We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Service”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our honeymoon at the Half Moon Hotel. It has been a while since I've seen such courteous staff and service. From the security guards right up to management showcases exquisite service, and skills of that of a well trained hospitality worker. I was impressed also with the lovely vibrant lady that met us at the entrance of Sugar Mill Restaurant - Kerisha i think her name was. She kept us entertained before seating us. We were given first class service again by our waitress Shirley.
Overall, the property is well kept, nice facilities, and great views. I would focus on having more options on the dinner menu, as it is mainly consisted of seafood dishes, and not just at one restaurant. Also the rooms could be more modern in terms of interior designs, fabric choices and colour schemes - in keeping up with this day and age. Love the bathroom in the hibiscus suite! Maybe the space can be utilized some more though. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean View of the Hibiscus Suit is awesome. Catch the sunrise and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugah876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure having you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripAdvisor. Thank you for the complimentary comments towards our dedicated team in particular the team players mentioned, Kerisha and Shirley. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon and taking the time to give us our feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    326
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
717
586
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is my third visit to Half Moon Resort at Rose Hall and I must say that my stay this time around was far more pleasant then my second visit in 2006. My first stay at this resort happened in the mid - eighties – a most fantastic experience then!
The service has seen an overall improvement and the general appearance of the resort is far better too. My room (actually a studio suite) was spacious and well equipped and the housekeeping unobtrusive but very good. The food and service excellent and very pleasant and attentive.

My only gripe would be the inconsistent (or nonexistent?) WIFI – as a businessman I am in constant need to be on line to download documents and websites and that was simply not possible.
The signal was weak at best and nonexistent most of the time. The only choice was to sit in the lobby and work at 90 degrees or visit the business center – and there sometimes it took some maneuvering.

I would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to Heinz Simonitsch who was for many years the driving force to make Half Moon one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean . It became then and is today a truly great place and I hope that today’s management emulates Heinz – a great Hotelier.

A special thank you to GM Aram Zerunian who has had the difficult task of bringing the place back to some of it’s old glory.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated; it was a pleasure serving you again. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated apart from the challenge with the WIFi, which is currently undergoing some upgrades.

We thank you for the compliments towards Heinz Simonitsch a stalwart hotelier and our GM Aram Zerunian.

Thank you for your return visit to Half Moon, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to your home-away- from-home.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from a week at the Half Moon Rock Resort, and I have to say the experience was amazing! We loved this resort so much. My boyfriend had stayed here years ago in 1985 through shareholder/school friend and remembered how great the trip was. He had some vacation time so he booked the trip based on his past experience.

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very warm and accommodating. You get a complimentary rum punch on arrival and the hotel is very close to the airport. No need for the airport roadie like in Cabo. ;-) Everything seemed all too familiar to him as we arrived to our suite. It was part of the exact house he had stayed some 20 years ago. Just broken down into smaller suites, about a 400 sq foot space. We had a Western Cottage village that opened out onto the beach. Each morning we enjoyed coffee and a warm sunny start to the day. This beach seemed to be the popular beach location on the resort and it was awesome walking out directly to the gorgeaous view. There is a main living room with TV/Desk, pull out couch. French doors to a queen size bedroom w/a pretty large bathroom. I loved this room. This would be considered the older part of the resort, but the location I think is the best.
We got to see one of the spa suites. Here there is a massage table in your room, it is much larger, and the bedroom opens to the beach. However you are very isolated, the beach is better in the main villas. For the price I would personally suggest the Main Western Cottage.

The best pool in my opinion is the main pool. You could order a nice lunch bar side, along w/any of the many drink offerings if you were so inclined.

The spa. We had an incredible couples spa cottage massage overlooking the beach. The sound of the waves while you enjoy the very relaxing massage is the best! Our masseuses were Chantal and Herga. We both wanted very firm pressured massages and they did not disappoint. I think the spa does take time to make sure the that you have the type of massage you want, so don't be fearful of this review. Later that week Herga flat ironed my hair (oh the humidity) and my boyfriend got a pedicure. I think both of those services were equally good. The pricing for their services in my opinion is a little steep so be prepared for that. But the overall experience makes up for it.

Finally the staff, we can not say enough the staff at the Half Moon. We made a list and I'm sure we forgot some folks but the staff was incredible. Every single person made you feel like you were family. Beach attendants Lincoln and 'D' were always around to make sure you could enjoy your time there. D found and polished up a gorgeous seashell to take home. From the main bar, Fitzgerald will make you a fine classic cocktail and he's so warm and takes care of you. Also at this bar are Caswell, Jason, Ricardo, Roxwell, all great guys that we have so 'much respect' for. Poolside you should definitely see Donnie, Dale, and another Jason. Donnie is so cute and funny, she was very good with all the kids at the pool. We walked out to the 19th hole bar (to attempt some exercise) and on the way there is Donovan at the Oleander bar, and Millford at the 19th Hole bar. Millford was very pleasant and introduced us to the Juicy Beef patties. Last but not least is Miss Rubena, our room attendant, house keeper, she was about the sweetest lady ever. Her attention to detail was great and she respected our privacy and brought us beautiful flowers to adorn our bed. She knew of my boyfriends former association to the family there and made sure he gave his contact info to facilitate the reconnection. I can't say much more about the staff other than they were so lovely and I felt like I was at home!

We decided last minute to do the meal plan based on previous reviews. I think we more than made up for it. Drinks run approximately $8/beer, $12/drink. Meals were about $15-20, low end. This does not include the resort fee attached to each and the included grat.

Try the Friday night BBQ, a meal or two out at the Sugar Mill, and go to Scotchy's...I loved the Jerk Fish and Chicken. We got some sauce to take home.

Activities on property: swimming with dolphins, swimming on horses in ocean, putt putt golf, bike and golf cart rentals, most water sports, lap pool, extensive tennis course and golf course with lessons, and a great gym with spinning and yoga classes. Also great for children as there is onsite nanny service, and a large section dedicated to kids activities (wasn't going at the time were here but some sort of kids/tweens camp).

We are already considering our next trip there and it will definitely be at this resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It is a pleasure receiving such detailed and positive feedback on not only the resort and it offerings but our dedicated team. We will certainly share your beautiful comments with the team members mentioned and indeed the entire team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests. You are certainly Half Moon Ambassadors.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” very soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Went there for destination wedding, everything was fabulous until day 5, we. Booked a villa for 7 days on the morning of the 5th day we where told we had to move out by noon to a smaller room. I had a copy of my original reservation which specifically said "7 days royal villa" and tried to get some satisfaction from the management, to no avail. To make matters worse we where kept waiting for 2 hrs while they found us another room. So you would think that maybe they would comp you one day or-even a drink, nope, hotta, zilch! Just plain bad business practce. I will be writing a letter of complaint.

Room Tip: The Vila experience was delightful, beware the bait and switch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. We sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations in the handling of the relocation of your villa accommodation. Upon investigating, there seem to have been some misunderstanding between the wedding parties; nonetheless, we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused. Our Group Reservation Concierge Supervisor has since been in contact with you. We are happy however, that despite the inconvenience encountered, you had a fabulous Royal Villa experience. Please contact me personally whenever you have made plans for a return visit to Half Moon.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and for your comments; we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wow! Half Moon is beautiful, we stayed in a four bedroom villa, with a private pool. It was right across from the Commissary, we had a golf cart to get around the grounds with ease. The villa was clean, the butler, Damien and the maid, Denise were beyond attentive and amazing! We stayed seven days and wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids rode horseback, had a dolphin swim, and went every morning to watch the beautiful sunrise. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were prepared every day and it was amazing. The beaches are beautiful, watch out for the sea urchins, the resort cleans the beaches, but these creep up throughout the day and my son had six go into his foot and it wasn't comfortable. The spa was a little pricey but very relaxing. We took a tour to Rose Hall Plantation and would recommend it to anyone. Remember the staff works from sun up to sun down, and they all mostly make about $200.00 US dollars a month! So tip accordingly they deserve it! There's a market just outside the gates with a hospital and shopping. You are in a whole other world once you are inside the gates of the resort and you leave your worries behind by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a privilege serving you; we are happy you enjoyed the resort, facility, activities and service.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
2.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
8.7 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,255 - ₹ 43,880
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing