We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old and noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Seas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Jamaica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 days during the month of March. The only good thing about this place is the beach out the front where you can swim and snorkel. We saw some lovely fish and other sea creatures and we bought our own snorkel equipment with us. Other than this, the hotel is extremely run-down and old. It is in major need of upgrading. You cannot eat at the restaurant as they don't have 90% of the things on the menu.

Our towels had holes in them and our shower leaked all the time.

There are local resident houses that are right next to the hotel rooms and they play extremely loud music at all hours of the day.

This place could be GREAT with some love and care, but until then, I do not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique199016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    86
    59
    18
    47
See reviews for
46
91
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel needs major upgrading in order for it to be considered the hotel of choice in Ochos Rios. No phone in room and no tv remote was very annoying. Dennis the cab driver, recommended by Clive, the security guard, over charged for taxi fare. That seems the be the order of business there, a rate for the locals and an exhorbitant rate for tourists. I would never return to this hotel, or recommend it. the view is amazing, the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at Silver Seas on March 7, 2012 for one night paid $86 on Orbitz. Got to the hotel via rental car with no problem (right off A1 which went through town), parked in large, empty lot with no problem. Check in/out no problem. Staff very nice and accommodating, although I think they directed us to restaurant they were working with. But food was good so it was no issue. Overall, I didn’t find prices to be that cheap for food, etc and $86 night seemed the price ceiling for what it was. As other reviews have said the hotel needs some maintenance. A crumbling state of ruin, but rather romantic and could be a really nice place. No real beach area to speak of but there was a pool and nice lounging area. Room itself was large and the private balcony overlooking the water was the best. I believed the room to be clean, but because old and in need of maintenance seems a bit dingy. Close walk to center of town, where you could get some Red Stripe for balcony. Great room/location for a one night stay, but I probably wouldn't stay much longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beersnob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Silver Seas would have been a wonderful hotel in its day. Sadly due to much needed updating and maintenance all round it is no longer the grand lady she should still be. The location is central and on the water's edge - a rare find; rooms were clean and spacious; pool area was actually quite nice and pool water was pristine clean; breakfast was great and the outside dining area lovely ( had to remind the waitress of what was supposed to be served) - service not even average; views from the room balcony was fantastic. My daughter (9) really liked the place as she thought of it as a place to explore with many nooks and crannies and 'secrets' to be discovered. We spotted a large Stingray in the bay as well as swam with many beautiful tropical fish. The fact is it's very inexpensive and I would deem it value for money - considering the alternatives are all-inclusive resorts at 10x the price. Please make sure you keep your room secure and lock away all valuables.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aimeer, Director of Sales at Silver Seas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Natalie,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and for your astute analysis--we are so glad you deemed the hotel “value for money” and enjoyed the location and view. In March we instituted a new dual maintenance system with one person and staff in charge of room maintenance and the other in charge of public areas and it has worked out quite well. We also gently talked with the waitress who was most apologetic and promised to be more attentive. Hope to have you back in the near future when your daughter will find more to explore. We really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there 9 days in january.The seaview,the grounds and the location was fantastic.The rooms were big with nice furniture,comfy big beds and even a makup table.There was plenty of real hot water in the shower and ample space to hang our clothes.
There was no fridge,coffemaker or remotecontrol to the TV in the room.
The staff was friendly and relaxed,and we found the rooms clean enough.We enjoyed the Rastaman breakfast,but 3 out of 4 sunchairs around the pool was broken.The whole place had a tired appearance and had clearly seen better days.
1 min. walk to Main St. where across the street, the best openair disco"Amnesia " is located, and some friendly bars if you need to tank up.Mahogany beach is a10 min.walk to the left,coming out on Main and supermarket,ATM´s,foodstalls and restaurants and other shops to the right.
We loved it in Ochie,and we sure will be back at Silver Seas,very good value for the money,50 US a room.
We went to "Mystic Mountain",VERY beautiful ,but the bobsledge ride was scary ,in a fun way.I´m happy I bought 2 vases at Wassi Art,to remind me of this beautiful island.
Dennis,a taxidriver hanging around the hotel,drove me to Negril and to Montego Bay safely and to a resonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samasem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.0 km away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.0 km away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.5 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#26 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 km away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#18 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Seas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Seas Resort Hotel

Property: Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Address: 66 James Street | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,798 - ₹ 9,322
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Seas Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Resort Hotel surrounded by private tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Silver Seas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Seas Hotel Ocho Rios
Silver Seas Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing