We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Greco Resort(Montego Bay)
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 311
US$ 287
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$ 827
US$ 416
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 303
US$ 248
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 382
US$ 334
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 387
US$ 362
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$ 345
US$ 307
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$ 836
US$ 375
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Round Hill Hotel & Villas(Hopewell)(Great Value!)
US$ 1,078
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
5
10
5
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
10
5
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife & I stayed 4 nights in Feb 2014. The place was exactly as shown in the pictures. The whole place was clean & neat. The staff were very friendly. Rooms were nice & everything worked. Wifi was great. Beach was great.
The included breakfast was very good.
Realize that there isn't much within walking distance as this is not in a big tourist area. We did find 3 restaurants that we walked to that we enjoyed. The on site restaurant & bars were not staffed. When we asked about no restaurant they said they had staff & would fix meals as requested. We did this a few times and it was good at a reasonable cost. There was a security guard at night. We wanted a quite place with good water access & we got that.
The interesting thing this is the high season and we were the only guests there. We had the place to ourselves. We didn't see or hear any other activity during our 4 day stay. We did feel safe at all times. Yes, we thought about leaving at first but decided to stay. This would be a great place for several families and/or couples to stay together. We would stay again but wished we had known the restaurant was closed before hand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank bnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed there for the above the event, location not too far from venue.The staff courteous and helpful.
Clean and tastefully decorated .Will stay there again and not only for the festival further recommend when asked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bloomthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at Royal Reef for Jazz & Blues Festival and it was the perfect location. The staff were lovely and they went the extra mile for guests ie breakfast was extended to noon so that those back late from concert didn't have to get up early! Room was basic but clean, a/c worked etc. Definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: Don't get ground floor room on right of breakfast area as could be noisy if hotel busy. There is some construction going on next door but not at weekend we were there
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the most incredible (and not in a good way) hotel experience I have ever had. My wife and I arrived at this property on December 25th only to discover it was completely empty with the exception of one young caretaker/front desk clerk.

It took us a few minutes to realize this as we were taken to our room through empty corridors. Finally I asked the young man if there were any guests and he said no. Then I asked is the restaurant or bar open and again the answer was no. At that point we knew there was no way we were going to stay there and began to make alternative plans.

It boggles the mind that this hotel is advertising on regular travel websites. We booked it on booking.com. I am a seasoned traveler and I knew this was not a five star but to find the property without guests and without open facilities is beyond the pale. The owners should be ashamed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scapaflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

In Greenwood, on the border of St. James and Trelawny, hometown of the lightning Bolt himself, Mr. Usain, there sits a locus of peace, quiet, and relaxation. As you walk through the front door, the Royal Reef Hotel invites guests to put down their bags and leave their worries behind. Judith greets you with a wonderful smile and every detail necessary for a memorable stay. Cushy couches and a grand piano open the first floor to the café tables and chairs that dot Ristorante Corallo, a well-regarded Italian restaurant.

Room #7 is bright and perfectly chilled with seamless air conditioning, a welcome escape from a humid morning. It shares an adjoining balcony that overseas the highway into the lush, green hills just beyond. Pass the two pools in the backyard to endless blue skies and the crystal clear Caribbean Sea for a gorgeous panoramic view of the northern coast of Jamaica. The Royal Reef Hotel is located 20-minutes North of Sangster Airport, just down the road from Greenfield Stadium, home of January’s Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival, and only 30-minutes away from Catherine Hall and Reggae Sumfest in July. Although it isn’t downtown Montego Bay, the 30-minute drive along the picturesque A1 highway is well worth it.

Due to some unfortunate reservation issues, I stumbled across this previously hidden gem during Sumfest 2013. As I wearily arrived moments after 7am, the morning following Dancehall Night, Sumfest’s opening evening, a 12-hour celebration of the best Jamaican music on the island, Judith and chef Veronica gladly accommodated my request for a delectable, early breakfasts of eggs, perfectly crispy bacon, toast, a refreshing fruit plate, and tea with a touch of sugar and milk, the idyllic conclusion to a monumental night of dancehall music. The next two mornings offered the same mouth watering breakfast. I can only imagine how incredible lunch and dinner must be. Be sure to Sharpie your comments on the wall of the Corallo before you head home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews