889 - ₹ 7,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtabi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing