We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,272)
Filter reviews
7,272 results
Traveller rating
4,710
1,595
609
213
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,710
1,595
609
213
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club piano bar wild orchid jerk chicken room service marlin bar world cafe secrets resort preferred pool our honeymoon seaside grill french restaurant el patio hibachi grill romantic dinner welcome home turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 7,272 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

TL;DR
Definitely spend time at the Manatee Bar!
Hotel staff aren't genuinely friendly or motivated. Extremely poor hotel servicing.
Bartenders were absolutely amazing and made the stay enjoyable.
Overall good food. Not spectacular.

We arrived about 1230 at hotel. Proceeded to check in. Informed no rooms were available until 3pm which we expected. I was told multiple times through email that my wife and I needed to provide our marriage certificate and cohabitation documents. But we were told on arrival that we didn't need to provide them. They gave us a letter wishing us Congratulations on our wedding and stated we'd receive a couple neat amenities, like breakfast in bed, a sash on our door and a couple other things. We then met our concierge got a tour and taken to lunch and scheduled the Hibachi. Had some drinks and a really good begining experience. Shortly after 3 we got our room which was upgraded from a Junior Garden View to a Junior Ocean View. When we arrived to our room. There was nothing that indicated honeymoon anything. There was water on the floor from mopping and pillows from the bed on the small love seat in the room. It looked very rushed and incomplete.

This was something that became a theme for the resort. We had several issues where we were told we'd have specific amenities and then had them revoked or ignored. We had our hibachi date changed without our knowledge.

Overall the hotel staff weren't excited to do their jobs at all. And we received a lot disingenuous politeness or flat out rude responses to questions from the front desk.

My favorite part is the Manatee Swim up bar. The bartenders absolutely amazing! Leo, Ryan, Romaine, Marlando, Andre, Erica, Jasene, and Michael! They really made our stay worth it!

Leo has a drink called the next level and it really is!! Ryan does a drink called the Midnight Creeper.

Definitely spend time at the Manatee Bar!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

When we signed up, 6 months ago, for our honey moon package we were promised so many things that were included in the package. When we showed up, there was no honey moon basket, there was no towel swan, there were no robes or slippers, we were also denied access to the Continental breakfast, there was also no mini bar set up in our room. We also did not have sun baths on the deck, like we had reserved. We found out a day later that we were not in as preferred guests, which is how we booked our room in the first place. We then went to our concierge to discuss that with her, and she attempted to fix it for us by giving us preferred guest room cards which was supposed to give us access to all of the resorts and additional things as well. We attempted to go to the lounge and we were again denied access telling us that the card given to us just doesn't get us access. Again, we were very unhappy. We then took our VIP access card to breathless to get some food, and again, we were denied access.
Another couple, who we were hanging out with the whole time, left a day before us and they wrote us a letter before leaving. They dropped the letter off at the front desk to be delivered, and the front desk lost that letter.
It's just been one thing after the next. Full of disappointment. Another thing I don't really appreciate at all is how they treat women. When room service, or the cleaning personnel come to the door, they do not want to see or speak to me. They treat me as if I'm a mistress to my husband. It's very rude and upsetting. They look right past me and call for my husband. They great him with smiles and "sirs", but then just bypass me entirely, even if I ask them a question, or simply say hello or thank you.
The only reason I am giving this 2 stars is because the bar tenders at the pool are amazing. If it wasn't for them, we would've left this resort days earlier and just went back home. Those guys actually delivered drinks to our rooms without us even asking for anything. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy.
Other then those guys, the hotel staff and all restaurant staff are not friendly. Hospitality and friendliness is severely lacking. We purchased the honey moon package as preferred guests and did not get any of that.
Bottom line, we will most definitely not be back, and we will definitely turn others away from this resort as well when they talk about going to Jamaica.

Room tip: It doesn't matter, you won't get there room you reserve
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

On my last day of honeymoon with my wife. The hotel needs to have a serious revamp. The hotel is dated from the check in desk to the bedroom furniture to the television in the rooms.
During our 2 weeks stay we have had to contact the front desk on six occasions to have the room cleaned and mini bar stocked. The mini bar has only been stocked on three occasions.
Some of the staff seem unhappy to be here and you regularly need to ask for drinks at breakfast and lunch. If you tip well it doesn't really change Much.
The food is very good but on a couple of occasions we had to wait for an hour as the restaurants were over crowded.
We have been bitten a lot by mosquitos and feel the hotel could do more on this front. The pool area is swarming with bugs and is rarely cleaned, the hotel rooms have lot of ants and in the Mexican restaurant we seen a mouse.
The basics let the hotel down as it has a lot of potential but as I mentioned needs an overhaul from top to bottom.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank MrJohnnieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was our 4th trip to Secrets St. James/Secrets Wild Orchid...needless, to say, it is our favorite. We have stayed at both and one is just as fabulous as the other. My husband and I brought our 3 adult children and their spouses.
Wayne at Bordeaux Restaurant was fabulous! Karen at Baracuda Bar was tops! Susaan at World Cafe was great, along with Chef Patrick!

Room tip: Upper level rooms have a great view...ground floor is perfect for walking out to pool.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 230Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Our vacation at Secrets St. James was lovely! This resort, and Wild Orchid, are among our favorites when we are looking for an effortless place to relax, eat great meals and feel at peace. The resort is pretty straight forward without a lot of lavish décor, instead, the feel is cozy...right down to the jasmine scented air in the lobbies. There are little bars, a coffee/pastry shop, jerk chicken served along the beach and snack stops in every nook and cranny of this place. The entertainment was nice, mostly because it was out of the way and not too noisy. If you wanted to be in the middle of the action, you could find it easily, if you wanted to stay clear you could easily do so. The food was wonderful and delicious every night with so many restaurants to choose from. We were a little nervous to find out that dinner reservations are no longer accepted, but we had no problem being seated at what ever restaurant we preferred each night. Servers, maid service and bartenders were terrific, polite and made our stay terrific!
The ONLY issue we had with this vacation was booking through Expedia.com! This was the straw that broke the camel's back and we will no longer use them for booking any travel. We had trouble with our last two bookings through Expedia. This particular time, we made arrangements through Expedia when we booked the vacation...the reservations were not made correctly for transport, flights, etc and we needed to pay out of pocket to correct the mistakes Expedia made just so we could get to our resort. Prior to leaving for this trip, Expedia reps constantly called us at home attempting to upsell the trip. And once at the resort, Expedia reps continued to call our rooms very early in the morning to attempt to sell us excursions, etc. It was very annoying.
We will return to Secrets Montego Bay next year! This is one of our top five tropical resorts!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: All rooms are close to everything...layout of resort is amazing!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PIEBOYANDFRIENDS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews