We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing & beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Galway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing & beautiful”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was an absolutely beautiful location. Friendly resort, great food, beautiful luxurious surroundings. Would definetly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Preferred Club as it was our honeymoon - it was beautiful, with a private pool thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,240
    1,468
    547
    185
    99
See reviews for
452
4,498
133
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed the third week on March 2012 at Wild Orchid (The resort is really Secrets Wild Orchid and Secrets St James sharing the same public areas, on the outside they are completely identical, so if one hotel is cheaper than the other, I'd go with the cheapest option) Highlights were the staff, good snorkelling just off the beach, and the beach itself. Some things we experienced that might help you decide-
--If you love to snorkel, the snorkelling just off the beaches is really good with lots to see, and no worries about being out in the boating channel at risk of being hit. Bring your own equipment though, they won't loan you equipment unless you pay for an excursion, which is a boat ride to about 80 yards off the beach. The outer break water next to the Wild Orchid preferred club building (near the restaurant area) had outstanding larger fish but it's a little deeper.
--The food here is not 4 1/2 star 'luxury'. The restaurants are ok, but most of the food is Carnival cruise mass produced kind of stuff at best. Deserts, breads & pastries are not made on premises which is what a luxury resort would do. Imagine Outback, Olive Garden, that's the food level you're going to get. Also disappointed in the seafood offerings, seemed like they were trying to keep food costs down by offering lots of chicken, lower end beef cuts, and very little shellfish, mostly grouper as a seafood option. The jerk chicken was probably best thing at any of the restaurants, which ironically was at a walk-up pushcart near the main pool.
--The staff was probably the best part of the resort, very friendly, helpful, most seemed to really want you to enjoy your vacation. Best resort staff I've ever experienced.
--Beaches were nice, well maintained, as were the grounds. Pools were also clean and well maintained, but maybe not as large and awe inspiring as other large Caribbean resorts I've been to.
--We stayed in the Preferred Club, rooms were clean and modern, the deep jet tubs were nice, the soaking tub on the balcony was good in theory, but everyone can see you out there.
--Bartenders knew how to mix drinks well. Not too weak, not too strong (unless you requested it). Lots of quality call brands, and not just in the priority club bars.
--There are not enough sit down restaurants for the amount of guests the resort can hold, which means you will be waiting in many cases for a table for 20 minutes at dinner (sometimes longer). I think this is an effort to push you into the buffet, where they serve lower quality cheaper food. The Japanese themed place was booked 3 days out. We did manage to get a sitting at 9:15 PM (again three days out, on a Tuesday no less), but I would recommend skipping that place completely, the guys, while nice enough, are not trained Teppanyaki, no knife tricks, no neat onion ring volcanos, just singing and making you fried rice with beef, chicken & shrimp. The sushi was pretty bad.
--Breakfast is buffet only unless you get room service, lunch is also very limited, with the buffet available in addition to two small sit down places next to the pools, one of which only serves wraps. This is not 'luxury' resort food levels in my opinion.
We had a nice time and enjoyed the resort, but I think at this price level there are better all inclusives around the Carribean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hiker570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We travelled to Jamaica for our second time Mar. 30th to April 6th (first stay was at the Couples Swept Away resort in Negril....AMAZING!!!). After spending five gruelling nights at the Gran Bahia Principe in Runaway Bay, we picked up and left and spend our last two nights at the Secret's Wild Orchid resort and it was more than perfect!! My husband and I both thought the location was ideal, and everything else about the resort was fantastic!!! If you'd like specific's, please email me :o)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

it was our first visit to the island and we loved every moment of it........the bell men were very friendly. the front desk staff were very professional, polite and attentive. every where we went the staff wowed us.rooms were very nice with an awesome view and the property was well kept. i will definately be back with friends and relatives.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After staying at Secrets Maroma Beach in Mexico it is hard to rate the Wild Orchid as Secrets Maroma Beach set the bar pretty high. We were at the Wild Orchid from March 20th to the 27th. We flew Westjet and in the future will always check with that airline first as they were first class all the way. In Jamaica, they say there are no problems, only situations. I can honestly say we had no situations. We stayed in the Preferred Club and we weren't disappointed with the special attention we received. We also had access to the Secrets St. James which is adjacent, we preferred to stay mostly at the Wild Orchid. I did go to the gym one morning. Quite a hike to get there. It is well run (excuse the pun!) We did partake in the pilates/yoga classes but I myself found it difficult to do it for an hour in full sun. We also had a blast at the crab race at the pool. They have a super great coffee shop that makes the best cappucino . The snorkeling was fun and you can do that right from the beach area. The beach is very well kept but don't look for the same beach as you would get in Mexico on the Mayan Riviera or in Punta Cana. After all, it is a bay and the Secrets resorts are in a lagoon in the bay. The glass bottom boat was fun too. I saw a shell 30 feet down and the guide dove in and brought it up for me. I have it in my bedroom now as a souvenir. The restaurants are all great, We did not have a bad meal the whole time we were at the resort. Service is always slow in good restaurants. It is not fast food! So please, enjoy the evening in the company of a loved one and a nice drink or two!!!! Let's not complain about the slow service. The buffet is also very good. If you can't find anything you like between the restaurants and the buffet then there's something wrong with you. There is something for everyone. The entertainment every night is at the outside stage. It's fantastic to enjoy the beautiful night warm breeze and see all the lights sparkling on the mountain behind and under all the twinkling stars. Every night we saw the moon plus at least 2 other planets. Twice we say 3! Very beautiful. Preferred club is private with its own private pool. It has has a nice little buffet with hors d'oeuvres and finger desserts, drinks, hard or soft, and full waitress service if you wish. Our room was 4205 which is on the 4th floor second one in from the corner. It was super spacious, a big soft fluffy bed, a refrigerator replenished at no charge every day, nightly turn down service with chocolates on the pillows, and a jacuzzi tub in the room plus another on the outside balcony. We could by choice fill up that tub, pour us a couple of drinks, lie in there under all those twinkling stars and beautiful lit up mountain side across the bay and listen to the reggae music down below on the stage. It was incredible. The action at the stage closes up by 10:30pm which to us was quite reasonable. After all, we are on vacation! Just a note. The vacation club they offer has more than just time shares. We are Unlimited Vacation Club members and did not purchase a time share. They have all kinds of options. We purchased 20 weeks with discounts each time, always being upgraded to preferred club automaticlly that we can use over 10 years. Our free week will almost pay back what the membership cost So don't be afraid to go and check it out. You might be passing up something that would be a benefit to you. Your family can use it too. We still have 2 more weeks at $200 each to take which basically paid for our membership! So don't automatically assume it's a time share. We are looking forward to those weeks. We also just booked a cruise and was automatically upgraded as a member. So, enough about that. As for dress code, the restaurants did enforce long pants for the guys, as my guy had to return to the room to change out of linen bermudas that one time. I saw ladies dressing up in beautiful little sundresses, both short and long in the evening. One of our favourite things was the jerk cart that passed every day around 12:30. It's like a BBQ on wheels and he's yelling, jerk chicken, jerky jerky jerky, don't be a jerk, get your jerk chicken. It was a lot of fun to see him coming. We would meet it, get our jerk chicken and take it over to the Oceana outdoor restaurant around the main pool and eat it with pickings from the salad bar. Yummy for sure. The whole time we were there, we did not encounter anyone on staff but beach waitress to staff at front desk reception that didn't treat us as royalty. Would I go back to Secrets Wild Orchid? You betcha. In a flash. By the way, with a membership to Unlimited Vacation Club, we had the privilege to use Amstar for our hotel transfers from airport to hotel back to airport. It was flawless and only cost us $40 for 2 both ways. As I'm typing I'm remembering other things. The outdoor whirlpool was too hot and I could never get in lol. The sun so strong. All in all, don't hesitate to book at this resort. It's a first class resort. The Jamaicans are wonderful, talented friendly people. The staff are eager to please you. I believe Secrets Maroma is their signature resort and it's pretty hard to beat. Because of our club membership, we are anxious to visit some of Secrets new resorts.

Room Tip: Do not chose a room overlooking the restaurants and the stage if you want to go to bed before 10:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,265 reviews
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 km away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#5 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,083 reviews
20.2 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
0.7 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,066 - ₹ 42,709
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing