We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT,GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT,GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

WOW, Where to start. First, Great welcome home greeting. Everyone was so wonderful. Check-in was great. We were a group of 12 and they did everything they could to make us all happy and we were.

Secondly the staff were all Great from from maintenance, up to management. Bartenders were great and servers at pool and beach side were also over the top, Special thanks to Simone, who waited on us at the pool and is an asset to the company, She is friendly, always smiling, fast and so efficient.

The entertainment staff were also great, friendly and accomadating.

The Morning buffet was wonderful, with great variety and well as the lunch buffet.
There are a great variety of restaurants and all are actually good, I think the Italian was our favorite. Make sure you hit the burger bar by the beach. Great burgers, and Jamaican beef patties for a quick fix. Also get a carved piece of fruit from the cart, or some great jerk chicken from the cart that moves around. Always people lining up for some great chicken. Kudos to the coolers along the walk by the beach with bottled cold water. GREAT idea.


Great pools and beach areas. All well kept. Towels were always available and plentiful.


Now that leaves the rooms, wow, all beautiful, great rooms, We did not stay in preferred rooms, but were very pleased with what we had. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable, whirlpool tub in room, mini fridge, sitting area. Maybe next trip we will upgrade.

It also seems the employees are happy with their jobs and are treated with kindness. They all love the hotel and hope we do too. Happy employees make happy guests. Nice feeling.

This has been our second trip to a Secrets property and this one just knocked our socks off. Truly loved it. Being a returning guest many many times to Sandals, it seems we have found a new home and plan to bring many of our friends and family along.

To Mr. Huhn, Mr. Meany, Robert Coates, Devon, Billy Love,Simone, Cassie, Our deepest respect and thanks for making this a great resort and our stay wonderful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Rose & Chuck Neurohr

Room Tip: We stayed ground level and loved it. I am sure any room on property is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roemobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,198
    1,371
    497
    147
    119
See reviews for
405
4,373
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for 1 week at the Secret St James In Montego Bay. We were for 1 week form April 14 to April 21. The staff was excellent , the facilities were very good. Cassie from the entertainment staff did an excellent job. Our favorite restaurant was Portofino. Alan the Maitre D and Simone the chef did such a great job that we ate there 3 night out of 7. You need to check out Oraldo and Keri-Ann in the main breakfast restaurant, they are fabulous singers.
i would recommend this resort stay in the preferred section as it has it's perks. I truly enjoyed the free wifi coverage on the beach and throughout the resort

Room Tip: St James Preferred club and the rooms that are best situated as they are away from all the noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dom63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The resort is very nice, grounds are beautiful. In my experience it is always the staff that makes or breaks the vacation....The staff here is fabulous!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, new York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Second year at the resort. Great staff and management. Special thanks to Emilio General Manager Devon, Robert, Billy Love , Nicolas and all the rest of the great staff. Everyone was warm and friendly. Accomadations are wonderful and the rsort sparkles. The staff makes you feel very special like you are the only couple there. Highly recommend it for a relaxing and wonderful trip. Close to the airport and gorgeous views.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites and face the carribean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank admiralchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We planned this trip back in January to travel to Secrets St James from
04/25/2012 - 04/29/2012. We were torn about whether to go to Punta Cana or Jamaica but our travel agent Kirsten (Liberty Travel located out of King Of Prussia, she is awesome by the way.) talked us into Jamaica and we were glad we made that decision.

We did a lot of reading on this site in particular and were confused by the very high and very low ratings but not too much in between which made us a little nervous. We also got a little nervous after reading about the numerous Jamaican travel advisories, but not at any time did I feel unsafe or uncomfortable in our surroundings. Even the airport was better then expected and the flight crew (Caribbean) were very friendly and helped set the mood.

After being on the flight though I did find the bus experience rather frustrating, we were shuttled onto a bus and sat on it for 40+ minutes waiting for other people to come on board. Also on the way home our JTL tour bus operator practically demanded a tip with his hands outstretched (not very professional, you were going to get one anyway)

Upon arrival we went to check in and we again were very nervous after reading some reviews. Our check in ended up being under 20 minutes, we weren't asked to be preferred or watch any sales pitches. We were informed we were being "upgraded" from St James to Wild Orchid and when I asked what floor we were being upgraded to they stated "first." I adamantly told them I would prefer my 4th floor St James over their first floor upgrade, but the woman behind the desk got us a 5th floor on Wild Orchid which was great, so it ended up working out.

Our bellhop (wish I got his name) was incredible, got us two rum punches (can't recommend this drink enough) and walked us to our room answering any questions we had. Our room was beautiful and clean and we did not have the water problems other guests had with their showers. Our shower hot/cold stickers were placed incorrectly leading us to believe we didn't have hot water until we realized the mix up.

The cons about the room though: the bed is too soft, my back ended up hurting pretty bad towards the end of the trip, the "refrigerator" that is stocked in the room is actually a cooler, so all those sodas, water, and red stripes are lukewarm and ice didn't help much at all, we were dying for an actual cold drink by the end of our trip. There was a cloth curtain divider between the bathroom and the room but there were also frosted doors separating the toilet and the shower that could be closed, but you could still obviously see the person in there and the floor in the toilet area wasn't the most clean.

We did explore the whole resort but did stay at the the wild orchid side when swimming etc. The ocean is VERY rocky and VERY salty (burning because of how salty it is) and I would seriously recommend pool shoes as dorky as they are. The sugar reef swim up bar was a ton of fun even though the weather wasn't on our side. Big shout out to RODNEY from the swim up bar who really took care of us and was a very good bartender, he made the drinks strong but flavorful and would sample a dab of the drink on his arm to ensure the flavor (just like chefs do) I would recommend the Frozen banana, Rum Punch, Mellow Mood, and Denholm's
"4000" no clue what was in the "4000" but it will get you lit. (he also works at the sugar reef)

The Oceana which is located next to the sugar reef is great for lunches as you can wraps with pretty much whatever you want in them and there is a mini buffet there too (more like a salad bar)

We never had a problem with having to "reserve" seats by the pool as there was always spots readily available. Also whoever complains about the walk between St James and Wild Orchid, you really need to start working out more, it's approximately a minute walk, maybe? Maybe to the restaurants its 2 minutes at that.

Coffee bar located near the shops made good cappuccinos as well as iced coffees and there was also a ice cream machine located there that was pretty good.

We don't consider ourselves foodies but do enjoy good food. The room service which was great because of the availability kind of reminded us of really bad diner food, maybe 1 star at best. Also with the privacy light on they still would just sit there and knock (this is the only time at the resort I felt pressured to tip, and we tipped the whole trip probably too much but this was awkward.) And our secret box wasn't cleared with great frequency which could cause a back up and we didn't really even order that much room service.

The dinners at the restaurants (we ate at bordeoux and Blue mountain) were average not awful like some people have claimed, definitely not the best, but not inedible either. The food does seem to clash with the five star feel of the resort. Leroi from Blue Mountain was a fantastic waiter and Kameisha (spelling) from Bordeoux was also very friendly and helpful.

On mondays and Thursdays a painter and his wife show up and for 20$ per person he has a variety of paintings that you can select from and you paint them yourself with his assistant and they look amazing, well worth the money. Check him out if you can.

The bad side of this trip was my girlfriend and I both came down with very bad food poisoning, we were throwing up in unison for approximately 5+ hours. The day we got sick we only ate 2 burgers from the barefoot grill. I just read a more recent review that said they are precooked and sitting in water to just be reheated, I would stay away from the burgers there was it ruined our Friday night and our WHOLE Saturday, which was a real shame.

Some other thoughts the lifeguards were oblivious to everybody and were always goofing around and acting like kids which was annoying. The A/C seemed real touchy sometimes it would be freezing and other times it didn't seem to be working too great. We had to call maintenance twice, one because our safe stopped working and another time because our toilet began to overflow (they don't flush very great) both times an employee was upstairs within 5 minutes.

Overall we had a fun trip, the drinks were strong, there were top flight liquors and they weren't hidden either. I don't know if we would go to Secrets Montego Bay again simply because it was a very low key resort and we would probably go somewhere with a little more going on during the night etc and the epic food poisoning didn't help.

Shout out to Conrad + Gladdys (sp) and Anthony + Tammy and their group from South Jersey had a great time with them at the sugar reef on 04/27/12, sorry we couldn't make dinner, food poisoning wasn't fun lol!

Room Tip: If you want a "true" ocean view, you want 3-5 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.6 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
10.6 km away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
138 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,173 - ₹ 52,977
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing