We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one year anniversary, Thanks Secrets, Stanley and staff, from the Wilsons- Johnson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montgomery
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great one year anniversary, Thanks Secrets, Stanley and staff, from the Wilsons- Johnson”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just getting back from Secrets St. James for our one year anniversary and have to say it was really nice. The people were excellent, great customer service from the time we arrived until the time we left the resort. The hotel was nice and clean. The beach was nice with beautiful sunsets. Beds are very comfortable. Food in my opinion wasn't all that great, being from the south we like our food with soul and flavor. We did, however enjoy the jerk chicken from the cart on the beach, plently of flavor and lots and lots of spice. The Japenese resturant was good and the red snapper from Seaside was pretty good. When you get there you have to meet Stanley, he was great, he loves his job and people and it shows. Also Harry in the piano bar was great and Shanea in the lobby, just everybody. Thanks so much for making the Wilson's feel right at home, just hate the next time we come the kids are not allowed!!!! Love you guys!!!!

PS. Stanley also does a nice class for how to make Jamiacan Jerk Chicken, which was also fun!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,143
    1,352
    485
    142
    111
See reviews for
395
4,306
136
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,335)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I Spent 11 nights at Secrets St. James, Montego Bay for our Honeymoon in February. The weather was awesome... we only had one day that was cloudy and had some rain. 81 average temp every day... a mix of sun and clouds with a breeze off the ocean kept us from getting too hot. The rooms were very nice and mostly clean, the floors could have been cleaner, i had to aske to have the floor swept and mopped or it didn't get done. I think that was my only complaint all though i really didn't complain. Everything else was too good to complain about something so minor. The Food was fantastic we preferred the aceana and seaside grill for lunch over the buffet. The Blue Mountain (Jamaican food) Restaurant was our favorite for dinner. As preferred guests, we also enjoyed hor devoer and breakfast buffett in our lobby.... all day long! everytime we walked through there we had to grab a bite :) we both gained a few lbs unfortunately do to the constant eating and fruity drinks. We enjoyed being pampered at the spa and laying by the pool and on the beach. There were plenty of activities going on for those who choose to participate. I was asked to be a poolside model in a fashion show for the hotel botique which was lots of fun. We made use of the hobie cats and took the glass bottom boat ride.... the reef just off of the shore in front of the hotel is pretty cool. Being in Jamaica for an extended period allowed us time to enjoy the all inclusive resort along with time to see the real Jamaica. The Horseback trip was fun... we rode through a very poor village... our photos look like the ones you would see in national geopraphic.... a reality check. The second portion of our horse trip took us into the ocean to a dept that our horses were actually swimming... pretty cool. Our trip to Dunn River Falls was disappointing in that there were 3 cruise ships docked that day so it was packed with people and we had to hold on to hands like a chain gang to climb the falls which was not fun at all... the falls were neat to see but would have enjoyed much more if we werent treated like a herd of cattle. Our third excurtion was to swim with the dolphins and we enjoyed that very much. The Staff at Secrets was fantastic. We always felt special and were treated very well. They were truley happy to be there and always greeted us with a smile and a friendly comment even just in passing on the sidewalk. We are especially greatfull to Deidre Johnson (conceirge at St. James Preffered) as she was most helpful in arranging our tours along with setting us up with a driver for our own personal trips off Property. She Always had big smile on her face and enjoyed conversation with her throughout our stay. We hated to leave her! We are also greatful for meeting Tameika James (front desk at wild orchid) She was very happy to help assist us and our driver in finding a particular church that we wanted attend on Sunday. We enjoyed also visiting with her about the local people and culture. We can's say enough good things about these two young ladies!! All of the Staff were always very curtious, friendly, kind and welcoming. We Loved Secrets so much that we decided to join their unlimited vacation club and will be returning for many years to come... to Jamaica and looking forward to enjoying the other secrets, now, dreams and zoetry locations in mexico and the carribbean.

Room Tip: We would definately spend the extra $ to be in the preffered section again as the main st james pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I surprised my wife on our one year anniversary last year in June of 2011. Flew out here for the weekend (Fri-Mon) from the states. From the time we arrived to the time we left everything was amazing. My wife and I travel alot to many places so I know how to recognize good service when I see it. All I have to say is you get many choices of restauraunts (All Good), Top shelf liquior (Goose,Bombay,etc), 24 hrs room service, beach side drink service, Onsite night club, and friendly staff. Highly recommend this to everyone going to Jamaica!!

-Mo

Room Tip: Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens Cross Roads
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Secrets was a beautiful place and the staff was friendly and was there for every beckoned call. My husband and I didn't like the restaurants for dinner as we had to wait for a table and there were limited items on the menu. We prefer a buffet where the food is plentiful and you don't have to wait for a table. It just took long to eat dinner and when you've been in the sun all day and you're hungry, I don't won't to wait 45 minutes to an hour for dinner. They do have a breakfast buffet that was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

An overall lovely experience. Can't wait to visit for this year 2012. Need to see that they will top my first experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.4 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
20.1 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,541 - ₹ 40,884
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing