We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlimited Friendlieness, Unlimited Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Our travel was Jul 26- Aug 1st.
Immediately upon entering the resort, we were welcomed (with rum punch of coarse!!)
Our stay was extra memorable due to our concierge Shevanie Johnson (The best concierge in all of JAMAICA.!!!)

Pros:
Great Quality food everywhere-
Jerk Chicken cart and Coconut cart were great.
Over 15 restaurants and bars
Friendly staff - every one of them
Clean, well kept property and rooms
Beautiful views of the multiple beaches and hillsides
Luxury all around in every detail and all of it included
Lots of activities throughout the day
Drinks brought to you on the beach
Quality of food in restaurants was excellent
Rooms were large and had Jetted tub, shower, and toilet all separated

Cons:
Could have used more authentic Jamaican breakfasts (Ackee & Codfish) etc.
More parties on the beach!!! wonderful beach, use it more at nights.

Room Tip: Best ocean views are on the 3rd to 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,037 - 2,041 of 6,535 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Great Resort. FRIENDLY staff. Grounds and rooms are kept impeccable. The lobby is beautiful.

Shout out to Shan, the customer service rep, I want to move to jamaica and become her BFF. She was amazing.

Lots of food choices. I'm from NYC,, it's hard to please my palate when it comes to food..All inclusive food is bland to me everywhere. To be honest I thought the buffet had the tastiest options. Jamaican jerk cart was slammin! A little too spicy for my husband, however, you can opt for no sauce and this tones the chicken down.

Beach: gorgeous. Drink service available on beach. Towels available for everyone. I found enough seating on beach.

It's a great resort, I will defintiely stay at a secrets property again if I was to do all inclusive.


Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ksegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Firstly most of what you read is true.
Fridge not cold enough
Bathroom funny set up
Blah Blah Blah
But anyone who says the food is not amazing or the staff are not the nicest people you would ever want to meet are crazy.
Had a great time and loved every minute.
Message to anyone checking out weather report..!!!! (Just ignore it) We went mid July for 11 days and if weather report had been correct we would have been sat in thunder storms for the whole holiday. LOL..Not the case.. Amazing weird weather. Blazing sun with thunder miles away so loud it sounded like the building was falling down. One hour of rain for whole holiday.
Sea gorgeous and calm and warm. Grounds beautiful. But I think the staff made the holiday so good. Spa treatment was good also.
Basically a wonderful adult holiday, very relaxing and couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We just returned from Secrets St. James after spending this past week there. This was a getaway for my wife and I for our 15-year anniversary and could not have imagined a better vacation. This is our first trip to Jamaica and we found it to be a beautiful place with incredibly friendly people. Just some quick thoughts and tips below from our perspective on the key features of the resort. To varying degrees, they are all pros with the only con at the end.

Location: Part of the reason we chose Secrets in Montego Bay was the proximity to the airport (without being too close). It was a 30 min on the way in due to a traffic jam (at 3PM on a Monday?) and only 10 min on the way out.

Grounds: As many of the reviews have said, the grounds are impeccable. The look of the resort is understated but very nice and the grounds crew works very hard on it (quietly) all day long.

Rooms: We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and I have no idea why and we didn’t ask questions. However, everyone we talked to seemed to be thrilled with their rooms. Tip: The rooms are surprisingly high-tech. One thing we learned the hard way is that if your sliding doors are not all the way closed, your A/C won’t work.

Preferred Club: The Preferred Club for the St. James and the Wild Orchid are each in their own buildings. We were in the St. James Preferred Club and it was very nice but the non-Preferred Club building looked very nice too. The St. James Preferred Club is definitely the quietest part of the hotel during the day due it’s location.

Pools: This is a huge resort with 700 rooms, and it was full when we were there, but the four pools seem to handle all those people very well and don’t see remotely crowded. The pools are also all beautiful with a variety of very comfortable chairs. There is a bar at each pool and wait staff who will come around and bring you drinks regularly as well. Perfect. Tip: Each pool has a heated and a non-heated side.

Beaches: The beaches for each resort are relatively small and contained. So if you want long moonlight walks, you’re out of luck. If you want beautiful turquoise water, sand, comfortable chairs with unlimited drinks delivered to you, you’ll be happy.

Food: We’re not foodies who need five-star type meals prepared by a famous chef, which is usually not what you get at an all-inclusive resort anyway. We really liked the food we had at every restaurant. The buffet at the World Café is great for lunch. Plus there is plenty of food everywhere all the time. And I fully agree with all of the excellent reviews of the jerk chicken served by the pool. Tip: The jerk chicken line was consistently shorter on the Wild Orchid side for some reason.

Entertainment: This may have been one of the best parts of the resort. The evening entertainment was excellent every night we were there. They had a great “house band” called Pace that we really enjoyed. There was also a good cirque du soleil (obviously scaled way down) that was good. It’s just nice to have something to do after dinner each evening.

Fitness Center: While the equipment is very nice, the fitness center is just too small for a resort this size. As you might expect, it’s busiest in the morning so I would say just go at an off time, particularly if you want a cardio machine. The tennis setup was OK and they provide rackets and balls to borrow as well as a clinic run by a pro a few times a week. There is only one court but we had not trouble getting it whenever we wanted it (they take reservations).

Other tips
• Club Mobay – we paid for Club Mobay for Arrival and Departure. I would say it is worth the extra money for arrivals to expedite you through customs, especially on a crowded day. Really all it gets you on departure is access to a really nice lounge, but not much else.
• The rules of the road for tipping are very unclear. They are clearly appreciated but if you tip everyone you could (waiters, cleaning people, bartenders etc.) you’ll drop a lot of cash in a hurry. If you plan to tip, take a lot of small bills. Change is hard to come by.
• There is no real difference between the St. James and Wild Orchid as far as I’m concerned. It’s one big resort.
• If you are going with a special someone, do the romantic dinner. It’s obscenely expensive and worth every penny. Such a special experience. If you can, try to get one of the gazebos.
• Don’t do the bike tour. The resort is in a kind of industrial port area and there’s just nothing around it worth seeing.
• If you can, wait until you get to the airport for departure to buy souvenirs. The selection is better and the prices are cheaper than the shops at the hotel.
• The wifi was surprisingly good, even by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We have mixed feelings but would probably return. This is gonna be long, sorry. We visited in late July 2015 for 5 days and booked very last minute. Our stressful lives just needed a break. We have been to many all inclusives including a few high end but we are not very picky, especially for these short trips. A quick note about the resort(s), they are almost identical resorts and we saw nothing to put one over the other. We certainly didn't feel that either one was quieter than the other. The restaurants are closer to Wild Orchid but it's a 5 minute walk from one end of the grounds to the other so not an issue. We did pay a decent amount to stay here, rivaling some of the higher end places we have visited so our expectations were on the high side.I'll take this in order...

We arrived about 1:30 PM and were a little frustrated with the lengthy check in. They pushed for the Welcome Breakfast (timeshare sales) and we declined, more than once. They gave us the "resort credit" coupons and explained the ridiculous way they had to be used. $40 per person per day in the spa on sessions 45 minutes or longer. $10 per day off expensive bottles of wine etc. Who buys expensive wine at an all inclusive? We were very surprised they didn't push for the preferred upgrade, more on that in a minute. We were then sent (not escorted) to our room. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and it was LOUD! Pounding music and partying people. The room was average for a resort of this caliber. Funky setup for the bathroom with a curtain dividing it from the bed, a half closed glass door with a sign that says "This door doesn't open or close" (HAHA) and a very small balcony. Seeing small balcony and loud music had me scampering back to the front desk to try and upgrade to preferred even before our luggage arrived. Full! Now we know why they didn't push us! About 5:30 the music stopped and the pool quickly emptied. We took a nap and went for dinner.

All the restaurants are in one area and there were lots of people milling about. It felt crowded. We entered the Mediterranean place and were seated quickly. We ordered drinks and 90 minutes later as we were leaving the drinks came. Oh boy... Next morning we realized that there was only one breakfast venue. They were pushing 700 people through ONE buffet? Oh boy again... Afterwards we went to the beach and had no trouble finding chairs together under an umbrella. Towels were plentiful and no towel cards or anything. Take as many as you like! We settled in and started to finally unwind a little. Then two couples set up their iPod and speakers and started blaring European Techno, mixed with the pool music we were fit to be tied. At the resort less than 24 hours and ready to leave! We decided we would just have to make the most of it, and then the magic started. The couples were asked to turn their music down, a breeze picked up and the pool music switched to classic Caribbean. Then a server asked up what we would like to drink. Ahhhh...... Everything got better from that moment on.

You can see (not hear) planes landing in the distance steady from late morning until early afternoon. That's when the airlines like to come in, drop off, reload and go home again. That puts a huge amount of people at the resorts at the same time. No wonder check in was slow. The pool is loud from about 11 to 5 but guess what? You aren't in your room at that time anyway. Two gripes settled already!

Beach service was terrific and you could choose to be as far away or as close to the pool music as you liked. We spent our days on the beach wandering over to the pools occasionally. Later we went over to the "crowded" restaurant area with a whole new attitude. We strolled around casually deciding where to eat. No reservations except one venue so you don't have to decide ahead of time. We went Mexican and had AWESOME service! We quickly forgot the first nights experience and had great service the rest of the stay. Next morning back to the breakfast area and guess what? They may move 700 people though there in a few hours but they do it well! The buffet is huge and varied and the service is good. You don't feel rushed but when you leave your table is quickly reset.

Some people have said they felt the grounds were expansive but we didn't think so. They were immaculate though and although there are people pretty much everywhere it doesn't feel crowded. The staff were some of the nicest we have ever met.

Toughing on a few points seen in other review:
Bugs - NONE (in or out)
Staff - Super
Food - Above resort average
Loud - From 11-5 ONLY and only by the pools
Preferred - Didn't get to find out but saw nothing special walking through
In Room Fridge - not nearly cold enough
Noise from other rooms - non-existent
Local vendors on the grounds - none (nice)
WiFi - Free and very fast! (download their app to view activities and menus)

The only thing that stopped us from giving it 5 stars was them trying to sell you stuff everywhere. From spa service, to tours, to motorized water sports. In line for breakfast there is a desk and they are trying to sell you stuff while you wait in line. For the amount we paid and being an ALL inclusive we didn't appreciate this.

Bottom line - wait 24 hours to judge this place. Once we lost our attitude and adjusted to island pace we had a great time and would probably return.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
14.0 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,560 reviews
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
9.9 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,933 reviews
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.3 km away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 25,918 - ₹ 64,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing