We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great time with our grown children and their spouses. The bar pool was always full of people and the water showed it. If you do not want to spend all your time in the 'party zone' visit the non-bar pool adjacent to the bar pool. Much cleaner water. Grab bottled water for your room before leaving the pool-beach for the day. Water containers were not replenished until after to pool bars opened at 10am. Be sure to ask for your resort credit upon arrival. We did not get ours until the last day and could not use it. Too bad because we could have went to the Boudreaux restaurant which is the only 'pay' one. Visit the foam party at breathless - take your phone so you can record this!!! Also the breathless non foam pool is heated. If you do the 'presentation' know that the 90 minutes does not include the breakfast or lunch time spent with the sales staff. Give the maid her/his tip directly so you know that person did receive it. We truly enjoyed the food and the company!!!

Room Tip: If your room faces the mountain, make sure a towel is rolled up outside your door to catch the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 6,535 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

TL;DR
Definitely spend time at the Manatee Bar!
Hotel staff aren't genuinely friendly or motivated. Extremely poor hotel servicing.
Bartenders were absolutely amazing and made the stay enjoyable.
Overall good food. Not spectacular.


We arrived about 1230 at hotel. Proceeded to check in. Informed no rooms were available until 3pm which we expected. I was told multiple times through email that my wife and I needed to provide our marriage certificate and cohabitation documents. But we were told on arrival that we didn't need to provide them. They gave us a letter wishing us Congratulations on our wedding and stated we'd receive a couple neat amenities, like breakfast in bed, a sash on our door and a couple other things. We then met our concierge got a tour and taken to lunch and scheduled the Hibachi. Had some drinks and a really good begining experience. Shortly after 3 we got our room which was upgraded from a Junior Garden View to a Junior Ocean View. When we arrived to our room. There was nothing that indicated honeymoon anything. There was water on the floor from mopping and pillows from the bed on the small love seat in the room. It looked very rushed and incomplete.

This was something that became a theme for the resort. We had several issues where we were told we'd have specific amenities and then had them revoked or ignored. We had our hibachi date changed without our knowledge.

Overall the hotel staff weren't excited to do their jobs at all. And we received a lot disingenuous politeness or flat out rude responses to questions from the front desk.

My favorite part is the Manatee Swim up bar. The bartenders absolutely amazing! Leo, Ryan, Romaine, Marlando, Andre, Erica, Jasene, and Michael! They really made our stay worth it!

Leo has a drink called the next level and it really is!! Ryan does a drink called the Midnight Creeper.

Definitely spend time at the Manatee Bar!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we signed up, 6 months ago, for our honey moon package we were promised so many things that were included in the package. When we showed up, there was no honey moon basket, there was no towel swan, there were no robes or slippers, we were also denied access to the Continental breakfast, there was also no mini bar set up in our room. We also did not have sun baths on the deck, like we had reserved. We found out a day later that we were not in as preferred guests, which is how we booked our room in the first place. We then went to our concierge to discuss that with her, and she attempted to fix it for us by giving us preferred guest room cards which was supposed to give us access to all of the resorts and additional things as well. We attempted to go to the lounge and we were again denied access telling us that the card given to us just doesn't get us access. Again, we were very unhappy. We then took our VIP access card to breathless to get some food, and again, we were denied access.
Another couple, who we were hanging out with the whole time, left a day before us and they wrote us a letter before leaving. They dropped the letter off at the front desk to be delivered, and the front desk lost that letter.
It's just been one thing after the next. Full of disappointment. Another thing I don't really appreciate at all is how they treat women. When room service, or the cleaning personnel come to the door, they do not want to see or speak to me. They treat me as if I'm a mistress to my husband. It's very rude and upsetting. They look right past me and call for my husband. They great him with smiles and "sirs", but then just bypass me entirely, even if I ask them a question, or simply say hello or thank you.
The only reason I am giving this 2 stars is because the bar tenders at the pool are amazing. If it wasn't for them, we would've left this resort days earlier and just went back home. Those guys actually delivered drinks to our rooms without us even asking for anything. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy.
Other then those guys, the hotel staff and all restaurant staff are not friendly. Hospitality and friendliness is severely lacking. We purchased the honey moon package as preferred guests and did not get any of that.
Bottom line, we will most definitely not be back, and we will definitely turn others away from this resort as well when they talk about going to Jamaica.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, you won't get there room you reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On my last day of honeymoon with my wife. The hotel needs to have a serious revamp. The hotel is dated from the check in desk to the bedroom furniture to the television in the rooms.
During our 2 weeks stay we have had to contact the front desk on six occasions to have the room cleaned and mini bar stocked. The mini bar has only been stocked on three occasions.
Some of the staff seem unhappy to be here and you regularly need to ask for drinks at breakfast and lunch. If you tip well it doesn't really change Much.
The food is very good but on a couple of occasions we had to wait for an hour as the restaurants were over crowded.
We have been bitten a lot by mosquitos and feel the hotel could do more on this front. The pool area is swarming with bugs and is rarely cleaned, the hotel rooms have lot of ants and in the Mexican restaurant we seen a mouse.
The basics let the hotel down as it has a lot of potential but as I mentioned needs an overhaul from top to bottom.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MrJohnnieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 4th trip to Secrets St. James/Secrets Wild Orchid...needless, to say, it is our favorite. We have stayed at both and one is just as fabulous as the other. My husband and I brought our 3 adult children and their spouses.
Wayne at Bordeaux Restaurant was fabulous! Karen at Baracuda Bar was tops! Susaan at World Cafe was great, along with Chef Patrick!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a great view...ground floor is perfect for walking out to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 230Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
14.0 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,557 reviews
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
9.9 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,930 reviews
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.3 km away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 26,419 - ₹ 63,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing