We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magneficent Incarnte” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Hill Inn
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
New York City, New York
1 review
“Magneficent Incarnte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

The staff were amazing, the rooms were elegant, and the view was a panoramic beauty beyond compare it, is a must see. We had a lovely wedding renewal ceremony
and it was made all the greater by the hotel's assistance and hosting of the event and its proceedings, we are thankful to the staff for their amazing job, especially Grace the planner.
Thank you from the McKenzie family.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowers027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Richmond Hill Inn (now known as Grace Hotel) just last week. It was by far the nicest most relaxed Inn we have ever stayed at. The view is spectacular, the service is impeccable and the character of the place cannot be replicated. It is like walking back in time. You almost expect Clark Gable and Rita Hayworth to dance around the pool at any moment. It has kept its grandeur of the past and not bowed down to the all-inclusive commercialized hotels that so many people are wanting these days. It has CHARACTER!!! Grace, Gail, Ms Chen, Taylor - they all made our trip unforgettable. You have to love a place that keeps the same owners and many of the same employees for decades. That always says a lot about a place. We had to force ourselves to leave and go sightseeing. The pool and view are simply intoxicating. For breakfast they sit your table with the freshest fruits and pastries and give you 4 star service. I just can't go on enough about this place. It was a magical place to stay and we cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thood34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el sobrante
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Richmond Hill wasn't our 1st choice, but we were not allowed to stay at Vista De Bahia because we had 1 more person than we made the reservation for. Richmond Hill has a beautiful view of Montego Bay. The family that owns the hotel are very nice people. The mother was born in Austria (if I remember correctly), she moved to NY where she had her twin daughters. They moved to Montego Bay, where the twins were raised. They have owned the hotel for 50 yrs.The restaurant and pool area are nice. Our room with a kitchen was roomy and comfortable. They need to paint and update a little, but we were happy to be there at the same price for 2 rooms and a kitchen as we would have paid for one room at Bahia which wouldn't allow us to stay, because we were traveling with locals.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yovon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

The reviews on Tripadvisor were decent and the hotel was recommended by the guide books but it just did not match reality.
Issues -
The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment
The pool area had bits of broken glass
No mention of 3 Alsatian dogs - we travelled with a young child but seeing the dog go in and drink from the pool was a bit much
Attempt to charge for breakfast - though it was meant to be included
Restaurant was closed
The place was pretty empty save for other tourists coming to see the view
Good bits -
Great view
Nice staff
I think the place needs some investment so it can live up to its potential. Currently seems to be living off former glory days

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_Kew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I stayed for a full week at the Richmond Hill and enjoyed every second. It is the most beautiful hotel with a stunning view across Montego Bay. The hotel is so lovely that local drivers bring tourists there to look at the view at sunset as it is the best in the area.

When we were there, it was so quiet that we had the pool mostly to ourselves, and were upgraded to a suite, which had the same incredible view over the bay and an enormous terrace. Sadly the lack of other guests meant that the kitchen wasn't open, but the staff provided us with a lovely breakfast each day, and were happy for us to bring food into hotel. It was probably good that we had to go out each day to get food, or we might have stayed put the whole time.

If you plan to spend all your time at the beach, then be aware that it is a 15 minute walk, and the walk back has a steep uphill section! Taxis can be requested though. The reason that it is so much more affordable than other hotels is that part of its charm is its faded grandeur... This means that some things have seen better days.

We would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polldollScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.7 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#36 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 km away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 37 in Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.5 km away
Mynt Retreat
Mynt Retreat
#3 of 37 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Inn

Property: Richmond Hill Inn
Address: Union St, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,862 - ₹ 19,541
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing