We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No worries, Oh my Lord!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No worries, Oh my Lord!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just returned, what a wonderful place! The beach was wonderful, the water is so clear you can see the bottom of the ocean. The staff is the best we have ever had at a resort.They definitely made our trip.They all went above and beyond.The food was good. The Lemon Grass we enjoyed better than Feathers. Pack your walking shoes, the resort is big and if your room is at one end chances are you will be walking to the other end multi times a day but it doesn't get any better, walking in the ocean. If you snorkel be sure you call to reserve your spot and not wait to go down to the sport shack. You have to book 24 hours in advance and we didn't know you could call ahead until our 2nd to last day so we never got to snorkel. The excursion cruise is fun. Friday night beach party was very nice but the food was the same that we had all week, we expected a seafood extravaganza that night so we were a little disappointed
The entertainment at night was a lot of fun and good variety. The rooms are nice and cozy nothing fancy but hopefully you don't spend much time in your room. It was a wonderful vacation, fun in the sun. The floaties for the chairs were awesome. Every morning the water was like glass so by 9:00 or so we were already in the water floating because the sun was out and the water was very calm. The beach roped area the water is nice and shallow you can almost go out to the rope and not have the water over your head. We floated everyday multi times a day. Watch parasailers, jet skiers, hobikaters you name it. Sun, Sun Sun, Fun, Fun, Fun. You will not regret it. A paradise on earth.

Room Tip: Don't pack a lot of clothes, you will be living in your bathing suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HayDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,095
    1,200
    370
    177
    90
See reviews for
94
3,814
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were at Couples Swept Away for 8 nights in March 2012. It was recommended to us by a family member who had nothing but raves for the place. Arriving at the airport in Montego Bay was not fun - the line to get through customs took us several hours. By the time we arrived at the resort, it was late. Our room was not available so we were given a different room than we paid for. It was a small screened in room with storm shutters all around. No television. The bathroom was not enclosed at the ceiling. Not too happy about that fact because we had guaranteed late arrival. They did give us a $200 resort credit and while in the lobby we heard other guests relate the exact story as ours. Hmm. We ate at the buffet at the Palms Restaurant and my husband became ill from the food. Don't recommend that place.

The next day we were moved to our ocean view room and it was fabulous! Great room, nice bed, everything we expected to have. We found the Patois patio restaurant and it is where we went the rest of our visit with a few exceptions. The food here is the BEST, the service was awesome - very, very good.

We took advantage of the free catamaran cruise - make sure to take your camera! It was a great time - went down to the lighthouse/Rick's Cafe, stopped at the Caves to watch the young divers and have a swim (optional). The best part was listening to Rasta Ralphie serenade us as we traveled up the coast.

The swim up bar is a good place too - the bartenders were so friendly and helped us choose new drinks to try.

Went up the beach (walked) to Margaritaville. Only takes about 5 minutes to walk there. That was fun to try but wouldn't stay too long - crowded. We also stopped at some of the little shops on the beach - they are willing to bargain. Also rented a jet ski for an hour - look for Elvis - everyone knows who he is.

Took a cab up to Rick's Cafe one night - well worth the trip. It will be crowded and it's a little expensive. Take some ones for tipping the divers and take your camera. The sunsets are unbelievable.

Also used the spa twice. Had the hot stone massage and a mani/pedi. All highly recommended!

Will be going back for sure and would recommend to friends and family.

PLEASE NOTE!!! When you leave - as you arrive at the airport - ask about Club MoBay - it costs around $50 but you will get through all the lines immediately and you will have a wonderful place to wait for your flight. Do it! Do it! Do it!

Room Tip: Make sure to guarantee late arrival - take the resort number with you so that when you land at the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Couples Swept Away is a beautiful resort. The rooms, while not luxury, are very pleasant and comfortable. We had a nice view of palm trees and the water. Service was excellent all around. When we arrived we were greeted with a cold towel and a glass of champagne. That was great! The beach was gorgeous. The sand was so soft and clean and the water was the clearest and bluest I have seen. Our favorite past-time during our stay was floating around on the rafts in the water. This was my first experience at an all-inclusive resort. I was very pleased with the quality and quantity of the food and drinks. We enjoyed each of the restaurants we went to. The service was always great and the staff was very personable. The drinks were good and strong...not weak like I would have expected at an AI. We also liked that the resort had photographers to take pictures. Otherwise it is hard for a couple to have pics taken together! Of course you had to pay plenty to buy them but it was worth it! I would definitely return to this resort. I thought it was a good value for a very nice resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsDelRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first experience at an all-inclusive resort. After 6 days we were not ready to leave. We had a wonderful time on the white sand beach and loved swimming in the warm water. Just raise the flag by your beach chair and there was someone asking what drink you wanted. The restaurants on site were awesome, we had to ask what some of the food was on the menu, but tried it all and enjoyed every time. The waiters were friendly, helpful and attentive. We think "Patois" was the best in menus and service. We stayed in the ocean verandah area, the bedroom was spacious and bathroom large and updated. The bars on the beach were fun and service was friendly and on "island time". No rush anywhere so don't be in a hurry but in the end was worth it.

Room Tip: our room had a partial view of the ocean, will need to get a complete ocean view room if that is wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The most amazing resort i have been to. The food was amazing definitely 5 star standard. The cocktails and drinks were great and plenty of them, rooms were nice and comfortable. Fitness centre was world class and the personal trainers were a great bonus especially after all the great food. there is nothing that i would change about this holiday. amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank af-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
3.4 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
3.8 km away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
134.7 km away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
3.1 km away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
2.6 km away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,673 - ₹ 50,276
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing