We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Fine Dining at the Sugar Mill”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I took my boyfriend to the Sugar Mill Restaurant for his birthday and it was nothing short of amazing!

The staff was friendly and courteous, the food was beyond scrumptious! The setting was just so romantic and perfect. It was everything I wanted it to be. I was really impressed with the overall awesome service that we received. This definitely wont be our last visit here! Oh, we even got a discount!! I also recommended it to my friend whose anniversary will be in December. Everything was top notch! Kudos to the staff at the Sugar Mill!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moyziep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonJamaica, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted that you had a really great dining experience at the Sugar Mill.
This award-winning fine dining restaurant is known for its unique twist on Jamaican cuisine, and its historical location. It is a favourite among locals and our guests, for the unique dinner experience it offers; delighted Chef de Cuisine Christopher Golding and his team aroused your and satisfied your tastebuds.

We will be happy so share your kind comments with the Sugar Mill team

Thank you for your beautiful review and for sharing the Half Moon facility with your friends.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resorts Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Around 2005 we were there; twelve of us. Food was wonderful. The staff is great. They are treated kind of tough in that they are searched physically daily when they both enter and exit. My family thought highly of all of them. The resort is quite pleasant. The island is suffering from much violent crime.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Springlake425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Travelled to Half Moon with my wife and baby, and stayed 4 days. Hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff were friendly and courteous. They all went out of their way to accommodate special requests.

Like other reviewers, however, we were very put off by the price of, well, everything but the room. Meals, drinks, transportation and even coffee were just prohibitively expensive. We ended up having to buy groceries at the supermarket to make it work. In hindsight, we should have gotten an all-inclusive plan, so its partially on us, but the prices were just beyond anything that´s reasonable.

It´s too bad, because the hotel is lovely and the people even more so, but we won´t be staying there again.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms close to the swimming beach. Some of the beachfront rooms have a long walk to a san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pedro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonJamaica, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017


Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for your review. Our resort offers a variety of meal plans that allows every guest to budget as they like, such as dining a-la-carte, the Premium Plan and the Full American Plan just to name a few. Our team values your feedback and will be taking it into consideration to improve our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

It's our first time staying at Half Moon. We only stayed a few days. The room was great. Large and comfortable. Very clean.
The staff was great. Warm, friendly and helpful. The restaurants were very good also. The pricing for food and drinks was high, crazy high. We eat out often and typically spend a lot but this scared me.
There is a 10% tax and 10% tip on top of everything. Even the coffee stand which is ok. We got coffee and a bagel in the morning. $6 coffee $6 bagel times two. So with tax and tip 2 coffees and 2 bagels were $29 US. Lunch burger $19 cheese$2 fries $11. Red Strip $8. Burger fries and a beer $48. Beach buffet $65 per person with tax and tip. No drinks. Mixed drinks ran $40-$50 for 2. We went to the Sugar Mill restaurant for dinner. It's outstanding. Diner for 2 with a bottle of wine, tax and tip $205. It's the best deal there. We spent that on the beach buffet.
I would recommend it as long as you know what to expect. They offer meal and drink plans so definitely take those. We didn't stay long enough for one. Need at least 3 nights to get one.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonJamaica, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Valued Guests:

We are happy you had a great time at Half Moon. Our resort offers a variety of meal plans that allows every guest to budget as they like, such as dining a-la-carte, the Premium Plan and the Full American Plan just to name a few. Thank you for your review and we do hope that your next vacation will be with us.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Too many words to describe this place and at times i was left speechless.
First mention goes to the wonderful staff who were all full of smiles. Special shout out to Kirk. The accommodation and grounds were simply amazing with lovely views and beach.
Had the pleasure of attending a wedding there and that was spectacular. I would go back to half moon in a heartbeat/

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SherwinSacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonJamaica, Director of Resort Operations at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you found our resort and staff amazing; thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon experience and for recognizing Kirk.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to Half Moon in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,748 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,149 reviews
3.1 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 16,312 - ₹ 66,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing