We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!! LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!! LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Polkerris for four nights in April. I don’t even know where to begin describing how beautiful this place is. The view from the veranda must me one of the most beautiful in Montego Bay. Even from our room on the first floor you could see the ocean while lying in bed. The grounds and the rooms are immaculate and the pool is very nice with a beautiful waterfall providing the perfect background noise for relaxation. Even on a very rainy day, I found the veranda to be extremely relaxing and just watched the rain storm over the Bay. The two cats Baby and Muzzy are friendly and nice company and are no trouble at all, usually either sleeping or just waiting for the owners to come home.

The breakfasts served on the veranda every morning were great! Every night the owner would ask us what we would like for breakfast the next morning. We always had a choice between a traditional Jamaican breakfast or something more Canadian/American such as bacon & eggs. No matter what we chose the food was always plentiful and delicious. The owners of the Polkerris also own the Pelican Restaurant which is only a few minutes walk from the inn and offers a wonderful sit down dining experience with some of the best food in Montego Bay. If you do not wish to venture down to the restaurant you can arrange to have dinner sent up to the inn and eat there.

Last but definitely not least, the owners. Words can not express how kind and accommodating Clarissa and Jeremy are. Even from the beginning dealing with their son Peter during the reservation process was a pleasure. Having been to Jamaica several times, as that is where my family is from, I can honestly say that Clarissa and Jeremy are the most gracious and sweetest people I’ve met in Jamaica. Their attention to detail in everything from the food, to the grounds, to the rooms, and even the security of the property only proves their dedication to their guests in ensuring they have a wonderful stay in Jamaica. I will defiantly return to the Polkerris as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
92
223
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our fist time visiting Jamaica; I just stayed for 2 days with my 2 son's. The owners of the Polkerris Jeremy and Clarissa are amazing wonderful and kind people! From the moment you get there they don’t know what to do to make you feel at home. We felt like we were staying with FAMILY! Weird since is people we had never seen before...The place is super clean in and out, when we walked into the room the first thing I said was WOW WHAT IS THIS WONDERFUL SMELL! The view from the property is indescribable, between the land escaping that just looks like a beautiful garden and the open view of the blue sea...It is right in the middle of everything, walking distance to the beach, stores and restaurants...Clarissa arrange for their kind and professional driver Devon to take us for a full day of adventure and my son's and I had the best time ever! It is also just a few minutes from the airport. I will go back to Polkerris next time we visit Jamaica and me and my two boys are very grateful to all of them for their kindness!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This jewel of a B&B on a hill with spectacular views overlooking Montego Bay was just what we were looking for on our first trip to Jamaica. Our upstairs ocean view King room was squeaky clean , attractively furnished, and quiet with a comfortable firm bed and in-room safe. The feel is more like a villa than a B&B, with only 4 ensuite rooms in a separate wing of the beautifully situated residence. Our charming hosts Peter and Elaine could not have been more helpful with arrangements for drivers and suggestions for sightseeing.
Hailing from Sunset Beach on Oahu in Hawaii, where watching the Sunset over the ocean with a glass of wine is a daily ritual, Vista de la Bahia did not disappoint. The west facing orientation of the spacious lanai and pool complete with chaise lounges offered the perfect end to our days of swimming at beautiful Doctor's Cave Beach (10 min. Walk) or day tripping to Ocho Rios, YS Falls and Negril. Half of our 9 days, we were the only guests present on the grounds at any given time,so we felt very private .
The beautifully prepared and bountiful breakfasts were served on a covered portion of the same poolside lanai and were the highlight of each day.
The spirit of Aloha is alive and well in Jamaica.We were overwhelmed by the positive friendliness of the Jamaican people we encountered in the visitor industry, from our hosts to taxi drivers, wait staff, etc. "Are you enjoying yourself?" is the question of the day.
On our last night, we ordered dinner from the Pelican restaurant (owned by our hosts' family) sent up to be enjoyed on the lanai while watching the sunset afterglow. Mahalo (thank you)to Peter and Elaine for all their personal attention

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunset808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A very big thanks to Peter and Elain Scudamore and not forgetting Audrey, for making our two weeks stay in Jamaica Heven. My wife and I and our three girls loved Vista de la Bahia so much than we plan to revisit next year. But our stay was all the more pleasant by the warmth and hospitality provided by Peter and Elain and Audrey. They will give you nothing less than a 5 star service. Even though we have family in Montego Bay Vista de la Bahia will always be our first choice for us to stay. Breakfast was always very well presented and mouth watering, not to mention the variety each morning together with the view of the pool and looking out to sea Heven.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denv0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We are frequent visitors to Jamaica, and this March 2012 was our second visit to Polkerris in 12 months - it is difficult to imagine how you could better this holiday experience in Montego Bay. If you do not actually want to locate yourself on a beachfront property, Polkerris must be the best alternative location in MoBay. Jeremy & Clarissa Bennett, the proprietor, and their wonderful staff, Kevin, Clover, Antoinette go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as is possible. The accommodation is kept immaculately clean at all times along with the absolutely beautiful grounds. Polkerris own and run the Pelican Restaurant on the Hip Strip just a stone throw away so you have the choice of eating there or on property. We always choose to eat on property because the setting on Polkerris's balcony overlooking Montego Bay, in our view, just cannot be bettered. The food is absolutely wonderful! When you finally decide you want to get involved in beach life, Doctors Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach are just a short walk away through their property, and on to the Hip Strip. Cornwall Beach is a firm favourite of ours but it adjoins Doctors Cave Beach, so you can switch between the two if you want to take in both. For those of you who consider security an issue in Jamaica (and I've never quite understood this preoccupation) there are absolutely NO security issues at Polkerris. We felt extremely safe at all times, but once you have visited Jamaica regularly, you'll see for yourself that it is no different to any other popular holiday destination around the world in this respect. We shall make Polkerris our regular stop-off point when we are in MoBay and are recommending it to all our family and friends. Thanks again Mr and Mrs Bennett for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. One final thing, if your budget will stretch to it, rent a car and explore the North Coast, it is very easy to navigate and is the best way to get around at your own convenience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophieinjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.3 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
9.2 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.1 km away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,277 reviews
1.0 km away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,502 - ₹ 14,350
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing