We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,180)
Filter reviews
7,180 results
Traveller rating
4,650
1,585
596
205
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,650
1,585
596
205
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club piano bar wild orchid jerk chicken room service marlin bar world cafe secrets resort preferred pool our honeymoon french restaurant seaside grill el patio champagne breakfast hibachi grill welcome home turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 7,180 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We are leaving Jamaica this morning after a 10 day stay here at Secrets St. James. It has been the best vacation we have ever been on. The staff here is second to none. I’m comfortable saying that we will leave Jamaica with more than a few new friends. Leo, Andre, Marlando, Ryan and all the bar staff are so happy to help make your stay the most enjoyable it can be. These guys truly love their job. Yendi, from the entertainment staff, is always around making folks laugh. From the beautiful scenery, to the care-free attitude, Jamaica is a must visit travel destination.

For our wedding, the team here at Secrets has been more than helpful. We communicated with them for months before our arrival to make sure everything was perfect. They helped us setup a beautiful ceremony on the beach, and surprised us with a special turndown service, including chocolates and rose petals, for a romantic first evening as a married couple.

We also set up a visit to the Negril dolphin park, through the resort, and it was a once-in-a-lifetime excursion. We were able to swim, dance, and play with the dolphins there at a very reasonable cost. My new wife and I are glad to take these memories home with us.

I would encourage anyone who has thought about visiting Jamaica to book a stay here at Secrets St James. You will not go thirsty, and the food is exquisite. The staff are all so very helpful, and you will find yourself immersed in the carefree nature of Jamaica. We are already planning to make a trip back for our anniversary next fall.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

All resturants were great! Damieon did an excellent job being our waiter at world cafe: The food was excellent! The presentation was great. Everything appears to be nice and clean. The staff is friendly. And the grounds are kept immaculately. Our flight got delayed several days and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating us to make sure we were able to get what we need to get home safely

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved the service and all of the food. Everything was amazing. Jhanelle at the St. James bar continuously made drinks that made were out of this world. Nicole from the front dress was also amazing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Latonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My friend and I were there for 4 nights here's my experience:
- Check In was a breeze we got there at Noon and had no problems we were upgraded to a Junior Ocean View by Nichole who was excellent and gave us keys to go anywhere onsite, which was a nice touch
- Hermon our bellhop did a great job making us feel welcome as this was our first time in Jamaica
- Ocean View was great easy to walk out to the beach or the pools
- Wait staff service by the pool and beach was done well when it was done but was somewhat inconsistent
- Our room was closest to the Marlin bar, it wasn't great, service was on island time for sure
-Breakfast buffet was great and well stocked-the woman who does the omelets was worth the wait! Wait service for breakfast was good 3 out of 5 times. One morning when a lot of other people were doing their sales pitch & breakfast thing, our service was very poor we were openly ignored probably because we were not being pitched
- Restaurants were decent but I can't recommend Seaside Grill, my steak was tough and worse my friend ordered the creamed spinach and was sick for several days following, luckily we were leaving the next day
- We had a small incident with our room keys not working on the last night- it took a couple of tries but Nichole from our checkin came through and sent the maintenance man right out
-They were doing a lot of painting in our nearest stairwell but the workers were always polite and moved out of the way, if people keep saying it needs to be updated expect there to be ongoing work on site!
-Rain shower is amazing, tub fills up VERY slowly but is nice
-Comfortable beds, balcony was great
-TV was a bit strange one day we were able to get the USA Network every other day we were not, oh and be warned there are at least 3 ADULT type channels that you may flip past...
-Housekeeping was great, one day when they had not been able to come in during regular hours they called us directly to schedule a service, so we had the rooms refreshed well daily
-We skipped the Spa as it was incredibly expensive, to give you a sense we booked 2 excursions one full day tour and one 4 hour catamaran cruise for LESS THAN an 80 minute hot stone massage

TIPS:
- There are barrels with water bottles all around the resort which is a nice touch, stock up on them
- Chicken Parm at the Italian restaurant was our favorite meal
- 45 minutes was our wait for room service, considering how far the restaurants were this was not entirely unexpected
-If you have any mobility issues at all, book the preferred side as we saw a lot of the preferred side guests driven around in golf carts
- Go for the Ocean View
- Hibachi seemed fun make the reservations ahead of time
- Don't miss the jerk chicken cart
- The Amstar agent was great at booking our excursions

Overall we had a great time, I was able to get a discounted rate, I'm not sure if I feel it is worth the high price tag you often see associated with it. However, I am not a big drinker, so I wasn't drinking over $100 worth of alcohol a day as many guests easily were.

Room Tip: Ocean View was worth it
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We had an absolute amazing time in Jamaica. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and by the time we left we felt right at home. We felt the staff when out of their way to make us feel welcome and right at home. Our room was quiet and the view breathtaking!! there was plenty to choose from in terms of activities, food and it was accommodating to all ages. We especially loved the staff at the manatee bar. after one day they knew who we were and what we were drinking and made sure we were taken care of either at the pool or on the beach. We would definitely choose Secrets again!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews