We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Affordable & Great Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Affordable & Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel was simple just like a motel. It was very clean and had friendly staff. The restaurant manager (Andrew) is very friendly and helpful. The location was close to all the stores and 5 minutes away from Sangster Airport. Staff members were professional and helpful during our visit. The resort was mostly adult oriented so it was quiet and peaceful. Toby's was a great place to do some R&R.

Thanks Andrew for taking the time to sit with us,

Liza & Spencer

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarribeanTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    186
    105
    31
    12
See reviews for
67
144
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently stayed at Toby's for 3 nights. This was my second trip and the overall value has improved from my last stay (which was also great). All of the sunbeds around the pool have been replaced with wooden chaises and thick cushions! Fantastic. The grounds have also been spruced up a bit. There are more flowers, the grass is better tended, and it has been weeded.

My family members were staying at another hotel and when they came to visit, my mother was pleased with the security features of the hotel (double locks on the doors and patio doors, front gate security etc).

As with the last trip, I met several repeat visitors. One couple was on their 12th stay at Tobys!

The rooms are clean. Beds could stand being a little more comfortable but I had no trouble sleeping. A/C worked well and the private patio is a nice feature. The location is great and the hotel allows guests if you want to visit with friends or family that are in the area without buying a day pass to their all-inclusive hotel.

Free wifi is a great perk! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Toby's for two nights during a brief diving trip to Jamaica. It is very close to the airport and the taxi ride is $15 USD. We were greeted by a kind staff and were happy to find out that our room was ready early. The grounds of the hotel were well kept as were the two pools.The room we got was really big and clean, although dated. We were able to walk to the "hip strip," which left a lot to be desired, but it gave us something to do from time-to-time. The restaurant was convenient, but a tad expensive. Although, what do you expect when you are on vacation? For the price and the purpose that we needed the hotel, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We got the deluxe room that overlooked the pool. It was away from the main street and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were warmly welcomed to the property. Staff all round were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom was some what dated, but clean and respectable. The grounds were not consistent with the room standars, but still acceptable and we felt safe and comfortable relaxing from time to time by the pool enjoying reasonably priced drinks. Its location is close to the Hip Strip and public beach (but beach not worth the risk in my opinion) Food seemed reasonably priced for Jamaica prices. Parking lot had a security guard on duty 24/7 which was a relief. By comparison the to alternative (all-inclusives) I would consider Toby's reasonable value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place has lots of old school colonial charm. This is not one of the exclusive beach resorts. You are just a short walk from a little public beach and several private beaches. But it's got everything we might have needed had we stayed longer, including two pools, a bar and a restaurant.

We stayed only one night before our flight back, but the staff was courteous and helped us find a place to eat and called us a cab when we were ready to go out to dinner.

Also has a fine restaurant where we had an excellent lunch. Some posters complained that the restaurant was pricey but we found it to be very reasonable!

Room Tip: The only complaint I had was that our room had mosquitoes. Not a plague, just a little annoying. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.0 km away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.7 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.3 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#34 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.1 km away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#25 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,939 - ₹ 7,646
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing