We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bamboo Blu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Jamaican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 -Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bamboo Blu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Food was good, but since it was crowded it took a while to arrive. It's on a great beach for kids and they really enjoyed it. No charge for the beach which was nice. We will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kamas124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    152
    49
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best lobster ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were staying next door at the all inclusive Riu Ocho Rios, and really needed a break from the fried food and lines. This place was exactly what i wanted out of Jamaica! The service was great, and the lobster was absolutely the best ever. The peppered shrimp was also spectacular. At night time they have a guitarist playing a bunch of songs, very chill! The price can be a bit high, especially with all the tax, but definitely worth it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NoelbEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are currently next door to this fabulous little restaurant, staying at the Riu Ocho Rios. Its literally a 10 second walk from the edge of the resort! I had heard about Bamboo Blu in a few reviews for the Riu and knew we had to go over and try it. We went yesterday for lunch, around 1pm. It was a cruise ship day and there was about 20 or so people on the small beach in front of the restaurant. There are some nice day beds on the beach as well as beach chairs. The restaurant itself has about 15 or so tables. There was no one eating when we went but Im sure it fills up at night. We started with the crab wontons... To die for!!! We got 4 for $5 and they hit the spot. The spicy honey sauce they come with is amazing as well. Then we each got the smaller order of lobster which was $26 each and came with a little salad garnish and your choice of side. We got fries and the "festive" which is basically just fried dough! The lobster, for a small serving was huge!!! Plenty for us! It was, by far, the most amazing and flavourful lobster i have ever had! They put garlic butter right in the shell so it is so tender!!! I cant stress enough how amazing the food was!!! Best meal I have had in a long time!!!! For the 2 of us, 2 lobster meals and the app as well as 1 coke, came to $76!! Try it!!!! You will NOT be disappointed! We're going back tomorrow:)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marcosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beach, Bar & Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

The beach was wonderful. We enjoyed having the bar and restaurant close by. The food and drinks were very good and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lobster MMMMMMM Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is by far the most mouth-watering delicious lobster I have ever had in my life! Lobster is my all time favorite food to eat and I can definitely tell you that is is the best lobster I have ever had.
Let me set the scene....Tables outside, 80 degrees, a light breeze, our private concert by a master musician and a sky filled with the many wonders of our heavenly Father. Stars; shining, twinkling, moving; just being what they are. As I gazed above wondering what the constellation of the 3 stars in a row were my taste buds came alive with the succulence of the most amazing lobster morsels I have ever eaten. The night was perfect, the personal fabulous and the chefs the best! What a great way to end our vacation! Our only regret is that we waited until the last night to go there otherwise we would have spent other nights at this wonderful place. Thanks everyone! Great meal, great friends to share it with and excellant food! Thanks God!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotel4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing