We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

From the moment we arrived at the airport the Sandals crew were on top of it. This is the smallest of the properties in the Montego Bay area and great if you are looking for a slower pace spending time with your companion. We got a special with the Butler service and recommend this especially if it is your first trip to a Sandals resort. It saved us a lot of time trying to decide what to plan and answers all questions. You get issued a cell phone to contact him 24/7. Stephen the Butler took care of our dinner reservations prior to our arrival and we were able to get in the hard to book restaurants. The shuttle to the neighboring resorts runs every hour so if you are looking for beach activities they are always available. The beach here is a public beach and have to admit gets a bit loud at night. This presented no problems at all and the experience was a relaxing vacation all the way around. Would recommend this resort to anybody in the future and plan to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    417
    136
    74
    58
See reviews for
71
1,333
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we first arrived at the airport in Montego Bay and found our Sandals rep,we were told there were no rooms left at our resort. Due to our plane being delayed two hours in Halifax a few of us late arrivals did not get a room because they were doing renovations and didn't finish in time due to rain delays,flooding,no water. After an hour of finally getting the truth and deciding what to do they offered an upgrade to Ocho Rios. Beautiful resort except the rooms we got. A two hour drive to Ocho we got there in time to have supper. We were going there until wed,we arrived mon, and were going back as soon as the renovations were done. The drive there by bus was crazy. Even stopping to do a deal on the side of the road. Stoned driver and scarey ride not paying attention to the road. was a one and a half hour ride with him. The way back we had a cab.Nice and relaxed. Despite our bad start I loved Jamaica.Everything about it. If you want to do excursions stay at Ocho Rios because everything is close to it. Loved that Montego Bay was so close to airport, more time to spend at the resort. Food was great and lots of it. Service friendly,Drinks were good but sometimes would get an awesome one then go get another and not as good. Depends who's making them. Price was great. We are going to the DR this year because we couldn't get a price in Jamaica anywhere near as good as we did last year.

Room Tip: Get the top floor on the backside.They are recently renovated /No balcony but beautiful.And quiet be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We returned recently from a lovely visit to the Carlyle Inn. We were so pleased to return to the Carlyle and experience this charming resort again after a number of years. The staff is wonderful and offer a warmth and friendliness that you sometimes don't find at the larger properties. We found the grounds so pretty and beautifully manicured. The pool was inviting, the waitstaff always friendly offering great service, the food excellent; and there is always the ever running shuttle if you wish to visit the other properties in Montego Bay for the beach, watersports, or perhaps a different restaurant or evening entertainment. The staff at this resort is top notch from the GM Mr. Lance Parrish, to hotel manager Lisa, front desk manager Doreen, our wonderful butler Danesha and on and on. We did not meet one staff member that was not friendly and courteous. Although we love all of the many Sandals resorts we have visited over the years this little Inn has a very special charm and we can't wait to return. We are booked to do so later this spring as we celebrate our 20th visit to Sandals resorts at Sandals Carlye Inn.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LibraOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Sandals Carlyle and I have to say it was the best land based holiday I have ever had.

This resort is sold as the entry level Sandals and what it loses by not having the private beach and full on amenities that the other resorts have it makes up for in personality and intimacy, let me explain.

When you go to this resort you get greeted very personally and within a day everyone knows your name, your drink etc and then you spend a few days out at the other resorts on the beach at Montego Bay Sandals and admiring the private island and the Royal Caribbean resort, all of which have their own personality, (Montego Bay is more party and happening whilst Royal Caribbean is more refined and elegant) but I and many others always found ourselves back at the Carlyle by the pool or on the public beach here, we even met people who stayed at the Royal Caribbean and are now going to book again but at the Carlyle.

There are some things people have raised as issues which need addressing, firstly the beach is a public beach yes, but the staff will gladly set you up on the beach no problem, the locals love it when people mingle, they are no hassle (you get the odd one trying sell you stuff you don't want but just say no, they leave you alone) some of the best times were had partying with the locals.

Yes sometimes a plane goes by but virtually all of the main resorts in Montego Bay are by the airport, the Sandals in Montego Bay is right at the end of the runway and it is 10 times worse but is still not a problem, you will also get planes at the Royal Caribbean and also at the RIU Montego Bay just to name a few.

The food at all the resorts including Carlyle is exceptional, the service was fantastic, whatever you wanted it was never too much trouble and I would gladly go again.

Finally take an excursion and see some sights, if you want to do Dolphins go the one at Lucea, its half the price of the Dunns River Dolphin experience and just the same and we also did a day trip to Negril, for $75 we were taken out all day, played at Sandals Negril included, taken through various places to shop and then into The Cave next to Ricks Cafe to see the best sunset I have ever experienced, well, worth the money, make sure Dalton is your guide, he is famous for the tour

All in all, we have had a great holiday, would definitely do it again and probably will do

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We just came back from spending 9 days at the Carlyle Inn. All I can say is that it was my 5th time and it was just like my first. I love the Carlyle and all the staff. You will never meet a group of the most charming people as you do at the Inn. Very welcoming and sweet. Looking forward to next year. We have been home for only a few days now and dreaming about our days sitting around the pool and bar with friends with drink in hand and sun shining down on us.

Room Tip: The top floor or back rooms are the quietest. The front rooms and balconies are where you can see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momstheword42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
5.8 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
3.2 km away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
4.3 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,030 reviews
4.4 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,906 - ₹ 38,715
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing