We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We loved everything about this resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved everything about this resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Returned Aug 28,2012 from a week at Secrets St James. We loved this resort , it was absolutely beautiful, clean, great rooms and the food was good also. The best part was the staff who were always very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Our favourite employee was Andrew who was the bartender in the lobby bar at St. James. He was so much fun, polite and always made sure we were having a great time. Special mention to Releen at the front desk who went out of her way to help us when we had a slight problem with our room.Who can forget Oraldo in the buffet who entertained us with his beautiful voice and songs. Also a thanks to Latoya Young who kept our mini-bar stocked with exactly what we wanted. A great vacation, would come back in a minute..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,007
    1,298
    462
    136
    104
See reviews for
375
4,137
130
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in August and although the hotel is lovely, there are many things that need addressing in order for it to compare to other 5* establishments that we have visited previously.

We had a great flight with Thomson and arrived earlier than expected. We arrived at the hotel after the scheduled check in time but our room wasn't ready. We waited around 20-30mins for it to be done. I was expecting them to have decorated the room with petals/towel decorations as we were there for our anniversary but when we were shown our room there wasn't anything of the sort. We did have a banner on the door but there was no true explanation as to the delay..?

The main issue we had was linked with the food and the restaurants themselves. During the evenings only 2 restaurants are air conditioned-this became a nightmare. For a resort that's only 2years old-air con is something that either makes dining enjoyable or not. Being served soup in 30+ degree heat results in an uncomfortable dining experience. We dined in the Asian restaurant and although the food was nice, I literally couldn't eat it because I was too hot :(. The ones that are air con are the Mexican an the French.

The other issue was if you were not eating inside then you were outdoors-ok of there was mood lighting around or something but candle light doesn't really let you see your food easily or the menu for that matter. Also when it rains it results in mass queues as you cant then eat outdoors.

The outdoor seating area by the piano bar doesn't have enough seats for the guests and due to the layout can make it difficult for you to see the performances too. Speaking of the piano bar-the chap who plays should really learn more than 6 songs as after 2 weeks I could of played them myself I'd heard them that much! I asked for a request and he'd never heard of it-I didn't realise Coldplay was that obscure?!?

The hotel has a 90% American or Canadian clientele. Being from the UK, peace and quiet at times is what we look for on a relaxing holiday but we struggled to find this.

The pools are lovely and the beach was ok-quite small though. The lad down the beach were great, shout out to Darren-je was really lovely.

The jerk chicken cart is the best food you'll have whilst your there so eat plenty as there isn't much choice come evening ( if your not keen on fish) The coffee bar was great though and Garfield loved his job which rubbed off. The cakes there too are mmmmmmm!!!

We did a few trips, Dunns, YS Falls and Black River. YS in our view was 10x better than Dunns-it's quiet, less crowded and commercial and is a true natural beauty of Jamaica unlike Dunns which has become a one in one out system.

Jamaica itself is gorgeous and you must get out and see it for what it really is, although the airport experience wasn't very nice coming home-felt like we were being interrogated at times.

To summarize, the hotel is nice but nothing wow, food is average and drinks were plentiful. Each to their own and that so I'm sure you'll come to your own conclusions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

my husband and i just came back from our vacation in Jamaica we had a wonderful time at the resort, check-in was fast and Dexter took care of us during our stay. The staffs are friendly expect some that are in the shopping village. Marcia was my husband favorite, she was very helpful and assisted us in getting our jerk seasons. The Secrets Boutique was so expensive and the manager Bernadette was horribble, she is very pushy and everything in the store either she has one or someone she knows have one.Apart from that we had a blast and will recommend this hotel to anyone , but stay far from Bernadette.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanticebrown19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I visited Secrets St James in July of 2012. I was sick upon return and it's taken me a while to get this review in.

This property was clean and the rooms were well appointed, it just didn't have anything above and beyond that of any other All-inclusive we'd been to before.

The check-in process needed a bit of work. They didn't appear ready to accept 5-8 couples at one time. The refreshments during the wait were appreciated.

The bar service was average. The Bartenders were friendly. The food wasn't bad during breakfast. The meal service during the evenings left a lot to be desired. There were several nights that we experienced a 30-40 minute wait and one night we were told we might not eat at all (8:00 pm arrival time).

The spa was wonderful, the beach was clean, the fitness center was small but clean.

I thought Secrets, left a lot to be desired and it felt like some place I'd been before only the food was a lot worse. It just left a lot to be desired.

I probably would not return. I'm going back to Couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stcymccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just got back and have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. It's beautiful and clean, the staff is so friendly and attentive.. I can go on and on with nothing but great things to say. Food is excellent including the jerk chicken and fresh fruit served on the report. Swimming with dolphins was awesome!!! This place gets a 11/10 it's gorgeous I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.2 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#14 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,666 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.4 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,160 - ₹ 54,132
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing