We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,972)
Filter reviews
2,972 results
Traveller rating
1,082
1,084
523
160
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
1,084
523
160
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk hut adult pool barefoot bar man made island seabreeze restaurant burger bar nachos italian restaurant stayed in building vip lounge grilled cheese tennis courts main restaurant kids club main pool hot dogs nightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 2,972 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This hotel was very clean and the rooms comfortable. The jerk hut was great and Joseph is the man, always friendly and smiling. The bar upstairs in the main building was the best, you get glasses rather than the plastic cups and Damien was a great barman, Yvonne was the best in the main bar in the lobby, always had a smile. The only downside for me being a smoker, was no smoking everywhere apart from 2 smoking areas, I have never been anywhere where you can’t smoke on the beach so for me personally this was an issue so I doubt whether I would go back to this particular hotel. Food was good, plenty of choice, you do have to queue early in the morning to book any of the other restaurants for a decent time slot, we were there for 2 weeks and only managed to get into the Seabreeze and the Italian, both were very good. We had a room in block 5 which was nice. We weren’t aware of the $35 dollar tax that you have to pay at the airport on departure so make sur3 you allow for this.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank SuePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first holiday to Jamaica, we love the Caribbean having previously been to the Dominican Republic and Barbados, Jamaica is beautiful and the people are so welcoming and helpful and keen to give you insight into their heritage, we will definitely return and will see more of what the island has to offer.

We booked to stay at the holiday inn for 7 nights in March with first choice, we was a bit dubious at first as this wasn’t are first choice resort and we had never stayed in a 3 star hotel before, we had originally planned to stay in negril but the hotel we chose had sold out. The prices for this hotel had increased by almost £500 pp as it incorporated part of the Easter holiday, and after reading some of the reviews for this hotel was a little anxious at paying over 10 grand for our party of 8 for Just 7 nights. But we was pleasantly surprised and had overall a fabulous holiday.
The resort was tidy and well kept, and had plenty to offer.
Accommodation
We had partial sea view rooms, which offered a offered beautiful view, but could be quite noisy in the evenings so close to the entertainment and pool, if you are planning early nights for day trips etc you may wish for a room further to the back of the resort where it is quieter. Rooms are adequately sized and beds are comfortable. Only thing missing for us was a fridge so we could have cold water in the room. Safe, iron, ironing board and hairdryer included in room at no extra cost.Towels and bedding changed daily.
Food & Dining
The buffet restaurant has plenty of options for everyone and never any long queues to be seated. Try to avoid going after 9pm as the food is then on the cooler side. The staff are very helpful and organised. We went to the Italian restaurant which was good we was unable to get a reservation for the Caribbean restaurant during our stay. The huts along the beach was really good offering jerk chicken and pork, nachos , hotdogs, burgers and ice cream in between the restaurant opening times.
There’s plenty of drinks to chose from inc red stripe beer and cocktails although most cocktails are ready mixed in tubs and taste watery. The Jamaican coffee is very good.
Pools.
Good size and the daytime entertainment is in the centre of the main pool area. Plenty of sun beds for everyone although you do still get people reserving them at 5 am. We didn’t use the adult only pool area as 2 of our party was only 17.
Beach
Beach area also has a lot of sun beds , the sand is a bit gritty but otherwise lovely. It is a private beach and secluded so no street vendors on the beach. The island is lovely that you can walk or swim out too, there are plenty of sun beds on there too, and it offers a refreshing sea breeze making it feel deceivingly cooler. You can snorkel and see the fish around the rocks of the island. The non motorised sports activities are free to use.
Entertainment.
The entertainment team work tirelessly and include everybody. The steel band were great. You can go on day trips via your travel rep or can be booked through the hotel. I recommend margaritaville in Montego Bay, the bob Marley museum, negril and ricks cafe, although if it’s cloudy you won’t get to see the sunset there. The weather was mostly lovely but did rain all day for two days of our visit.
Everyone is friendly and overall this is a lovely place to stay and enjoy Jamaica.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Kelpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I just returned from a family vacation last week....this is our 3rd time staying at your property.I have to say, your staff is great!!! Very welcoming and accommodating...

I was disappointed with your poolside drinks, too sweet.you must find a balance between the amount of juice and liquor, where its not too strong ,but also not too sweet...

A special thanks to Damion the bartender at the Port Royal bar located in the upper level...he was GREAT!! He goes out of his way to welcome you, he was very engaging, not only to us ,but to everyone of his customers.. people like Damion its what made our experience even better. He gets a 10 for overall customer service and interpersonal skills...btw. He made the best drinks too!! He is an asset to your organization !!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Just returned from 10 days and had a fabulous time, will break it down in to areas to make this easier.
It is our 3rd all-inclusive (Dominican & Mexico before this)

Rooms - yes they are dated but are totally servicable, beds were good and good shower preassure with great hot water (took a little while to warm up) maid service was always good if sometimes a little late in the day.

Food - mixed review. By far the best Breakfast buffet we have ever been too, omlet station was brilliant. lunch was average, good salad bar but other options were just OK. Evening meal poor :-( little choice and virtually every meat option was cut with bones in - now we know this is the Jamaican way but not for us.
Now the good bit – the bookable restaurants were great, we used Italian 3 times and Seafood once and had great service and meals. and unlike anmywhere else we have stayed at you are not restricted to the amount of visits, you can book every night if you want. Booking is only possible for the day ahead so book monday eat Tuesday ect and is done at guest relations starting at 7.00 am (get there around 6:45 to avoid any queue) the only thing they could improve would be the descriptions of the meal - saying something is smothered in "rundown sauce" is not that helpfull lol

Pool / beaches - stunning. the pool was nice but we spent all our time on the beaches - the whole resort is set out in small coves which are brilliant - loungers were always available but if you want ones with shaded parasols (large leaf type - sure they have a name but not sure what it is LOL) then get up early, they were all gone by 6:30 ish there are plenty with partial shade from the palm trees though. there is a separate Adults only area to the left of the resort (from facing sea) which had a seperate pool with swim up bar and an adults only beach area.

Drinks - very good with many brands available (Rum was local item but good, Gin was Tanqueray (but not No 10 lol) I have seen reports on here of weak drinks but I never had less than a double - may be because we always tipped but they were always srong and sometimes too strong (50 / 50)

Evening entertainment - Reasonable, there were some very good dance groups / singers but a bit repetative. then again you are very limited what you can put on. the night always started with a kids entertainment section (about 45 mins) where they had winners voted by the audience cheering. Now not to put too fine a point on it but you could be Micheal Jacsons re-encarnation and still loose to someone who had trouble putting one foot in front of the other if they came from Canada - maybee it was the time of the year but the clientele was around 75% Canadian and the chance to beat the Americans was quite funny to watch,

WiFi - amazing 24 hours a day (free) and even accesable on the beach most days, I doubt it would reach the Adults only beach area but cannot comment as we never went on it.

Other things to note although nothing to do with the resort is the tax to pay on leaving Jamaica is $35 or £30 per person in CASH so make sure you take this with you and keep it safe. There were a lot of families who did not seem to know about it and to suddenly find £120 in cash for a family of four was a lot. Even the £60 for us was more than expected.

All in all a great place to stay for the money - ignore the most negative views on here, I can only assume they were expecting Sandals prices for Holiday inn money and that is never going to happen.

Date of stay: March 2018
10  Thank AiredaleGJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We visited this resort in February and it was fabulous! Great clean facilities! Food and service was outstanding! All staff were helpful, friendly and efficient! I loved the island of the main beach which was an escape from the busy beach. The Jerk Hut served outstanding drinks and phenomenal jerk chicken and pork! I loved this place and highly recommend!

Room tip: Beach front
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews