We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from Secrets and look forward to returning soon. The wait staff and all personnel are top notch and very courteous. The food and drinks were wonderful and we never got bored because of the numerous choices offered at each resturant. I have read some negative reviews about the food but, I am very happy that it did not stop me from coming. If you are looking for escargot, filet mignon and lobster, then you will be disappointed. Apon arrival we had a minor issue with a leak in our room but, that was quickly fixed and we were moved to another. Our room was ocean front located in building 3 fifth floor and we had amazing views of the ocean, mountains/hills and the pool. The comfort of the bed was amazing. There are many activities on site to keep you entertained. If you are looking for pure relaxation, this resort offers this as well. The jerk cooking class offered Mon and Thurs is a blast and you get to take home the receipe for Jerk sauce!!! The beach area (swimming area)although a little small was very nice and secluded from the other resorts nearby.

Room Tip: Corner ocean front rooms on upper level allows for spectacular views of the water and the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneX212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,007
    1,298
    462
    136
    104
See reviews for
375
4,137
130
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just back from couples getaway 6/17 to 6/22. Check-in was almost too friendly and helpful. If you're used to being ignored the check-in will start the vacation off on the right foot. Paid a little extra for a room with balcony parallel to the ocean (all rooms face ocean, but theses rooms were closest to ocean with great view, plus I know that's what my baby wanted). I was raining pretty hard when we got to the room. We had a leak in the bathroom ceiling. Called frontdesk and we were moved to a higher level floor with better view in a short while. The beaches aren't wide but walkable. Plenty of beach lounge chairs. Great beachside drink service. Food and drink at every turn. Don't miss the Tastee patties at the Barefoot Grill. It was a beautiful walk to the shopping and dining area. The grounds are beautifully maintained. Resort staff was everywhere. They are extremely well staffed. The breakfast buffet was huge with wonderful selections. Lunch was always jerk chicken from the chicken cart on the beach with burgers and tastee patties. Consumed a good deal of Red Stripe light from the tap at Barefoot Grill and numerous icee drinks and mixed drinks. No problem with the drinks. Anyone that complains about the dinner options must literally be royalty, because the restaurants were wonderful with great food choices. The service was so positive it was a joy to dine. Watching Jamaican's perform tempanyi (sp?) cooking at the Japanese restaurant was a hoot,. We did the Jerk cooking class and loved the red snapper we prepared. Look for Stanley at the fresh fruit cart. He seems like he runs the place and offers hilarious commentary to all guests that engage him he is quite an attraction unto himself. Our digital camera crapped out on the second day so we found a driver to take us on an emergency trip to find a new camera. He took us to 2 stores and waited patiently as we decided. He also let us use his personal phone to check in with family in US because our phones didn't work on the island. We did some shopping at Hip Strip and Rose Hall Shoppes, and did the bamboo rafting down the Martha Brae River, and made the trek up Dunn's River Falls. All fantastic. The only bad part of the trip was immigration and customs, just a hassle. We loved this place, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GatorMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at St. James with no upgrade. Terrific experience in every respect. Room was large, very nicely appointed, comfortable bed, and beautiful view. Breakfast buffet was standard, but very good. Many options for lunch. Each were very good. The best dinner was at the French restaurant. Other restaurants were good too. We were most impressed with the beauty of the grounds and beaches. The landscaping and views were beautiful. This resort was extremely clean. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. We found ourselves more than happy to tip the staff who couldn't have been more gracious. Drinks were all American named brands like Johnny Walker, Absolute, etc. Don't miss the Jerk chicken guy and the fresh fruit guy on the beach. Entertainment both afternoon and night was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Me and My husband went for the first time to Jamaica back in February. Having travelled before in the Caribbean we had high expectations from the outset. We both love to say Secrets St James has exceeded in many areas the previous experiences. We were impressed by jamaican people friendliness and life attitude so much different to the European 'live to work' attitude. We really got inspired and lived the live to the full during our stay there.

The room was absolutely fantastic especially the bed mattress which makes you feel like sleeping on a cloud...well not quite that high. I could see later on the Facebook people who had thoughts to start a business with those mattresses (my husband had thoughts as well). The see view from the room balcony is gorgeous, you don't need to buy post cards just take a good photo from there. We had a room at 5th floor in the Building 2, centrally located between buildings with full see view. Fantastic day and night views.

The food is very diverse and sometimes quite spicy (don't forget you're in Jamaica); don't miss the Jerk Chicken cart on the beach...you won't need a lunch to the restaurant after that. Very, very nice! Night entertainment is second to none, fantastic singers and dancers (watch out for Vanessa), it is just amazing how they can sing dance and be so happy after a long day on the beach and around the pool.

The water sports team is very friendly and always ready for a chat; Junior is now one of our friends. We spent quite a bit of time around water sports, going with the mini catamaran off on see. The see and beach are gorgeous, clean white sand and water, well maintained by an army of friendly, down to earth people.

I am looking forward to return to Secrets St James one day and definitely for 14 nights, we found 7 nights is not enough. I strongly recommend this resort, I am sure it is one of the crown jewels in Montego Bay.

And don't forget when you go there to make your best to fully understand the true meaning of "Yeah Mon! No problem!" you'll understand later when back home how much it helps to 'kill' the stress.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the buildings 1 or 2 and as high as possible as the lifts are always working. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Adrianabocanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I just came back from this place and What can i say?...This place was amazing! Food, drinks, rooms, beach and most of all the staff was great! The entertainment crew was outstanding and always kept us busy! Crazy Fabian aka Dancerboy lol and Bruce we cool as hell. They definitely did their jobs by keeping us company and having fun! Everyone was real helpful and friendly! Also DO NOT listen to reviews that say they hated walking from out hotel to the hotel next door for the restaurants because it is literally next door! Those people who complained about that are stuck up losers that are lazy!!!! Also the basic room is HUGE! you will waste your $ by getting into the presidential suites! Overall it was by far the best place i have been!

Room Tip: The basic room was good enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.2 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#14 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.4 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,160 - ₹ 54,132
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing