We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Toby's is laid back, local to airport and hipstrip. For sollow travellers ideal, has bar and res taurant and pool and another bar by the pool. Also near to local beach which is nice for an early evening stroll down the promenade where there is a local, fun and very friendly bar at the end. Rooms are comfortable but could do with an uplift soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    207
    113
    33
    13
See reviews for
71
165
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The atmosphere at Toby’s is one of relaxation and enjoyment. A perfect spot for an adventerous Montego Bay getaway. While the resort is slightly dated it is extremely clean and well looked after. Despite the “tired” look of our room we were very comfortable and had no complaints. It is clear that the staff genuinely care about giving the best they can to the guests and are a very friendly bunch.

The location was perfect- close to lots of shopping, beaches (be sure to go to Doctor’s Cave Beach while staying at Toby’s), and a five minute drive from the Sangster Airport. The restaurant was very well priced and offered a nice selection of food. Overall we would recommend Toby’s to ANYONE looking to avoid the artificial nature of an all-inclusive resort. We will return to Toby’s for sure!

Room Tip: Our room (#25) was on the "back-side" of the building, facing away from the pool. It made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel was simple just like a motel. It was very clean and had friendly staff. The restaurant manager (Andrew) is very friendly and helpful. The location was close to all the stores and 5 minutes away from Sangster Airport. Staff members were professional and helpful during our visit. The resort was mostly adult oriented so it was quiet and peaceful. Toby's was a great place to do some R&R.

Thanks Andrew for taking the time to sit with us,

Liza & Spencer

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarribeanTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently stayed at Toby's for 3 nights. This was my second trip and the overall value has improved from my last stay (which was also great). All of the sunbeds around the pool have been replaced with wooden chaises and thick cushions! Fantastic. The grounds have also been spruced up a bit. There are more flowers, the grass is better tended, and it has been weeded.

My family members were staying at another hotel and when they came to visit, my mother was pleased with the security features of the hotel (double locks on the doors and patio doors, front gate security etc).

As with the last trip, I met several repeat visitors. One couple was on their 12th stay at Tobys!

The rooms are clean. Beds could stand being a little more comfortable but I had no trouble sleeping. A/C worked well and the private patio is a nice feature. The location is great and the hotel allows guests if you want to visit with friends or family that are in the area without buying a day pass to their all-inclusive hotel.

Free wifi is a great perk! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Toby's for two nights during a brief diving trip to Jamaica. It is very close to the airport and the taxi ride is $15 USD. We were greeted by a kind staff and were happy to find out that our room was ready early. The grounds of the hotel were well kept as were the two pools.The room we got was really big and clean, although dated. We were able to walk to the "hip strip," which left a lot to be desired, but it gave us something to do from time-to-time. The restaurant was convenient, but a tad expensive. Although, what do you expect when you are on vacation? For the price and the purpose that we needed the hotel, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We got the deluxe room that overlooked the pool. It was away from the main street and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.2 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.7 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.4 km away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
235 reviews
0.6 km away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
511 reviews
0.1 km away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,560 - ₹ 7,499
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing