We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We recently held a small family event at Half Moon and stayed in a 6 bedroom Royal Villas on the ocean front with close friends from Spain and the US with their children and our infant.

Simply said, what an amazing experience and absolute fulfillment of our every whim. No matter how diverse the request, how minor the detail the Half Moon team delivered excellence at every touch point with the hotel employees.

We were holding our son's "blessing" and requested the pre arrival concierge to arrange Rastafarian minister and a reggae band for the event along with the regular logistics of organizing the other necessities required. Merricka who manages the team there took personal charge of putting this complex event together and maintained regular information flow, provided ideas and went the extra mile to fulfill our wishes.

The one single thing that put this experience on our top list however was the excellent staff. Our team of Anthony, Lezetia and Angela could not have been better. I highly advise requesting them (as we did) if you go to Half Moon although I am sure all the Villa staff are excellent, this team of three were simply amazing. They prepared amazing meals, left us without a care and made it so difficult to leave after being spoiled by their service for a week.

The only complaint we would have is the villas need to be modernized to better represent what a Rock Resorts experience should be. We accepted the somewhat dated construction and hardly noticed it during the stay as the overall experience from the staff, location and simple pleasures made it hardly noticeable.

We will be back...

Room Tip: Get a Royal Villa, ocean front!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACitizenOfTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

It was a delight hosting you as our treasured guests; we thank you for so beautifully detailing your recent Royal Villa experience at Half Moon, A RockResort.

It was a pleasure to personally meet you and sharing in the special occasion, the blessing of your son. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed the offerings of the resort, as well as the service and hospitality of our dedicated team, in particular – Anthony, Lezetia and Angela.

Your feedback is not only important to us, but it is vital to our continuous improvement; we thank you for your comments and for sharing your concerns, we have good news! This particular villa is slated for full renovation this summer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor, we look forward to another opportunity of welcome you to your “home away from home.”

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,079)
There are newer reviews for Half Moon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,494 - 1,498 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in a Hibiscus Suite for eleven days from 9 May, we were not disappointed; our stay exceeded every expection and we have enthused to our friends since our return to the UK. From the moment we arrived after a trans Atlantic flight we were made to feel totally welcome and able to relax.

With the ocean a few yards from the patio of our suite and a 50 metre Olympic lap pool a similar distance to the rear, it was a swimmer's and sun seekers paradise. It was so beautiful yet we could not believe it was so quiet, whether we chose to use the beach or the pools, there was plenty of space, even when the Half Moon was hosting a wedding for 200 over four days during our stay.

The staff were without exception courteous and friendly and were so pleased to be working at The Half Moon. It was a pleasure to be served by them.

We loved the restaurants, particularly the Sugar Mill and the transport there was timely and efficient with friendly and courteous drivers. When I golfed, I was the only person on the course!!, Sue had a wonderful time in the Spa. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

The lovely comments shared on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It is a pleasure receiving positive feedback on our accommodation, activities, Food & Beverage one of course our devoted team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an Experience of a Lifetime for you our valued guests.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated; again, thank you for choosing Half Moon and taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in a Royal Villa as part of a conference - a seven bedroom villa. The Villa had a private pool, and a butler, maid and cook. The rooms are gorgeous - lots of space, beautifully appointed, large bathroom with separate tub/shower and two sinks. Our upstairs room opened onto a shared balcony on the front (there is another shared balcony at the back), with a patio and private pool downstairs. There are two golf carts which you use to drive to the main resort. The villas are about a 10 minutes golf cart ride to the main resort (which has a better swimming beach).
We ate together as a group every day - the cook would make a selection of fruit, eggs, sausage and bacon, pancake, etc. for a large breakfast. We ate our other meals at the hotel, although you can have the cook do all your meals if you wish.
There was room air-conditioning but the staff informed us that there was no air-conditioning in the main villa, so we found it too warm to linger in the living room or common areas.
We enjoyed the villas - very quiet.
The highlight of our trip was the swim with the horses - you ride the horses into the waves, the horses start swimming in the waves - you're bareback, gripping onto the horses mane, the gentle waves - it was a truly unique experience. I've never seen this anywhere else. In addition, the horses are very healthy and well looked after - I was very surprised at the size, sleekness of the thoroughbreds. A top notch facility.
We enjoyed the Sugarmill - beautiful location across the road, in the hills - entrees were about $42.00, but worth it. Highly recommend this. Otherwise, the Seagrape (main restaurant) was very pricey and not as good as expected. Also ate at a pub in the little village run by the Half Moon, which was very reasonable and a good price.
I did a snorkelling trip at the resort - about $40 I think - I saw a moray eel completely out of its hole, and a small octopus as well as many colourful tropical fish. So, as long as the waves are not large, I would recommend the off-shore (boat) snorkelling trip.
The beach area at the main resort is fabulous - sandy, clean, large, excellent swimming, good for kids.
All in all, a tremendously relaxing trip, lots of fun, lots of areas to discover on the resort (felt a lot more personal than the all-inclusives we normally go to). It's spread out, so there are lots of opportunities to find hidden areas that are secluded and peaceful. Seemed to have a nice children's area, though my daughter wasn't with me as I was attending a conference.
Very pricey - bought a bottle of water at the bar for $7.50.....after that, I bought water at the commissary for $2....There is an all-inclusive option which (it you're not at at conference) I would recommend pricing.
The spa is exceptional. Go for a tour of the spa on your first day and I guarantee you will return for a service! One you pay for one service, you can return to sit by the pools, relax, shower, etc. for free. I would highly recommend a day at the spa - it's very impressive.

Room Tip: The villas are very interesting if you have a group - large, airy, good sized rooms, many balconies...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy you had a `Royal’ experience, the Royal Villas accommodation usually creates `a home away from home’ atmosphere, much to the pleasure of our valued guests like yourselves.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly the resort and its offerings.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with your family soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My family and I went down last week for our friends' christening of their son. We stayed at one of the royal villas, a 6 bedroom one, with pool and beach front. Two other families/friends were there.

First off, the staff was amazing. We had Anthony as our butler, Lezetia as our cook, and Angela as our maid. So attentive and knowledgeable. They were accommodating every need, including soymilk for breakfast, and limiting the spiciness of the delicious food Lezetia made.

The property is huge, and fairly kept. We loved the set up of everyone in one big house. It made the whole experience much more enjoyable.

The Fern Tree Spa was excellent. I had Adrian for my massage who was very good. My complaint about it was it was alittle more overpriced than I prefer. Almost $300 after taxes for a 80 min massage.

When we come back to Jamaica one day, we will surely want the same staff if they will take us, and stay here. It was well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely note regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy you had a `Royal’ experience, the Royal Villas accommodation creates `a home away from home’ atmosphere, much to the delight of our valued guests like yourselves.

We thank you for the beautiful comments about our dedicated team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued clients.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We attended a wedding at half-moon last weekend and stayed for 3 days. Loved this resort so much- we didn't want to leave! Everything was wonderful---spacious suites, great food and the absolute kindest staff you will ever meet. Gorgeous grounds, beautiful beaches and wonderful courteous service. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: we were upgraded from a standard room to a hibiscus suite- worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcydcantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

It’s a pleasure receiving such lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. Our goal is always to provide our valued guests with an experience of a lifetime and exceeding your expectations is our reward.

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,423 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
82.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,825 reviews
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
12.5 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 16,616 - ₹ 49,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing