We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 Year Anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1 Year Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I took a trip to Sandals Montego Bay from April 23-29, 2012. We landed in Jamaica and we were welcomed by the Sandals team who took our bags and invited us in a nice lounge area. Shuttle service was prompt but the drivers make it clear that they do not work for Sandals and they want a tip. The resort is very well maintained and everything is open to the outside. This resort is literally located on the airport runway and you will hear jets taking off non-stop. Water sport activities were fun. Restaurant food was phenomenal. Pizza place was awesome. Most of the bartenders were really cool and enjoyed their job. Room was nice and clean but had issues with ants in the bathroom and near fridge. There was no business center or free Wi-fi! They want you to purchase it at $14.99 per day and it is not guaranteed to work! We made friends with a lot of other couples during the trip. Everyone is really friendly. A lot of honeymooners and weddings were happening that week. Not a big fan of people marking their territory with items on a beach chair early in the morning and they are nowhere to be found all day! Do not feel bad about taking someone's spot, you are on vacation. Hands down best part about the trip was the no tipping policy. You do not have to worry about tipping everyone you see or having small bills. And lastly, I found out that May and June are the worst months to plan a vacation to Jamaica. We caught the heavy tropical rain the last four days. It was relentless but we made the best of it. -Bill & Karen

Room Tip: We did not spend so much time in our room and beachfront is not that close to the ocean. I would spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,284
    1,114
    402
    219
    145
See reviews for
167
3,876
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

After reading many reviews of different Sandals locations and talking with friends who had stayed at them, we chose to stay at Sandals Montego Bay. It was a really good choice, we were not disappointed at all. Well, there was one thing, but I will get to that later.

The Sandals experience started as soon as we made it to the Sandals Airport lounge. We checked in with someone out front who tagged our bags, told us it would be about 15 minutes until our bus was ready and directed us in to the lounge. Once we went inside, all the staff were very friendly and one even got beers for us while we sat down. A few minutes later, we were on our way out to the bus. This is one of the few parts that may be confusing to some, the staff makes a point to let you know the guys taking your bags do not work for Sandals. Translation, they are taking your bags the 100ft to the bus and want a tip. The trip is short and with in about 10 minutes we were pulling in to Sandals. We were given hot towels and then directed to the concierge\butler level check in lounge. Again the staff were all super friendly, drinks were in our hands in a few minutes and the check in process was quick. We were soon being escorted by a butler to our room.

That is where we had our one main disappointment, the room we were first given, was not what I had booked. I had called to make the reservation and specifically asked for the Bay Roc villa with the walk-in shower and large Jacuzzi tub. The room we were in had a standard bath room, though the room itself was really big and nice. It was one of the last rooms on the property, with only a private house next to it, which made for a quite area. We told out butler about the issue and she got to work on getting use changed. While they did try, we did have to go to the front desk on our own and ask for the change, which they were able to do the next day. We did loose three days in the room we wanted, but still had a great time in the other room.

Overall, the staff at Sandals were all amazing, helpful, friendly and seemed to enjoy being there. While we had the butler service, which I highly recommend, we didn't feel like we needed it all the time.

The food there was good, we were given reservations at each restaurant at Montego bay and at Royal Plantation. The best by far was the French restaurant at Royal Plantation. We asked for 4 servings for their appetizers, the best ones were there escargot and tuna. The best advice for any of the places at Sandals is, that you can ask for what ever you want. We generally ordered one of almost everything at each place so we could sample it all. Other good places to eat are the Royal Thai, The Pub, the Pizza\snack bar, the Italian, and Stew Fish. Breakfast was also really good, we had it delivered to our room each morning to have break fast on the patio looking out to the ocean. We tried the breakfast buffet once, it was good and the outside seating is the way to go.

There is always something to do here, for the first 3 days we did a lot of nothing. We just sat by the beach at our tiki hut\umbrella that was reserved for us each day. The view was amazing and the sound of the ocean was relaxing after the stress of a wedding. At 11AM we would hear the music at the pool bar\piano bar start up and new it was almost the afternoon. We would walk over there to order drinks and lounge around the pool. This pool was a little less crowded than the main pool and main beach area, but was a lot more fun. The other people who hung around there were all friendly and outgoing. The sandals "Play makers" would come around with games and keep things interesting, occasionally going around with a bottle of sometime of rum drink and pouring shots in to your mouth. The jokes and vibe was definitely rated R and got close to NC-17 but ever really X. There was always a volleyball tournament or some other group activity going on, so you an either always be doing something, or just hang out and do nothing. We also went out on the Hobie cats, kayaks,tubing, snorkeling and glass bottom boat. All of which were well worth trying out.

Going back to the room.. When we got put in to the correct room, we were so happy we kept bugging our butler and front desk to be moved. The room was amazing! I am a tall guy, and I fit in to the tub with room to spare. Our butlers would run a bath for us each night with candles, champagne, music, and flowers.The building the room was in was right next to the piano\pool bar, but we never really heard anything from it since we were on the farther side. The bed was really comfortable, there are plenty of pillows of different sizes and firmness. The room was very clean and house keeping came by at least 3 times a day to change towels, take away any food trays or empty bottles.

We went here in March, so it was not very busy. We were able to walk right up to almost every bar at almost any time of day and night. All the bartenders were very good and all seemed to have different specialties. We had a habit of just asking them to surprise us and I don't think we were ever made the same drink twice. We had been told to tip the bartenders by others before going there for better service, but that was not needed. Also, from what we were told while we were there, tipping them can get them in trouble. The drinks were also not low on the booze as can happen in many other all inconclusive places, while they use a lower proof alcohol, they did not skimp on it when pouring. They also had a wide variety of brand names and type, which we noticed changed at each bar. The only thing there is no choice in is beer, which, I LOVE beer, so it took some getting used to. The thing that helps, is that the Cricketers Pub server Guinness bottles. So that was a nice change to get that after having had red stripe all day.

All in all, we had an amazing time at Sandals and would not change a thing!

Room Tip: Bay Roc Villa Suites are they way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Couple of inside info things to mention if you are thinking of visiting this Sandals:
1) It is like behind the fence of the airport, so planes take off and land constantly near the hotel rooms (it tapers off in the evening)
2) The food is outstanding! Everything we ate we loved. The Tiramisu was unbelievable.
3) We visited the private Island (at Royale Caribbean) for one meal- neat experience. While at the Royale Carribean, it was evident it was a much nicer, newer hotel, but the beach was smaller. I'd probably stay there next time if we went again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Tub in the Couples Swept away was nice. Small room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We are in our late 20's and travel very often.

We stayed here in April 2012.

Overall the resort is nice. Not the nicest most updated fancy Sandals out there. Ht nice.

Check-In- you arrive to the sandals desk at the airport and are given a nice drink and a place to relax till the bus arrives to your resort. This took less than 2 minutes for us. Once you get to the hotel after your 3 minute bus ride you are given a cool towel to freshen up and taken to the check in room. No standing in line at a front desk. The bell hop helps you with your luggage. In the check in room you take a seat and the gentlemen gets you a drink. You can relax in there till your room is ready. We ate a quick lunch and our room was ready.

Room: we stayed at one of the beachfront bungalows. A bit of a walk from the main areas on the resort but not a problem for us. The room was nice but a bit outdated furnishing wise. We had a jacuzzi tub and stand shower. 2 sinks. A very nice mini bar with full bottles of liquor. Getting the mini bar re-stoked was very very slow but we didn't mind. We're on vacation. The bed was comfortable. The AC and fan worked well.

Beach: the beach right outside our frot door was quiet. The beach area is large. Runs all the way down from the main areas to all the beach bungalows. Separated by mini piers. It was nice for the first few days then once the waves started the seaweed was up on shore. So much that you couldn't even walk the beach. The water was all full of it too. When this happened we used our exchange privileges to go to the other Sandals (Royal Caeibbean) the shuttle times are at the front entrance. Less than a 5 min drive. This sandals looked nice. Less of a party crowd and has the private island. Also because they have a huge reef outdront the waves and gross seaweed that was at the montego bay wasn't here. Such a nice change. Plenty of chairs Ava at both resorts. You would see butlers in the am reserving places for guests. Most the places that had shade were reserved. A bit annoyed about that but oh well.

Food: buffet is smaller than other places we've been with limited selection. Food there was ok. We loves stewfish (res RQ). Toyoko Joes was ok...(res RQ). We didn't like the Italian restaurant. (res RQ). We loved the other a la carte that didn't req a reservation. The food was amazing. The beach buffet on mondat's looked fun. We stopped by after dinner. The evening entertainers was ok. One day just had a fashion show so we hoped to see some more type of entertainment. During the day we ate at the beachfront place. You can order fire cooked pizza or on the other side order food (hamburgers grilled cheese Jamaican patties). It was good. They also have a self serve pop area there. And water jugs around the beach area. Rhere is also a bar at the beach. A few times we seen a waiter walking around taking orders. There is also a ice cream machine next to the pop area.

Pools: 2 and smaller ones without very much seating around them.

Watersports: lots to do. Just make sure to get it done when it's not windy. You can take the hobbie cats out yourself which was near. Kayaking. Wind surfing. Glass bottom boat. Snorkeling. Water skiing. We also seen a huge sandals cateramaran named red dread with a slide off it. Never seen it out. Which was sad.

Staff: made our vacation. So friendly and helpful. They were wonderful.

Planes: if the planes take off over the resort the noise is VERY loud. I work in the industry and yes- very loud and noticeable but we found it neat to see them. In our room you could clearly hear them but none landed too late or early so that never bothered us. If they land over the resort the noise is much less. Again we didn't let this ruin our time but yea it is loud and very noticeable.

Tipping: we found people tipping the bellhop who brings you to your room. Ours waited around for a bit hoping for one. We thought it was no tips so brought no cash only cc's so that was a bit uncomfortable. Otherwise everyone else didn't expect anything which is such a nice change. We left a gift for our maid the last day.

There is pool tables and ping pong.

Chess, shuffle board. Darts. The entertainment staff in the day have lots
of games.

Crowd: seems younger/party crowd.

Overall: we probably wouldn't stay here again for what we payed and how nice and updated some of the other sandals are. It was nice but not for us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Now that my husband and I (50/48) have been to two Sandals resorts, I have something to compare. We stayed at Beaches, T & C in 2010. T & C is bigger but also a little pricier however; I would go there again in a minute! We picked Sandals Mo- Bay, as we felt we got the most bang for our buck and wanted to try the adults only venue and as a treat, we chose to get butler service. I am now totally “brand loyal “to the Sandals resorts and strongly feel the need to write my very first review. I really feel that Sandals continually tries to “keep up” with the times and expectations of people (if you’re not an entitled/spoiled/overbearing vacationer). Yes, some may experience some “hiccups”, but you don’t stay in business for 30 years and not hit some bumps. We want beach, food and drinks, not necessarily in that order. We got those things and MORE! After our visit to T & C, we joined the Sandals Select Club….it’s free so why not? Joining may have contributed to our upgraded room from the Bay Rock Villa Honeymoon BF Suite to the Presidential Suite (#651)! LOVE LOVE LOVED it!! We also attended the SSG dinner and were totally pleased (more on that later)! Here are my highlights at Mo-Bay:

Butler service: A real treat! Butlers generally work in teams of two, however our butler’s partner was out and our butler was “a one lady team”……….SHE NEVER MISSED A BEAT!! We know she worked a 12 -14 hour shift because we saw her! Just having the little surprises and attention to us made this vacation outstanding!! Thank you, Renay for being the first and best butler we have ever met! She has set the bar high. She is a true asset to Mo-Bay!

Room: It was the Presidential Suite!! What’s not to love? It was perfectly located just steps from the beach, but far enough away from the main beach activities to be quiet and relaxing (even at night). This is a ground floor room. It was so nice; we actually spent lots of time on our “porch” just taking in the beautiful surroundings. Take some bug spray, mosquitoes are global, this is just common sense.

Food: There is lots of it. If you get something you don’t like….move on! Everyone is different and if you can’t find anything you love about something served here, the problem is YOU. Have a “Jamaican Smile” drink and life will be dandy!!!

Planes/Cats/Location: I hate flying so a non-stop flight from PHL is a major plus. Yes, the 10 minute drive from airport to resort is soooo worth planes overhead. They truly are gone in 10 seconds and are not even an issue! Not one plane past 9pm or before 8am. There are cats around, but they are healthy and smart, if you don’t want them around shoo them away, they will go. Cats keep away other crawly things, I prefer the cats!

Weddings: We did not have a wedding but ended up being invited to TWO by new friends. We went. Sandals did a great job from what we saw. Both couples were very pleased with their special day.

Spa: Do yourself a favor! Have a treatment at Red Lane and be totally rejuvenated!

SSG dinner: A four course meal served for only Sandals Select Guests. This was our biggest surprise. We actually expected a sales pitch and it was not even close. It was a fantastic dinner with the opportunity to meet and personally chat with management who were truly interested in feedback from guests. We spoke with Mr. G about our fantastic butler and before the end of the week; he did praise her for a job well done. Kudos for giving positive feedback to staff, which have a very challenging job! We received a bottle of rum to take home…..totally did not expect that!! Thank you!

Goal: To return to Sandals, Montego Bay ASAP!

Room Tip: Splurge on the butler service! Renay will NOT let you down. She is wonderful! Presidential Suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.8 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
14.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,100 reviews
45.4 km away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,573 reviews
7.5 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,661 - ₹ 62,516
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing