We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Just got back from Secrets St. James in Jamacia and it is now our favorite destination. Shelley Hoda made our experience even better. Not only did she make sure we had everything we needed but she also told us a lot about Jamacia. Beach, pools, food and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. Already planning our next trip and can not wait to see our new friend Shelley.

Room Tip: Swim up room was fantastic
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank KDerrickN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 216 of 6,707 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We are leaving Jamaica this morning after a 10 day stay here at Secrets St. James. It has been the best vacation we have ever been on. The staff here is second to none. I’m comfortable saying that we will leave Jamaica with more than a few new friends. Leo, Andre, Marlando, Ryan and all the bar staff are so happy to help make your stay the most enjoyable it can be. These guys truly love their job. Yendi, from the entertainment staff, is always around making folks laugh. From the beautiful scenery, to the care-free attitude, Jamaica is a must visit travel destination.

For our wedding, the team here at Secrets has been more than helpful. We communicated with them for months before our arrival to make sure everything was perfect. They helped us setup a beautiful ceremony on the beach, and surprised us with a special turndown service, including chocolates and rose petals, for a romantic first evening as a married couple.

We also set up a visit to the Negril dolphin park, through the resort, and it was a once-in-a-lifetime excursion. We were able to swim, dance, and play with the dolphins there at a very reasonable cost. My new wife and I are glad to take these memories home with us.

I would encourage anyone who has thought about visiting Jamaica to book a stay here at Secrets St James. You will not go thirsty, and the food is exquisite. The staff are all so very helpful, and you will find yourself immersed in the carefree nature of Jamaica. We are already planning to make a trip back for our anniversary next fall.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

All resturants were great! Damieon did an excellent job being our waiter at world cafe: The food was excellent! The presentation was great. Everything appears to be nice and clean. The staff is friendly. And the grounds are kept immaculately. Our flight got delayed several days and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating us to make sure we were able to get what we need to get home safely

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved the service and all of the food. Everything was amazing. Jhanelle at the St. James bar continuously made drinks that made were out of this world. Nicole from the front dress was also amazing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Latonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My friend and I were there for 4 nights here's my experience:
- Check In was a breeze we got there at Noon and had no problems we were upgraded to a Junior Ocean View by Nichole who was excellent and gave us keys to go anywhere onsite, which was a nice touch
- Hermon our bellhop did a great job making us feel welcome as this was our first time in Jamaica
- Ocean View was great easy to walk out to the beach or the pools
- Wait staff service by the pool and beach was done well when it was done but was somewhat inconsistent
- Our room was closest to the Marlin bar, it wasn't great, service was on island time for sure
-Breakfast buffet was great and well stocked-the woman who does the omelets was worth the wait! Wait service for breakfast was good 3 out of 5 times. One morning when a lot of other people were doing their sales pitch & breakfast thing, our service was very poor we were openly ignored probably because we were not being pitched
- Restaurants were decent but I can't recommend Seaside Grill, my steak was tough and worse my friend ordered the creamed spinach and was sick for several days following, luckily we were leaving the next day
- We had a small incident with our room keys not working on the last night- it took a couple of tries but Nichole from our checkin came through and sent the maintenance man right out
-They were doing a lot of painting in our nearest stairwell but the workers were always polite and moved out of the way, if people keep saying it needs to be updated expect there to be ongoing work on site!
-Rain shower is amazing, tub fills up VERY slowly but is nice
-Comfortable beds, balcony was great
-TV was a bit strange one day we were able to get the USA Network every other day we were not, oh and be warned there are at least 3 ADULT type channels that you may flip past...
-Housekeeping was great, one day when they had not been able to come in during regular hours they called us directly to schedule a service, so we had the rooms refreshed well daily
-We skipped the Spa as it was incredibly expensive, to give you a sense we booked 2 excursions one full day tour and one 4 hour catamaran cruise for LESS THAN an 80 minute hot stone massage

TIPS:
- There are barrels with water bottles all around the resort which is a nice touch, stock up on them
- Chicken Parm at the Italian restaurant was our favorite meal
- 45 minutes was our wait for room service, considering how far the restaurants were this was not entirely unexpected
-If you have any mobility issues at all, book the preferred side as we saw a lot of the preferred side guests driven around in golf carts
- Go for the Ocean View
- Hibachi seemed fun make the reservations ahead of time
- Don't miss the jerk chicken cart
- The Amstar agent was great at booking our excursions

Overall we had a great time, I was able to get a discounted rate, I'm not sure if I feel it is worth the high price tag you often see associated with it. However, I am not a big drinker, so I wasn't drinking over $100 worth of alcohol a day as many guests easily were.

Room Tip: Ocean View was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
14 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,752 reviews
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
9.9 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,155 reviews
12 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 22,942 - ₹ 48,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing