We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great affordable place to stay during our first trip to Jamaica.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great affordable place to stay during our first trip to Jamaica.”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed at Ridgeway Guest House a couple of years ago, but I still remember how much we appreciated Colin's hospitality. We were relatively young when we made our trip to Jamaica and didn't really have any plan on what to do when we got there. Colin gave us advice and things to see and do, as well as places to eat. If you are patient, he will drive you to the beach or the main strip for no cost. The guest house itself is located on a well landscaped property and our room was clean and air conditioned. We loved the fact that we had a balcony and would hang out there in the evening listening to people listening to music, laughing and singing around a bonfire somewhere nearby. I would recommend this guest house for travellers who are on a budget and don't mind a walk or drive to the beach. If you are used to staying in all-inclusive resorts this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NRF_Ed_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
22
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayettville AR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We loved our stay here it was a while ago but it is still fresh in my mind. Dont let the locals fool you, you can walk from the Airport to the guest house, or if your on top of things have Collin pick you up. He is a wonderful man, he showed us around the night we arrived in his car, telling us where to eat, and what not to do on the island!! Not to mention we loved our room, great veiw out to the ocean, and so quiet there!! The night before we left there was music wafting in our room that night, it was so beautiful and lulled us off to sleep, cant wait to come back, as we know where we will stay while in Montego!! I feel that it is easy to walk down to the beach from there, just keep on your toes crossing the street, they move fast and backwards to us Americans!! It is a 15 min. leasurly walk to Doctors Cave beach, which we really enjoyed too!!! You'd be dumb not to stay here in my opinion cause you get the real island vibe out where it's at!!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaded_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I just read Sailorman51's review from September 2007 and was reminded of how wonderfully Colin treated me back in January 2004. I was going through some crazy emotional stuff, and Colin's hospitality, kindness, great service and excellent accommodations were just great and somehow therapeutic.

When I explained that I taught yoga, he showed me the area he was building for conference rooms and yoga and related events. Now, more than three years later, I will travel back to Mo Bay to see what business I can bring from Minnesota TO Colin at his excellent guest house. Kudos and thanks to you, Colin.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank gaia-ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

It was a very alarming moment when I arrived at the Montego Hotel directly across from the Montego Bay Airport in Jamaica and realized that my pocket had been picked enroute, and that my wallet containing all cash and credit cards were gone. The very attractive desk clerk could only smile and say, "Sorry sir, without cash or a credit card there is nothing I can do to help you." At that point I had no option but to trek (On foot with heavy bags) next door to the Ridgeway Guest House. Sweating profusely, and extremely frustrated I was met at the door by owner/manager Colin Tatem who invited me in and personally fixed a large pitcher of ice water which I downed as I poured out my tale of woe. It was not long before using his telephone I arranged for a Western Union money transfer, and Mr. Tatem again personally drove me to pick up the cash,including a stop at a restaurant for food to go. All at no extra charge. My day was saved, and I spent the night in his most excellent air conditioned guest house . But the story did not end there. He insisted upon arising at 5:30 the next morning to again personally drive me to the airport to make sure that I made my flight on time. It occured to me that I had never encountered such kindness when traveling. Many, many thanks! Cecil Tindel, Sarasota, Florida

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Sailorman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaica plain, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Comfortable & affordable, with a delightfully hospitable staff and host. I stayed here for 3 nights while travelling through Jamaica with friends in 8/07, and while the guesthouse wasn't terribly accessible to Doctor's Cove by foot, Colin (our generous host) drove us to the beach several times and went out of his way to make our stay convenient and enjoyable. The accomodations were clean and roomy--and the A/C, TV, and balcony were added bonuses. Don't expect resort-style luxury, but do expect a lovely, homey, and cheap spot to relax during your time in MoBay. You'll get your money's worth at Ridgeway--especially thanks to the friendly and helpful service. The place is run by good-hearted, quality people!

  • Liked — excellent service (attentive & hospitable staff), clean & comfy rooms
  • Disliked — distance from the beaches & limited dining options
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nisha237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.6 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 km away
Salem Resorts
Salem Resorts
#11 of 14 in Runaway Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 km away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Property: Ridgeway Guest House
Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.I., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,268 - ₹ 4,212
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing