We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We visited Montego Bay in February 2012 and Collin and the Ridgeway guest house made the trip feel safe and secure! We were four girls and we were really happy to stay in such a safe place, and yet in the middle of the real life, not in a resort. The prices were reasonable, rooms were really nice and clean and the location is rather good. It is near the airport and there is a private beach (guarded and safe, entrance fee around 5 dollars/day) within 15 minute walk or 3 dollar taxi ride. The owner Collin was really really nice, picked us up from the airport and took us there when we left, helped us with all the things we needed. There was also a car rental place in the ridgeway complex, so it was easy to rent a car for a day and the prices were good. All in all, Montego Bay was a nice place as we wanted to see Jamaica but felt that Kingston would be a bit too much for us. I could really recommend Ridgeway to someone who wants to stay couple of nights near Montego Bay before continuing to other sides of the island. Nice and comfortable with good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katariina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
22
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My girlfriend and I had an overnight stay at the Ridgeway Guest House last year as we were in Jamaica for my sisters wedding which was taking place at the Beaches Resort in Ocho Rios. After spending a week at the Beaches Resort, I was somewhat disappointed because it didn't feel like the Jamaica that I had expected. Don't get me wrong, I had a great time with my family and friends, but the resort seemed to be missing that "something" that makes visiting a different country special. I had made arrangements to stay at Collins' place in Montego Bay the day before our flight back home. Collin was awesome! He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and happy with our room. The rooms were spotless and I genuinely felt at home. After talking to him about our trip, He basically could not have us leave the next day without experiencing a little bit of the real Jamaica. He took us around in his car showing us the best places to go and, most importantly, where not to go. After a quick tour of the "strip," he dropped us of at this place called the "Pork Pit." Now if your into "jerk," then you must stop there! Most AMAZING jerk chicken I've ever had!! We then spent the rest of the evening bar hopping the strip until 2 AM. My experience at the Ridgeway Guest House was over a year ago to date, but i can honestly say that day in Montego MADE my trip... and its all thanks to Collin.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericrnunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here one night because we had a flight out at 6:30 a.m. and were told we needed to be at the airport at least 3 hrs. early (not true, btw). The Ridgeway is right across from the airport.

The pros: We had room 6 with 2 queen beds, the place was spotless, had a/c, fan, refrigerator, coffee, safe, good shower. We had a private balcony with a view of the water. We were able to get free wi-fi in our room.The owner (Colin) took us downtown to shop and got up at 3:15 to take us to the airport!

The cons: There is nothing around the guesthouse. It is right next door to the Univ. of the West Indies and there is a small, hot snack bar but it closes at 7:30 p. and they were out of food when we went. There is no place to get snack or drinks. There is a hotel w/restaurant about 2 blocks away but it is up a very long and steep hill and it is quite a hike. And, there is a disco bar nearby that plays loud music from about 10:00 to . . . it was stilll playing when we left at 3:15!

If you are coming in late or leaving early, this is a very convenient place to stay . . . and Colin will do everything he can to make you happy.

Sandy (in Denton)

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The owner is friendly and goes out of his way to accomodate guests. We(four adults)stayed for four nights in January 2012. Colin picked us up at the airport, answered many of our questions that we had about the area, explained how to use the local transportation and took us to the local bus station(a main hub to catch buses going to and from tourist destinations around the island). Since our expectations are not based on a 5 star resort scale, we were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrilla1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

i went to montego bay to do business, the guest house i normally stay was book solid because of the jazz and blue concert, every were i call was full when i call Mr Collin at Ridgeway Guet house he told me he has one room left i was so glad when i get there he was on the out side waiting for me he help me to my room he was so warm and friendly he took me to get some thing to eat because i was tired of driving he make sure i was comfortable he alway check to see if am ok. Ridgewaw Guest house is my new spot for staying when every time am in montego bay

Room Tip: i stay in a room were it has a nother room with two small bed in it good for family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.6 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 km away
Salem Resorts
Salem Resorts
#11 of 14 in Runaway Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 km away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Property: Ridgeway Guest House
Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.I., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 4,199
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing