We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First time there , wll try to get back .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Port Williams
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time there , wll try to get back .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It was my first trip to Jamaica .Jamaica was beautiful .
The hotel was really nice but there were 11 of us and they separated us , 3 couples were put in one building and the 3 in one room were put in the other building , which wasn't much of a problem .The entertainment was lacking at night . I was in bed around 9 each night as there wasn't enough interesting entertainment to keep me up The food was excellent and I found the servers excellent also .The waiters and waitresses were as pleasant as can be always right there to offer anything we needed .
I think tho that the drinks that we were served [all inclusive ] were watered down and I am not a drinker but I drank a lot without feeling any buzz at all .
The grounds were beautiful and well maintained .I will return if I have a chance .

Room Tip: Just make sure when a group comes in not to separate them .Room was fine for the time spent there .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanniej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    2,301
    954
    439
    305
See reviews for
2,291
1,278
104
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was my first time going to Jamaica
and unfortunately my stay in this hotel was not enjoyable.
The bar staff was always serious, never friendly.
Wait staff at all restaurants were the same also.
I could say there is choices of spicy food and the same is served every day.
When you go to this hotel, you are basically on your own.
The employees even get upset at asking what activities they offer,
and any other questions you might have.
It did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raechael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you're traveling with little ones, this resort has it all - nice beaches, good pools, a fun water park, a good kid's program, and decent food available all the time. And, all at a reasonable price. Don't expect a 5-star resort (you're not paying for a 5-star resort) and you'll have a lovely time.

ROOMS: We stayed in the W wing, next to the water park and were really happy there. Just steps from the best pools at the resort and really quiet at night. Bonus: we even had a view of the ocean from our balcony, although we hadn't paid for an ocean view. These rooms aren't in the towers and they have lovely gardens and a nice Caribbean feel. While I thought they were a little run-down when I checked in, by day 2 I just thought they had character. Only negative is that these rooms are pretty far from the restaurant and rest of the resort, but that's why they're quiet, so I'll take that trade-off.

BEACHES: A few to choose from: when we had the kids with us, we went to the smoother, easier to play in the water and build sand-castles beach (the main one). This is the one with the nice reef offshore. But, even closer to shore, near the rocks, kids can see starfish and sea urchins and tropical fish. Cool. When we were just us adults, we went to the adults-only beach which was so quiet and relaxing and had lots of shade trees and chairs available. We never used the nude beach, but saw some pretty happy people come and go from it.

We enjoyed the snorkling in the bay - but would have prefered to go out and look around at our own pace. Unfortunately, you can only use the resort's equipment if you go with a resort group. If I went back, I'd bring my own equipment. It can be bought at the resort store, but at a steep price. Speaking of which...

RESORT SHOP: Has everything you need or want - but (understandably) VERY expensive. They know they're your only option, unless you want to blow 3 hours of your vacation (and $10 per person) on a shopping excursion to town. For example: $12 for 10 diapers. Yikes! Bring your own sand toys, sun screen, diapers, etc.

POOLS and WATER PARK: Exceeded our expectations, probably because the water park staff are so laid back and cool. They allowed our 2 year old to go down the slides on her daddy's lap and our 6 year old to use a floatie on the slides, too. They LOVED it. We spent many, many happy hours there. The lazy river and fountains were really fun to play in, too. And, the pool there starts out really shallow, so it's a great place for toddlers. The kiddie pool (near Club Mongoose) has a smaller slide to get the kids used to water-sliding before hitting the big slides.

FOOD: The buffets were decent and had good hours, and if our kids were hungry at off hours (or we wanted to feed them early so we could have a date later), the burger/ jerk chicken shack was open when the buffet wasn't. I'm not too picky about food, and I thought there was a good variety - everybody was happy. Drinks service was spotty, but I can get up and get my own Diet Coke or coffee if I need to, so no big deal. We also enjoyed the 3 sit-down restaurants, but thought they were better without the kids because the service was "relaxed" - nice without kids, but slooow with kids. The Asian restaurant was okay. The Italian one had good atmosphere and okay food. The Caribbean one had great service and great food.

Oh - and we loved the bars! Nicely spaced out over the resort, rarely crowded. My kids enjoyed Shirley Temples and banana smoothies while we enjoyed all that delicious rum.

CLUB MONGOOSE: Will watch your kids (ages 2-12) while you and your spouse have some time alone. What's not to love? Check the board outside the club to see when they have activities planned. My kids attended birthday parties, sand castle building contests, and other fun events. At times, it's just "free play" which amounted to my kids watching TV - but I didn't really mind, because they were so tired from swimming, they needed the down-time. They also have evening hours - but sometimes they are shortened or eliminated because of kid-friendly evening entertainment - so, check the board before you schedule a date-night. The staff at Club Mongoose were so friendly and sweet with my kids. They loved it there.

To address other reviewers' concerns:
Yes, the resort could use more (and non-broken) beach chairs and umbrellas. But, we were always able to find chairs, if not shade. The beach and pools never felt crowded to me - except for the day Carnival Cruises came in (just one day of seven). The resort adds extra bar space and buffet space to accomodate the extra people, but they can't add pool and beach space. If coming again, I'd find out when Carnival is coming in and book my trip to Dolphin Cove or Dunn's River Falls on that day.

Some background so you know where I'm coming from: I traveled with my husband and two kids (ages 2 and 6) in April, 2012. We live in California and have traveled a lot to beaches in Hawaii and Thailand, but this was our first trip to the Caribbean and first time at an all-inclusive.

Room Tip: E Wing rooms are very removed from everything except beautiful gardens and quiet beaches - perfect i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DK1969inSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

i was there from the 15 -19 me my hubby n two kids we had a ball the room was great the beach was great the food can be better.the staff was very nice. the bartender was ok but sumtime they act like they got mad if u didnt want rum n your drink i like sluch drink to mon...

Room Tip: CHOOSE THE OCEAN FRONT NICE N Quiet.rooms on the southside is grat
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherizada b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first family trip to Jamaica and to this resort. We found the rooms in our building were nice and kept clean by the maid service. Food was very good and the jerked chicken was delicious. The bar tenders were entertaining and the wait time wasn't bad, On Monday's, there was an event held in the main lobby area to welcome the new guests which included music, coconut and melon drinks , along with appetizers. The week we were there, there was a fashion show as well. The beach was good and you can snorkel out to the reef in a few minutes from the resort. Overall we thought the resort was good and excellent for kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
15.4 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.8 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,593 reviews
19.8 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 km away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#19 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,516 - ₹ 25,394
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing