We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My husband surprised me with this trip...”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My husband surprised me with this trip...”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband surprised me with this trip for our 16th wedding anniversary. He told me on the flight that he wasn't excited about going to Jamaica, but was excited about where we were staying. This place is amazing! We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed another night or two easily! He was a little afraid that we might get bored since it's so laid back, but we didn't at all. It was so beautiful and peaceful. Morning swims, afternoon naps, amazingly delicious (and inexpensive meals, $40 max dinner bill.) incredibly friendly staff, fun and relaxing happy hour by the pool. This place was perfect in every way. We aren't the type for big crowds and we enjoy feeling more secluded. This place was perfect for us and would recommend it to anyone needing a nice and relaxing vacation. We never left the property the entire time, nor did we ever feel the need to. This place has everything you could want or need.
Although this is not an all-inclusive place, anything ordered or purchased was just signed for and put our room bill. We then paid in full at the end of our stay. This was very convenient to not have to worry about carrying anything with you.
My husband can't sleep without a television but did fine. He actually admitted to never missing it! Internet worked fine in our villa and on our porch. The villa had air conditioning but we froze the first night because we left it on. We learned to turn it on when we came in for the night and then turn it off just before bed. The fan over the bed was all we needed at that point.
One review mentioned the ladder and deep water to be a little intimidating. I am not a strong swimmer and I do get paranoid in deep ocean water, but never felt that here. Most coral was far enough away that unless you chose to swim that closely, you would not find yourself scratched up or trapped over any. The water was very calm and clear. It was just beautiful!
Please go here! You will not be disappointed with anything! It's such an amazing place. We're already saving up for our next trip back!
Oh and Kenny's cab is great to take to and from the airport! We didn't do an excursion this trip but plan to the next time. They'll pick you up from your ladder. Yes, pretty amazing!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr2dux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    185
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
635
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Love this hotel. It is called boutique and you will find it in many International write-ups as a must see. Can even be found in book, "1,000 places to see before you die"
Aside from the fact that I have to stay in the budge standard and premium rooms priced at 150-200, the grounds are what you pay for. The room is still very nice, clean. Shower has outdoor feel. With the a/c and good bed, you sleep great. One down side is if there is a wedding, it affects those rooms. But the wedding noise stops at 11:30, so it is bearable. If you want to go on a budget and not feel dissappointed with the food, you must come here. Awesome gourmet cook never ceases to please!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrynTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Couldn't pick a better place to have stayed in Negril...off the beach (a short taxi ride), very kind staff- just fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToGo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I absolutely loved Rockhouse Hotel. Everything was so beautiful and the staff made me feel so welcome. I also absolutely loved the spa and enjoyed my wonderful outdoor Swedish massage thanks to Joy!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Rockhouse is the most charming and serene hotel that i have stayed at in Jamaica. I have stayed at the rockhouse more than 5 times and am looking forward to many more. The service there is warm and welcoming, the food is to die for!! , and just the overall appearance is very appealing. This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy nature and the natural beauty it has to offer..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle_Sukhram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.7 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.2 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,080 - ₹ 21,008
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing