We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

hi me and my sisters when to this hotel last year for a wedding ,when we got there it was night time. but at check in they could not find are booking so we had to wait for about 1hour to get sorted ,when they did sort us out they took us to our rooms ,when we got to the room someone else was already booked in there so we had to go back down to the front desk again so they could sort us out with another room, when we got sorted we just went to bed, after a day or two there was no hot water for about 2 days we had to get a washed in the sink i could not belive that we spend so much money for this, other than that the food was good, there is not much of a beach, it wasn't nice. what was nice was watching a moving out side by the pool at night that was great. we stop here for a week it was ok i would not stop at this hotel again because it abit far from the town even thougth it in montego bay.

Room Tip: stop in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMSunset, Manager at Sunscape Splash Montego Bay, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear England A,

My sincere apologies for any inconvenience endured during your stay, your feedback only serves to help us address the issues and much appreciated. Indeed, there was a hot water problem one afternoon due to unforseen cirumstances and addressed same day. We have four beaches to choose from so I am dissappointed and surprised you did not find the right one during your stay. Rest assured our beaches are one of our greatest attractions. Thank you for your comlimentary review of our food. We boast an Italian, Asian, and Jamaican themed speciality restaurants, and our "Bananna Walk" main dining room offering buffet style service. Thanks again for your feedback.

Operations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,177
    2,463
    1,040
    462
    335
See reviews for
2,551
1,402
113
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We just returned from a week at this resort for a wedding. When we arrived, we were very early (about 10:30a) so we had to leave our luggage until our room was ready. We just grabbed our bathing suits and headed to the pools and beaches. The staff was exceptionally helpful & friendly. Anything you wanted, they would take care of it for you.
We were travelling with our 8 year old, and the water slides were exactly what he wanted. He could play on them all day long. The only thing is if you want to get a seat by the pool, you have to get there at 6:30 am as people stake out their chairs by putting towels on them, and then returning 3 hours later after they have gone back to bed, got up again, had breakfast and returned. A little frustrating, but EVERYONE does it.
My one comment would be that the sound system where the shows are at the main stage is very poor. You can not hear what is going on, it all sounds very "blurred". If there was additional speakers around the room, you may actually be able to hear what is being said. This may actually promote audience participation. People won't clap and get involved if they can't hear what is being said.
The restaurant staff are very hard working. They have pre-shift meetings every day, and it seems to work. They are all very happy in their work, and always have a smile for everyone. Yes, Clinton at the omelette station is the best! But that doesn't mean that the other staff behind the sandwich station and carving station, or pasta bar aren't the best as well. They all work hard! Thank you for that. The specialty restaurants were great. Loved the Italian and the ambience.
The bars are all open at 10am and serve what ever you ask them for. I think they could use another bar tender on the pool bar in the afternoons, as only one server isn't enough to keep 4 sides of a bar happy. Although they do try, an afternoon in the pool at a swim up bar, you don't want to wait 20 minutes for a drink. The drinks were strong, sometimes too much so, but just get another cup of mix, and it's all good!
Rooms are clean. We didn't get our room cleaned every day, but that was our choice. We only needed towels some days. The shower head doesn't put out water very hard, and hot water was not always hot. No problems.
I definately would recommend this hotel for families, as the kids have so much to do. Yes, cruise days (Wednesdays) are very busy, but there are extra buffets set up to accommodate. There is always something for the kids to eat. Wether it being burgers and grilled cheese, to pasta and french fries. Usually the kids are so tired at night, after such a busy day in the pools.
The resort itself needs a bit more upkeep. Coats of paint here and there, additional pool chairs that aren't broken, and a little more TLC and you can improve from a 3 star. Overall, it's fine for a fun filled family holiday.
The wedding was beautiful, at the wedding gazebo. Truly a wonderful day, and no rain! Yeah! Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip wonderful. I even forgot my bathing suit top, and called the day after we left. It was found, and since the bride and groom were still there, they collected it, and are bringing it home for me.
Thanks again!

Room Tip: Had a garden view room. It was very quiet, but a fair walk from the main pool. Beautiful view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WindsorWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I traveled with my husband and we stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort from Apr 14-21/2012. We did like the resort, and would probably go again if we got a good deal. We would probably not go back in April, too busy, we might try a fall trip.

This resort is right in Montego Bay so the transfer to and from the airport is a short one.

Our room was on the 1st floor in Sunrise A. We had a king bed with a VERY firm mattress. Two bedside tables with a drawer and shelf, lamps on top. There was a three drawer writing desk type piece of furniture that had a 32" flat screen TV and the coffee pot on it. There was a bench for luggage, a bench under the writing desk end (coffee pot on top) and a chair in the room. The safe was in the closet, smaller than some hotels. I don't think you would get a small laptop in it. They gave us the key and locking insert at checkin. There was an ironing board and iron in the closet. The water pressure in the shower was great with several different setting on the shower head. The hair dryer worked fine and shut off automatically when you put it back in the holder. Maids cleaned the rooms everyday and only one day we had to call for bathroom linens.

We were right above the entertainment stage. Yes, it was pretty noisy between 8 pm and 11ish. I just turned the A/C on and the sound of the air coming out was enough to muffle the noise from the entertainment. The other problem with the hotel tower rooms are the guests. For some reason people had a need to talk in very loud voices when returning to their rooms in the wee hours. I had to remind my neighbours that the rooms were actually bedrooms and people were trying to sleep! If we return to this resort, I will ask for a room in the Inn section.

It is a Beachfront resort with three different beach sections for families, one for couples and one nude beach. There was a security guard posted at the entrance to the couples beach section. The water entry is slightly pebbly in most areas. If you walk to the far end of the largest beach section, close to the beach bar, that area is nice and sandy with very few small rocks. Pretty good snorkeling, you can see smaller fish very close to shore and if you want to see more varieties and larger fish, swim out to the reef.

Three pools, hot tub and waterpark. Right off the lobby are two pools and the hot tub. The third pool is on the other side of the Buffet, this pool is the activity pool. Behind the activity pool you will find the waterpark, you can't miss it. There are two waterslides and a lazy river. The waterslides were fun, but this area is busy. They have rules posted for the slides, but I don't think anybody reads them. I did see an attendant at the top by one of the slides for a few minutes. For the most part, the kids are just getting to the launch of the slide and taking off with out a second thought. There are not very many tubes to float around the lazy river and the ones I did see were being used to play with. The lazy river is not like other waterparks, it mixes with the water park and is not defined as a river that you get in at one end and out at the other. The kids looked like they were having a great time.

Wednesday is cruise ship day in Montego Bay. The Sunset Beach is one of their excursions. There were two cruise ships in port during our stay and we did notice the sudden change in numbers of people on the resort. The water park and buffet were pretty busy. Expect to spend a little more time in the buffet line. They did put on an extra buffet by the Grill.

There are three Restaurants, reservations required. The Jamaican/Caribbean and Asian are in the main lobby and the Italian is in the Inn section of the resort. The food was very good in all three. Service was best in the Italian followed by the Jamaican and Asian came in third but I couldn't find anything to complain about.

The Buffet was pretty good, with breakfast being the best meal in the buffet. For the most part, the food was pretty well the same every day except for maybe one or two different things at each meal. There was bacon and sausages every day for breakfast, omelette station, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, pancakes, waffles, steamed veggies, beans, etc. You could eat Jerk chicken every day for lunch if you wanted to and the nights we didn't go to the restaurants I saw Jerk chicken at the buffet. Jamaica is famous for it's Jerk Chicken and it was very good. : )

Tuesday night was BBQ night at the buffet. I really wouldn't have known it was BBQ by the food unless someone had already told me. Thursday night was Jamaican and the food was pretty well the same as the rest of the week. The only difference between those two nights, the lines in the buffet seemed to be a lot longer. On Monday night they had a Managers Coctail party at 5 pm in the lobby by the pools. That was really nice, they had Jamaican food to try out and hot trays as well as fruit and finger foods. They had a little fashion show and intruduced all the managers. On another afternoon they had a tea time. There was a man playing the piano and they had a coffee station set up.

The Grill was located just past the entertainment stage beyond the buffet. You can get hotdogs, hamburgers, cheeseburgers, fries, grilled cheese sandwiches, nachos, jerk chicken and a couple of other things here. If you arrive late in the evening, I think the grill is open until about 2 am.

You will find a board at the entrance to the buffet that will outline the days activities.

Other activities were - Tennis, mini putt, large chess, large checkers, kayaks, one hobbie cat, snorkel tours. You can only borrow the resort snorkel gear if you go on their snorkel tour.

Bars - Lobby Bar, Pool Bar in Lobby had two swim up sides, Entertainment area bar open all day, Beach bar and in the evening there was a Bar outside the Italian Restaurant in the Inn section.

Plenty of bathrooms on the property, by the pools and at the end of the beach with the Bar the bathroom was at the end of the motel type units. The lobby bathroom was just inside the entrance to Sunrise A building.

Negatives - This resort needs more shade on the beach and around the pools. Towel games were the worst I ever saw. People had towels out before 6 am! The only other thing to mention is the times things open. Nothing opened on time, they were always 10 to 15 minutes later opening. Is Jamaica, No Problem Mon! lol

We did have a great vacation and I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, try the Inn rooms. The towers are very noisy. Sound travels in the narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissKittyNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just came back from our second stay at this resort. We had a GREAT time but we won't be back.
If you are on holiday with young kids, this IS DEFINITELY the resort for you!! If you do NOT want to holiday with other people's kids, this is NOT the resort for you!! One good thing about having all the kids around is they keep the obnoxious drunks at bay!! We really appreciated this.
This resort has changed alot since we were last there. The biggest disappointment was the food. We are NOT picky but the buffet food was terrible. Long, LONG line ups for food that was definitely "dumbed down" since we were last there. If you are an 8 year old child or eat like an 8 year old, you will have no issues with it. On the up side, the a la cart restaurants were still fabulous and we just popped in late and asked if they could squeeze us in without a booking....no problem! So we skipped breakfast and had the jerk chicken for lunch,
We really loved our room. On the 1st floor of B tower...it was VERY quiet and private & Ann Marie did a wonderful housekeeping job! Many thanks to her!
The snorkeling right off the beach is a HUGE plus as is the au natural beach! No clothes! No kids! No cameras! No people! Had the beach to ourselves...ya mon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMSunset, Manager at Sunscape Splash Montego Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Ib 64,

Thank you for the feedback as it includes both the positive aspects, and the areas we need to improve. It was good of you to mention your compliments about our beaches, snorkeling, your rooom (and Ann Marie your housekeeper), and specialty restaurants. We are proud of our Asian, Italian, and Jamaican themed ala carte specialty restaurants. Rest assured we are in the process of adding several additional entree choices to "Bannana Walk", our main buffet style restaurant , in order to enhance this component or our guest experience.
True enough, we do have our share of children being a popular family destination. However, we do offer areas for adults only as you mentioned. In fact, two of our 4 beach areas are for adults only, and at night we have an 18 and over "Tamarind Lounge", for dancing, meeting other guests, and sparring with our engaging bartenders. Thanks again for your honest and constructive review. I will share your comments with Ann Marie.

Operations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

just got back from sunset beach resort montego bay, what a nice resort, has everything you need the beach was swimmable and lots of people did snorkeling. Enjoyed kayaking. the food was good, our room was great got a suite and had a view of ocean and the mountains at night and saw the yachts and cruise ships. (rmA1012)the entertainment was good a good singer and also a steel band. nice pools , the beach was kept clean, really enjoyed it all. would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: enjoyed our corner suite A1012
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoSunshinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.2 km away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#12 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,233 reviews
21.8 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,049 reviews
0.6 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,332 reviews
62.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,977 - ₹ 40,103
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing