We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Upper Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in early February and had a wonderful stay! This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. It was almost an hour bus ride, but we did stop off at one bar on the way and that was kind of fun for our group. The bus driver was wonderful and talked the whole time about Jamaica and the sights we were seeing along the way and also gave us tips about what to see and do. It was valuable to have the long bus ride for that reason. It did take some time to get into our room, but we just waited in the beautiful lobby that overlooked the ocean. There is a bar right nearby to get drinks while you wait too. We stayed in the middle building and had an ocean front room, which was a view of the ocean and pool area too. Our room was nice, the pillows and bed left a little to be desired though. We didn't have ants that people talked about, but the water in the shower never did get how when we tried to take showers one of the evenings. The food at all of the restaurants was wonderful. We enjoyed the variety and availability. Our group always gathered at the Saint Ann buffett and they featured different main course each night, grilling out on the patio area. The food was always delicious. We never did do a sit down meal except for the wedding dinner though. I do know that staying near Ochos Rios is a great location because it is very close to zip lining, Dolphin Cove and Dunn River Falls. We did go on one excursion to Dunn River Falls and really enjoyed that. We took a shuttle and it is just a short trip to get there. Also, included in our excursion was shopping in town and going to Margaritaville. Margaritaville even has a waterslide you can go down. The town shops do close up around 5pm. and the town almost seems deserted, so get there earlier in the day if you want time to go to all of the shops to get the best prices on things. The beach was nice and there was always plenty of chairs. We did watch a few of the shows. They were alright, not super amazing though. We really enjoyed spending time at the bars with our friends and the bartenders were always very attentive. We never did spend time in the basement bar, it was just too stuffy down there and we wanted to be able to see or hear the ocean. Overall we were very happy with our stay here and we would stay here again. I think if we go back to Jamaica we will try another part of the island just to see another area.

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher floor for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beatricebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,983
    2,953
    1,367
    627
    396
See reviews for
2,369
3,211
107
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,069)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband won an all expense paid trip to the RIU via work. No complaints as far as expectations since I didn't have to pay. The resort was very nice! Buffet dinners got a little old. Biggest annoyance was having to get in a line in the lobby at 8am in order to get a reservation to their restaurants! The line was always long and they often were booked certain nights, so the pickings were slim. We ended up at Sir John one night and that I would have to say was the best food we had at the resort! They need to investigate a better system for making reservations, perhaps a phone call in one? We went to a Secrets once and that was the way it was done there, much easier. Make sure you go to the jerk chicken hut on the beach at least once for their fabulous jerk chicken lunch! It was lip smacking good! Anyhow, drinks were plentiful, place was relaxing! Many people with my husband's company went to Dunn's River Falls and said it was a must do! We were perfectly content sitting under the palms trees and sipping Banana Monkey's all day long. Nice and relaxing! Although, there is also nightlife if you crave that as well.

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClevelandGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great resort!! Check in quick and easy. Staff very friendly and always smiling and laughing.
We went with another couple, both rooms on 2nd floor 3rd building. View was of the pond.
We found that the bars were always busy and never low on staff. Buffet food was very good as was the a la carte at Sir Richards - we had the steak and it was perfectly done and melt in your mouth.
Entertainment staff was fantastic, particularly thru the day. These guys work hard and long and never a frown. Attendants were always cleaning the bathrooms around the resort.
Never an issue of anywhere to eat or drink!!!! Theatre area has 3 bars plus the disco!!
Our only complain was the pool - wasn't the cleanest. People don't understand that when you go from the beach to the pool that you must use the outdoor showers to rinse off. So, a fair bit of sand in there.
But, other than that we would recommend it and definitely go back. Scuba area on the beach, there were a couple guys we'd visit - Stretch.
Rooms were clean as well. Liquor dispensors - awesome !!!!! It's great to go back and make your own drinks. For us 2 girls vodka and we brought our own Crystal Lite from home.
We were in Jamaica last year for our wedding at another resort, were undecided about going back to Jamaica - but this resort completely changed our minds!!!
We cabbed it to the market in town one day (rainy morning) $35 for 4 of us and 2 hours of shopping. Mixed reviews from other tourists, but we thought it was okay.
You hear people talk about the drugs being pushed upon you - all you need to say is no thank you and that's that.
Beach is nice - walk down to the left all the way and you'll meet JR - Just Right - as he refers to himself. He will carve a tall cup with a straw or an ashtray for you out of bamboo.- He loves
his Red Stripe beer, so don't hesitate to bring him a couple. The scenery there is beautiful, rocks and waves.
You will have to get up bright and early to get your lounge chairs. By 8 - 8:30 ish they are already "reserved" or taken.
Heard people complain about water pressure in their shower - ours was okay, our friend's who were 2 rooms away wasn't. The guest showers you are able to use if you have a late flight, have awesome pressure!!!
My husband and I found at this resort, compared to the Bahia in Runaway Bay, the staff here are very courteous and respectful - do not push the tipping and respect from them means exactly that. The Bahia was very pushy for the tips and let you know, tip = service, respect = tip
Will try to attach pics too

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here 24-27 december, check in was abit slow but after that everything was straight forward. Lovely room with 2 double beds, the bathroom had a double sink and was spacious.
The mini bar in the room done it for me, good selection of drinks and the staff tops up the bottles once you empty them. The mini fridge always had bottled water.

Pools were clean, not crowded.Not sure of how many pools they had as my son wanted to goto the same pool every day!

Food was decent, good selection of traditional foods but some of the things could have been seasoned a little more but thats a minor. Friendly, helpful staff.
Evening Entertainment was really good, alot of effort made. During the day they had stage shows for the kids to take part in (i cant comment much on that - again my son just wanted to be in the pool).
Location was ok but not central for if you want to walk out and go take a walk somewhere else, i had access to transport so got around easily. The good thing is the road its on is a straight drive to Ocho rios -20 minutes or the opposite way is to runaway bay 15 minutes montego bay an hour or so.

I would stay here again, enjoyed the atmosphere and vibe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Arrived at 7:30 pm after driver had to stop for beers and he gets free supper for stopping with busload of people. Ridiculous. Just get to the damn hotel. Flying since 9 am to get there. Was given room at farthest end of resort that already had someone in it when we specifically requested room by elevator. Door locks did not work. No one would answer front desk phone. Worst front desk people i have ever come across. They are your first impression and that set the course for the hassle every day of the trip. Got given 2nd room, door lock still did not work had to get mtce man to replace lock. 10 pm by time got to eat supper. Missed the show. 2nd day they lost our luggage when we had to change rooms again. No towels which seems to be a very big problem for this so called 5 star resort. How is that possible. If i had known towels were an issue i would have taken myself a supply for the week from the maids room the first night trying to find our way back to let them know they gave us someones room. Didnt get supper again till 8:30 pm and missed 1/2 the show. The entertainment at night is great. Those entertainers work very hard and seem to enjoy what they do from morning till late at night. No towels again on 3rd day. Told the front desk if they dont bring them i will rip down the sheer drapes and use them instead. Met with the Pub lic Relations man and he could only say sorry. Doesnt help. Manager sent up champagne which we never drank. Left it for the maid. Very poorly run and organized for housekeeping and front desk staff. Dont book tours with Sunwing. Always the cheapest. Mini vans instead of buses and you are cramped and jammed in there on bumper seats. Reps dont know much of tours and everything is oh yes and its great but its not. Tours are late for pickups and not enough seats.Expected more from a fast growing tour operator. Hotel is beautiful, loved the pools and pool bars. Drinks were always great and the bartenders friendly and happy. Food was alright. Enjoyed breakfast the most. Supper was always such different dishes you never were sure. But so many ethnic groups that can be expected. Always found something to eat.Hotel has marketers come in the evenings which is good shopping same as in town. Singers and music men by the buffet is a nice touch. Great beach party night. Would love to go back but with 4 days of hassle to start with not sure i would. They would have to guarantee me no problems to do so. Didnt get the ocean view as paid upgrade for since we had to lean over balcony for the view. Only a few mosquitos but you get them anywhere. Keep the screen closed. Take small bils with you as hotel cant change the large ones.

Room Tip: What does it matter you dont get what you pay for. The upgrades you pay for dont guarantee anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelforfun569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
6.8 km away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
#7 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
76.3 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,786 reviews
0.2 km away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
104.2 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
123.8 km away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,874 - ₹ 25,599
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing