We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is my 9th visit to Negril but my first staying at White Sands. The resort is clean, safe and drinks specials are great! Big hello to Tony and Paul at the Bar! The location is good. If the management would consider doing 2 things, I would give the resort a much higher rating. One: Keep the kitchen open later especially during the high season or just for the XMAS/New Year weeks. You can still offer the same type of food, which was great! Just stay open longer. Second, we can live without a TV but at least put a radio in the room. We initially checked-in on the garden side, in front of the pool, nice, but tooooo quiet with no TV or radio. We transferred to the beach side rooms, which were very nice and we borrowed a clock radio from a friend who was checking out. It was nice listening to music and talk shows when we were in the room. I love the resort,but these 2 things I truly missed! I didn't let it get me down, I just partied much harder!! Overally, the resort is and excellent value for the money. We had a great time! Also,the bar/beach area is great, plenty of beach and bar chairs for hanging out. Great Time!!!

Room Tip: Quiet AC/HARD BEDS - NOT FIRM HARD/rooms are much nicer on the beach side/ample space/clean/good sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
If I had $1 for each time someone described White Sands Negril as a great value I could probably buy Ricks Cafe !! Wow…9 times at White Sands. I think you need to apply for a job the next time down, I am sure Tony and Paul at the bar need some help  Thanks for the suggestions, we will take them under advisement. Always nice to hear from our loyal repeat clientele and we look forward to hosting you for the big 10 !
Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    281
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
85
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have been coming here for years now and wouldn't go anywhere else. The rooms are an amazing deal with great service and everything you need. Most rooms don't have phones or tv but you don't need them here. The only downside to the entire place are the beds. Not horrible but could use improvement. The management is very friendly and helpfull. Beautiful beach front bar and dining area that serves lunch and breakfast and great drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeerEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and kind words. Hard to keep everyone happy with beds but please know we did replace about 40 beds on property in February and will do more next year. The view from our beach bar and grill is blissful, glad you liked it. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Negril.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel rooms are very dated...not at all like the pictures on their website. The hotel grounds are not very cared for. It had a trailer trash feeling about it. The staff at the front desk were not very friendly. Henry the bell boy...not sure exactly what his position is ...was super friendly and nice and kind. The breakfast was pretty good but expensive for the setting and compared to what you can get at other restaurants around that are way nicer. The room was clean but the grounds need a lot of tender loving care...like maybe a coat of paint?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civilservant155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I hope on your next trip to Jamaica you find a place that better suits your needs.
Regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights and had a pleasant experience overall. We were fortunate to stay in a room that prob had the best views of the beach (C1) so I can't complain about the service and lack of "beach frontedness views" of the property.

Rooms are clean & spacious with high ceilings. Beds are not so comfortable and showers are semi-okay - standard motel quality, but you get what you pay for.

Kitchen was equipped with all basic amenities including kitchen utencils which helped to serve my fruit & ramen-craved appetite. I must say though that the salt & ackee fish breakfast at the hotel resturant was one of the best I've tasted in jamaica. I would not miss out any chance to try this for its authenticity and homy warmth - but be prepared for a minimum 45 hour wait for any food at the restuarant - there is only two people cooking and serving the popular crowd.

Beach in front of the property is spectacular and you can get this same view from the beach bar or from the hotel restaurant. If you are planning to veg out in the beach for the day, make sure to claim your beach chair early in the morning as the "chairs with a view" get taken pretty quickly.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience but nothing special that screams out. I would like to try other properties at this price range next time like the negril treehouse.

TIps : bring your beach towel, shampoo/conditioner, bug spray.

Room Tip: C1 has the best views. While most of the rooms are located in the beach front, there are only few th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addictedtococonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
C1 is our One Bedroom Apartment that is the closest room to the beach. Glad you liked the Ackee and Saltfish, it is the national dish and Chef cooks it up quite nicely. Everyone should try it when there are here.
Glad you had a nice time and we would love to host you again.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

White Sands is a great place! It is like home away from home. The warmth of the owners and workers makes it a wonderful place to come back to. It is a safe space and my daughters 16 and 22 are well cared for as they roam the beach. I feel happy, safe and relaxed at White Sands and will always come back to see our friends (tourists and Jamaican). It is a holiday gift to our family!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms and apartments are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaicaplain556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
It is great that White Sands gives you a feeling of being at home. Many share your thoughts. It is wonderful that you were able to share your holiday with your daughters. We love it when families stay with us. We will be here for you when you return and we look forward to sharing our little piece of paradise with you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 km away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
0.1 km away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.3 km away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 km away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,107 reviews
0.3 km away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#36 of 80 in Negril
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,394 - ₹ 7,947
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing