We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of rest & peace ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Roi Christophe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An oasis of rest & peace ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel about a week.
As we hadn't booked any room in advance, we first stayed at one of the suites in the new building. The room was very large, had a big balcony facing the swimming pool, was nicely furnished and decorated with taste, had a very stylish tiled bathroom with a rain shower, a large flat screen TV, a silent air con and a ventilator as well.
After a few days we unfortunately had to move to a room in the older building. This room was facing the street, so it was rather noisy during the day, but not at night.
Internet didn't work equally on all the corners of the hotel, but it worked well once you found a good spot.
The hotel is an old colonial building surrounded by lushy vegetation. There is a nice swimming pool and a stylish bar where you can sip a cocktail or drink a beer at night. The cocktails were excellent. There were cosy spots were you could retreat to. We too loved the rocking chairs on the terrace, where we sat in at night sometimes watching the coming and going.
Breakfast was fine and when taken on the sunbathed terrace in front of the hotel and surrounded by lushy vegetation was just great. The bread was just excellent at every meal.
Service was sometimes slow and not well coordinated.
We had dinner there twice and it was excellent (we had chosen 3 different dishes every time).

It's the hotel we liked most during our stay in Cap Haitien, because of the colonial atmosphere there and the love for details in the decoration of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FancyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
19
11
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Cay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The grounds are lovely and private with a fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are over priced at $120/ night and he phones never worked and internet about 3 hrs out of the 3 days I was there. Very safe, nice staff, Places clean, but while the dining room is lovely, the service was slow, meaning 1.5 hrs to wait to get a few salads. The breakfast was simple but good. Bread was excellent. I would stay here again, but hope the prices go down as for the room, not worth the money.Close to town and lots of places for dancing and dining.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splash004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My best friend booked this hotel for her wedding and we had an amazing time! The hotel is very nice, beautiful garden, a nice pool and the rooms were great. I honestly didn't expect it to be this nice. We needed a pair of earrings super fast and the receptionist graciously gave hers up. I wasn't happy about the breakfast presentation, we ordered a fruit platter for the bride and were given about 10 little pieces of sliced fruits. The reception was held at the hotel and the catering team did a great job overall. Parking is tight! they should really think about about extending. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're ever in Haiti!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

First time in Cap. I had heard better things about other hotels in the area but the conference I was attending was being held at the Roi Christophe so for convenience I stayed there. The service in the restaurant/bar was a little slow but otherwise I was thoroughly impressed. Room was huge and beautiful with Haitian art in the bedroom and a modern bathroom. Had consistent hot water and inconsistent Internet, which is still better than most places in Haiti. Housekeeping lady went out of her way to get me fresh towels, conference room was nice and food in the restaurant was pretty good. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel as recently completed a new block of rooms, which are absolutely beautiful. They also have the old rooms, which are in need of updating. If you are there on vacation, ask for a new, beautiful room. If you are there on business, ask for one of the old rooms (the wireless internet is strongest in the old block on the main building).

One thing to avoid, unless you just want a place to sleep, is the old house (converted to separate rooms) at the front of the property. At night, there are often parties going on until the early hours in the street in front, which you can hear from anywhere within the old house. There is also zero internet reception there, so staying in and doing work is not an option.

The food is not bad, if they have it (which is a common issue just about everywhere in Haiti at one point or another). Drink prices are reasonable for a hotel.

The grounds are beautiful, including the old wells that now are home to billions of mosquitoes (so take bug spray).

I would stay here again, but conditionally.

Room Tip: For comfort, ask for a new room. For internet access, ask for a old room. Avoid the old house room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rymharris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cap-Haitien hotels
3.9 km away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#3 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 km away
Mont Joli
Mont Joli
#8 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.8 km away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#6 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Habitation Jouissant
Habitation Jouissant
#1 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.9 km away
Rival Hotel
Rival Hotel
#9 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Roi Christophe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Roi Christophe

Property: Hotel du Roi Christophe
Address: 24 B, Cap-Haitien 33340, Haiti
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,065 - ₹ 10,619
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Roi Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Roi Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Roi Christophe Hotel
Hotel Du Roi Christophe Cap-Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing