We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockhouse is an oasis of relaxation with a great vibe, tasty food, friendly service and stunning scenery”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Set on some low cliffs just to the north of Negril, the setting is exactly what one imagines paradise to be. Our room was on a cliff with its own private patio overlooking the sea. A few steps down the ladder and we were swimming!

Friendly staff (most of whom seem to have been with the hotel for 5+ years) – this is very unusual for Jamaica where service is at best curt.

Spa is of 5* US hotel quality. The massage outside in the cabana over the sea is the ultimate treat: While you are expertly massaged you hear the waves lapping the rocks below, instead of the repetitive “bird tweeting/fake waterfall” tapes that most spas use.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikechf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 605 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was there with my husband and on our 2nd day there on my way to the pool (1st official day of vacation) a man attacked me, grabbed pushed me, and continued yelling at me. I was yelling help and looked around and saw that the staff just watched and no one came to help me. My husband had not come outside yet so he did not know. I was so scared and just ran back to my room. The staff did nothing to help me. They talked to the man and they said he thought I was someone else. But that didn't matter b/c no staff tried to help me. We went to the police and filed a report and moved to a different resort. The rest of our vacation I was sad and anxious. Just awful vacation. We will never go back to Rockhouse b/c I was not safe and so scared and the staff just watched like it was a show or something. No one tried to intervene while I was screaming for help. As a foreigner you expect that the hotel has security in place for bad incidences. There was an apperance of security but no one moved. It was horrifying.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
24  Thank BrMabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte_WallaceGM, General Manager at Rockhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

I am Charlotte Wallace, General Manager at Rockhouse Hotel, Negril, Jamaica since June 2006. I have done a thorough review of our records and cannot find any evidence of this incident occurring at our property. My review included discussions with our entire management team, research of our Security records, checking with the local police station which was unable to find a record of this report which the reviewer said was made there and the interviewing of our staff, none of whom have any recollection of this incident. We have also reached out directly to the writer of this review and have not heard back with further details.
We take security very seriously at Rockhouse and have an extensively-trained security team stationed around the clock on property and we are so stunned by this report that we question the credibility of the incident in particular because no one here has any knowledge of it.
Regards,
Charlotte Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We love this place, the view is expectacular, the service is very good. I recomend this place only for couples.

Its a most do at Negril

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmertweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I went to the Rock House in March 2012 with 2 friends (We are 3 late-20s American women).

We really enjoyed the Rock House and Kenny Tours was great. While we had some questionable Jamaican experiences outside the resort (harassment, unwanted attention), our experiences inside the resort were very positive. The resort is extremely beautiful and relaxing, but for me personally it isn’t stimulating enough to only stay in the resort for the entire trip. Unless all you want to do is sunbathe and get massages, it may get a little boring.

So, we ventured out for dinners and had some really fun experiences but also some negative experiences when we did. Hungry Lion, and Catch a Falling Star were both great, and we also liked Rick’s Café for the cliff divers at sunset. 7 mile beach was not great—a lot of people were approaching us to sell things and would follow us as we were walking, so not very relaxing.

I do want to use this entry to address the only aspect of the Rock House where we were disappointed: their recommendation of Vincent’s snorkeling tours. We trusted the resort staff and Kenny tours and thought that if the resort recommended Vincent’s tours, it must be good. We got a recommendation from another Rock House visitor while we were there to go on a 2-hour snorkeling tour with Vincent. It was a couple that recommended the snorkeling trip to us and like many things in Jamaica, we realized the experience may be different if it was a couple, family or mixed gender group as opposed to a group of just young women.

So here was our experience with Vincent’s tour: When we got on the boat at the Rock House, it was Vincent (middle aged man) and 2 younger men, and the 3 of us. Right away it was very uncomfortable with the 2 younger men making inappropriate sexual advances (which we were somewhat used to by this point in our trip, but unhappy and uncomfortable with nonetheless). This really marred our experience on the snorkeling tour and we all said we wouldn’t have gone on the trip if we had known what it was going to be like. It was very uncomfortable being out on the open water with these men who we didn’t trust. When we started snorkeling, Vincent guided us around and was actually very nice and appropriate and did a good job. If it was just Vincent on the trip with us we would have been happy with it. The 2 other men weren’t part of the snorkeling experience and actually started spear gun fishing right around us while we were snorkeling (which was a little disconcerting as we didn’t want to get shot with a spear gun!). We thought that Vincent should get rid of these two guys and do the tours himself and save the fishing for a separate time when he didn’t have snorkelers on board. Vincent seemed like a nice guy, but the other two men really ruined the trip for us.

The Rock House and people who stay there should be aware of this (especially groups of women) before they decide to do one of these snorkeling tours.

One final piece of advice—when you leave the resort take the phone number for Kenny Tours with you. We didn’t trust a lot of the taxi services (even security guards tried to get us in fake cabs) so we called Kenny’s Tours a few times when we were out to come pick us up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'm sure when that will be, but the Rockhouse, it's staff, Push cart Restaurant, Pool Grill, Room Service, Vincent and and Roger on the glass bottom boat, Negril, the surrounding restaurants such as "Catch a Falling Star, 7 mile beach etc etc etc gave us great reason to want to go back.

Rockhouse is super relaxed and lush at the same time.

Stay in a Villa. Worth it.

Get a massage in the cabana. Worth it.

:)

Room Tip: Villa. Large, private and incredible ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRZAcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
1 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
207.5 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
137.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
0.8 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: ₹ 6,958 - ₹ 13,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing