We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay, which I could have stayed longer!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I went to Jamaica from March 10th to March 15th to attend a family funeral in Mandeville and needed to rest and unwind after the funeral. My family of 4 (with teenagers) stayed at Half Moon for two days in a two bedroom suite and absolutely loved it! I truly enjoyed going out to have coffee on the private porch early in the morning then walking out to a beautiful garden which was only a few yards from the beach. This is definately the place to unwind and rejuvenate

Room Tip: Great in any room or villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank changlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We thank you for sharing the beautiful comments regarding your brief visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we’re happy your stay was all you anticipated.

Again, thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not- too- distant future.

Best Regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,524 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just stay away if you don't like world class service, helpful staff, gourmet food, great golf course and genuine smiles. Thank you very much for a wonderful vacation.

The people who make it worth coming back are the ever so helpful Miss Paula Lilly and her staff, at the bar Elijah and his staff, to many people to mention in the restaurants (Andrew, Leroy, Dudley, Misha, Tashanika, Pauline, Rheneka, Vanessa sorry to all the people i forgot to mention). Special thanks to all the invisible people that make sure that evrything in and outside your room looks as nice as possible.

We will be back.....

Room Tip: If you order a Carribean Cooler make sure to ask for the oldest Appleton Rum in the house and skip t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients; we thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to Half Moon, A Rock Resort on TripAdvisor.

Your complimentary comments regarding our dedicated team is highly appreciated, our objective to always provide an experience of a life time for you our valued clients. We will certainly share your comments with the team.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

WE were supposed to spend 4 nights and decided to extend when we entered the Half Moon grounds. We were in room 105, ground floor, i think it was called Hibiscus junior suite. The ground floor one have open floorplan compare to the people on the second fllor who had the same floorplan but with a door / wall dividing the living area from the bedroom. I usually like a separated/closed bedroom and a higher fllor but nothing would have made me change our first floor unit. Each 4 cottages, in those category, had a privite beach access. Verry quiet. The cons are the buds ( mosquito, ants ) that are verry present. The clenailess of public grounds could also be better. The reason i graded a 3 and not a 4 * is because the first night we were in a regular room ( hotel like ) wich was really really dirty ( stairways, balcony, etc ) and not comfortable. We were told thos unit were 50 years old compare to the suite that were renovated 10 years ago and put in flat screen tv recently.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbeaujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

It’s a great pleasure receiving such lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. Our goal is to provide our valued guests with the best possible experience and exceeding your expectations is our reward.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your comments; we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I visited Half Moon in April 2012 and was immediately taken with the immaculate grounds and the atmosphere the resort has created for guests. A must is the Fern Tree Spa. The spa grows ingredients used in treatments onsite. I LOVED my Swedish Massage and the staff is incredibly welcoming.

A note for couples looking for a destination wedding location – try the Oleander Terrace at Half Moon. If I could do it over again this is where I would go. The building is beach front and beautiful. My favorite dining experience at Half Moon was Sugar Mill restaurant. We met Solomon Gardener, the maître d’, who has been working at the restaurant for over 40 years! Amazing service and cuisine. Planning my return trip….

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webercmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy your expectations were exceed; we will certainly share your beautiful comments with Solomon Gardner and the rest of the team.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you 'home' in the not- too- distant future.

Best Regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I visited Half Moon Bay with 24 of my colleagues. We were there as a group but not your typical "work group". Our yearly vacations are to connect with each other, have fun, relax and kick back. We did all of these and more. The resort was amazing and so were the staff. The rooms/villa's were amazing. Check in was a breeze and everything was organized for us when we arrived. We all had different types of rooms and they were all beautiful and the majority were all ocean front (not just oceanview). The rooms were huge and so spacious. I'm not sure what category I was in (Cottage 4 Room 44) but it was one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in at a resort. Huge balcony with super comfy chairs and lounge chairs too (picture attached). The food was very good and nobody had any complaints. We did the "all-inclusive plan" which I'm glad we did as it is very pricey for both food and drinks.The Italian restaurant - Il Giardino was excellent and the lasagna I ordered was delicious (homemade pasta). One of the guys ordered a cesear salad and he said it was one of the best salads he has ever had. Our last night we had dinner at the Sugar Mill Restaurant and the dinner was excellent as well. We had a pre-set menu because we were a large group and they took great care of us with customized menus with our company name imprinted that was a nice personal touch.

We took advanatage of the activities on the resort - paddle boat, kayak, bicycles, golf and the hobby cat boat. All were great and the staff are so friendly and always willing to please you as their guest. The maids were the best. So sweet and lovely and always with a big smile and they loved our Bob Marley music and said they never got tired of listening to his music. Just so pleasant.

All in all it was an amazing trip and I would love to go back with my family as I know there is so much of the resort that I didn't get to see (we were only there for 4 days) so I'm saving my $$$ as it was worth every penny. The airport was also amazing. I can't remember an airport that had such great shopping (not all junky souvenirs). It had everything. I also bought some of the Blue Mountain coffee so I can make some latte's when I get home as the coffee is delicous down in Jamaica.

This was my first trip to Jamaica and I will be back for sure and I hope to be able to come back to the Half Moon Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soleillover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted to receive such beautiful comments regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience.

We are happy your expectations were exceeded and look forward to creating another experience of a lifetime on your return visit.

We will certainly share your complimentary feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort.


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,560 reviews
2.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
8.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
3.1 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: ₹ 18,967 - ₹ 63,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing