We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor management”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Went there for destination wedding, everything was fabulous until day 5, we. Booked a villa for 7 days on the morning of the 5th day we where told we had to move out by noon to a smaller room. I had a copy of my original reservation which specifically said "7 days royal villa" and tried to get some satisfaction from the management, to no avail. To make matters worse we where kept waiting for 2 hrs while they found us another room. So you would think that maybe they would comp you one day or-even a drink, nope, hotta, zilch! Just plain bad business practce. I will be writing a letter of complaint.

Room Tip: The Vila experience was delightful, beware the bait and switch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. We sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations in the handling of the relocation of your villa accommodation. Upon investigating, there seem to have been some misunderstanding between the wedding parties; nonetheless, we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused. Our Group Reservation Concierge Supervisor has since been in contact with you. We are happy however, that despite the inconvenience encountered, you had a fabulous Royal Villa experience. Please contact me personally whenever you have made plans for a return visit to Half Moon.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and for your comments; we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    326
    104
    58
    32
See reviews for
719
589
46
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wow! Half Moon is beautiful, we stayed in a four bedroom villa, with a private pool. It was right across from the Commissary, we had a golf cart to get around the grounds with ease. The villa was clean, the butler, Damien and the maid, Denise were beyond attentive and amazing! We stayed seven days and wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids rode horseback, had a dolphin swim, and went every morning to watch the beautiful sunrise. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were prepared every day and it was amazing. The beaches are beautiful, watch out for the sea urchins, the resort cleans the beaches, but these creep up throughout the day and my son had six go into his foot and it wasn't comfortable. The spa was a little pricey but very relaxing. We took a tour to Rose Hall Plantation and would recommend it to anyone. Remember the staff works from sun up to sun down, and they all mostly make about $200.00 US dollars a month! So tip accordingly they deserve it! There's a market just outside the gates with a hospital and shopping. You are in a whole other world once you are inside the gates of the resort and you leave your worries behind by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a privilege serving you; we are happy you enjoyed the resort, facility, activities and service.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed here twice, once in the villas and the other time in a suite. The hotel staff is great - responsive and attentive. The property is beautiful and the accommodations are very clean and modern. The dining experience was OK. The foood at Marguerite's by the sea is better. I would recommend trying the restaurants off of the property. One literally has access to anything they could possibly need on the resort property. This is truly one of the best resorts at which I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing about another enjoyable Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure serving you again.

We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and as always, we look forward to welcoming you to your home-away- from-home soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have been coming to the Half Moon ever sine I was about five and without a doubt,shall be returning again year after year. There is nowhere else on earth that is a beautiful,carribean and homely as the Half Moon. The staff are some of the most lovely people I have ever met in my entire life and remember me and my family each year when we return back. If I could, I'd spend all year here! This is the finest example of any hotel in the world and my favourite memories have been created here. One including, finding baby sea turtles crossing the royal pavilion grass trying to find their way back to the ocean. Or one year when a sea turtle came up and laid its eggs by the sea grape! I am truly blessed to have found such a place as this. The staff deserve the best of everything and I can truly say that this is my home. The same people come back each year and if you visit-you will understand why! From being seven years old and playing with kids clubs or being spontaneously invited to beach weddings or being a teenager and going out on the snorkelling trips. This hotel and these people are true jamaicans, warm,fun,friendly and the kindest people you shall ever meet. Can't wait to return home in the beginning of august for another two week stay! Much love and irie man, I am now a half moon child!

Room Tip: Pick a west cottage- beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay with your Half Moon, A RockResort family. It was a pleasure serving you again; the loyalty to your Half Moon family is truly appreciated. I clearly remember when the sea turtle laid it's eggs by the Seagrape - you are centainly a Half Moon child!

We’re happy your experience was all you anticipated and as always, we look forward to welcoming you home.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We thoroughly loved this holiday..You can't beat this resort in terms of location. We stayed two nights on the ocean front villas.I just want to mention that Housekeeping staff was great and extremely helpful.Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know we created an experience of a lifetime on your recent visit to Half Moon A, RockResort.

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we look forward to another opportunity of Welcoming you back `home’ in the not-too-distant future.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,223 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
2.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,540 reviews
12.5 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,310 - ₹ 47,022
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing