We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very nice all-inclusive - the property is less than 3 years old. The people are very nice and always willing to serve drinks. The food was good, not amazing but still good. The rooms were great, nice beds, huge bathrooms and great decks. Also very nice not having children running around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,064
    1,316
    467
    136
    107
See reviews for
381
4,203
131
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just got back from a great week at Secrets St James. You are greeted by "Welcome home" upon arrival. The rooms are very spacious and very clean.The bed is huge and really comfortable. We turned our air con down so the room was like a fridge when we came in from the beach. The whole resort is very clean, the staff work very hard to keep everything spotless, its only the odd few clients that that make a mess!! I saw workers cleaning the paths and walkways with industrial cleaners, and gardeners washing the pebbles in the garden borders! There are 2 coves - the ocean is a little rocky in places so watch your toes, the beach has many shells on so some can be a bit sharp if you tread on them! We were looked after on the beach by Nadine (Oldfield) who was excellent and kept us well hydrated - she introduced us to the Jamaican Smile cocktail which became a firm favourite.
The food was good and there was something for everybody - I am a fussy eater and always managed to find something I liked. We ate at the Japanese, Carribean, Sea Grill, Ocean Grill, Mexican and World Cafe. Every day the Jerk chicken man walked up and down with his cart - the chicken was really tasty "the Magic" sauce was a bit fiery for me but everyone else seemed to like it. There was also a man who brought coconuts in a cart and would add a good slug of rum if you wanted. There was another cart with fresh fruit - pick your fruit from gorgeous mango to a whole pineapple.
There was no problem with sun loungers as long as you got there before 10.30 - everyone seemed to crawl from their hiding places around this time, there was also an endless supply of towels.
We stayed for a week and I really enjoyed it, I would consider returning and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms at St James are quieter and high floors (3 upwards) have better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Whittos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my third time at this resort and it turned out to be a great girls getaway! Very relaxing and beautiful! Food is wait staff are excellent, as well as great bartenders too. A bit more crowded this time, and a little hard to get seats at the pool. Saving chairs with towels is ridiculous and this should be stopped. First-come, first-serve is a better way to handle it. The beach area could use some clean-up and a lot of the chairs at the beach area are broken. Other than that, this resort is wonderful!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klsmedic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

What an amazing resort. My husband and I travel a lot. Secrets by far...... is the best yet! The food was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have worked in the food service indusrty for 20 years. You will always have those who are never happy, and let one little thing snowball into something bigger. I don't see how anyone could rate this resort as "terrible" or "won't be back". I guess we all have an opinion, but no one is perfect. Our air in the room worked great, the rooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff amazing! I also received info from 3 other couples about there stay. All 3 couples were beyond pleased. REMEMBER...you cant always believe what you hear. See for yourself! You will be more than pleased!

Room Tip: 5th floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank e1body
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, IA.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our awesome company, RK Dixon, picked Secrets St James for our incentive trip. we arrived April 21st. We packed a set of clothes and swim wear in carry-on, just in case. Our group of 54 was invited with, "Welcome Home", quickly signed in, rooms were ready, welcome orientation and off to our rooms. Rooms were excellent.

Down to the beach to start and except for meals, entertainment and sleeping, the beach is where we stayed, oh a couple trips to the pool bar.

We had been staying at RIU Grand Palaces for 3 years in a row prior, Secrets was an awesome change AND almost ALL commented, THEE best trip YET.

Thanks to Delano at breakfast, too.

Room Tip: Every room guaranteed sea view, because of design and layout, and is, cannot get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,824 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,587 - ₹ 48,579
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing